Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas

Winfree Academy Charter Schools · Dallas · 244 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.5 ptsvs 81.5 average · 148 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
89 of 148tied with 7 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 70 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.5 average for 148 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.5 average for 148 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 89th of 148 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 7 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. After high school: the following fall
  7. Who this school serves
  8. Student counts behind the percentages
  9. Enrollment over time
  10. Discipline and removal from class
  11. Spending per student
  12. Teachers and actual class size
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Reidentified

Identification reason: CSI Low Graduation Rate

TEA track year 7

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
23.6%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 rated charter campuses reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 rated charter campuses reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageWinfree Academy Charter School Dallas 7176837879 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 70 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26C7981.5 148 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25C7883.3 141 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24B8381.7 132 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23C7683.0 126 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22C7185.1 119 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement79 C−1.4 vs similar economic context · 148 reporting
  • School Progress73 C−8.4 vs similar economic context · 148 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C+0.6 vs similar economic context · 143 reporting
  • Academic Growth67 D−6.4 vs similar economic context · 136 reporting
  • Relative Performance73 C−7.3 vs similar economic context · 146 reporting
  • Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (148 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement79C1
School Progress73C7
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth67D3
Relative Performance73C7

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (79), so School Progress (73) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level49%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Meets grade level10%−35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level29%−45 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Meets grade level7%−44 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level48%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 146 reporting
  • Meets grade level9%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 146 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 146 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 141 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 103 reporting
  • Meets grade level13%−30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 103 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 103 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (148 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
41.7%−9.2 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
52.6%−9.4 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
61.1%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
15.0%+3.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 28 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
79.0%−4.1 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria79.0%83.1%−4.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course76.3%73.0%+3.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA1.3%33.6%−32.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%19.0%−19.0 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course7.5%18.6%−11.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification2.5%11.6%−9.1 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.5%−0.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%2.4%−2.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.7%−3.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.3%2.0%−0.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.0%7.8%−2.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.3%1.9%−0.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
70

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
7

10.0% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
61

87.1% of graduates

Not trackable
2

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
70
Selected comparison
72.7

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
7
Selected comparison
32.9

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
10.0%
Selected comparison
41.5%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting

−31.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
87.1%
Selected comparison
52.6%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting

+34.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
2.9%
Selected comparison
5.9%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting

−3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. DALLAS COLLEGE DISTRICT (009331)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
244
Economically disadvantaged
63.4%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
31.3%+9.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.2%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
75.7%−16.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
74.0%+48.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas

African American: 47.3%Hispanic: 47.7%White: 3.3%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 47.3%
  • Hispanic 47.7%
  • White 3.3%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting for every category shown · 148 in full cohort

African American: 21.1%Hispanic: 55%White: 14.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 5.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.1%
  • African American 21.1%
  • Hispanic 55%
  • White 14.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 5.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
243
Economically disadvantaged students
154
Emergent bilingual students
76
Special education students
32

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education campus under AEA procedures
  • Alternative education type: dropout recovery school
  • Rated under AEA procedures

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
242
Students in TEA mobility denominator
367
TEA-published mobility rate
65.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 244 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 1 (0.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
244

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−1

Decrease · −0.4%

Change since 2021–22
+68

Increase · +38.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
244
Selected comparison
497.8

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas
School yearStudents enrolledWinfree Academy Charter School DallasChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 176 First available year 460.7
2022–23 227 Increase of 51 (29.0%) 480.4
2023–24 219 Decrease of 8 (3.5%) 492.9
2024–25 245 Increase of 26 (11.9%) 497.1
2025–26 244 Decrease of 1 (0.4%) 497.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
28

7.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
50

13.93 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
359

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.8%
Selected comparison
10.2%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 108 rated charter campuses reporting

−2.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
13.93
Selected comparison
16.7

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 116 rated charter campuses reporting

−2.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 267 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 315 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 369 14 3.8% 17 4.61 10.8% 16.8
2023–24 342 21 6.1% 39 11.40 10.4% 18.8
2024–25 359 28 7.8% 50 13.93 10.2% 16.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 28 7.8% 50 13.93 10.2% 16.7
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 28 7.8% 30 8.36 8.1% 11.5
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions 20 5.6% 20 5.57 3.3% 3.3
Mandatory expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$12k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas
  • Parent district: Winfree Academy Charter Schools
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,629
Selected comparison
$11,604

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 140 rated charter campuses reporting

−$3,975 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,629 per student for this campus, $11,632 per student for its parent district, Winfree Academy Charter Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWinfree Academy Charter School DallasParent district: Winfree Academy Charter SchoolsTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,041$7,965$13,054$8,040 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 95 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$9,279$8,211$13,108$8,672 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 101 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$6,443$9,006$14,058$8,912 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 109 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$6,127$8,385$14,797$9,382 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 118 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$6,593$10,146$15,708$10,965 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 123 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$5,404$10,424$16,792$11,204 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 127 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$7,323$10,971$18,125$11,388 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 132 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$7,629$11,632$18,972$11,604 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 140 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,470−$449 vs similar economic context
Teachers
6−24.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
41.9+24.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas

1 to 5 years: 51.7%6 to 10 years: 17.2%11 to 20 years: 22.4%21 to 30 years: 8.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 51.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 22.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.6%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 reporting for every category shown · 148 in full cohort

Beginning: 16.4%1 to 5 years: 43.3%6 to 10 years: 19.9%11 to 20 years: 15.2%21 to 30 years: 4.4%Over 30 years: 0.9%
  • Beginning 16.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 43.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.4%
  • Over 30 years 0.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Winfree Academy Charter School Dallas in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWinfree Academy Charter School Dallas · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English6.315.8
Secondary math4.716.1
Secondary science2.817

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057828006.