Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Wheeler School

Wheeler County · Region 16: Amarillo · 341 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.5 ptsvs 79.5 average · 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
398 of 2,010tied with 57 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 91 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.5 average for 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 3 points

85 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 8.5 points above the 79.5 average among 2,010 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 7 points

80 to 87 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 87 is 10.1 points above the 76.9 average among 1,899 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 47.2% avg · +11.8 pts
Masters
22%vs 19.1% avg · +2.9 pts

Among 1,899 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Wheeler School is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.5 average for 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 398th of 2,010 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 57 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWheeler School 8687878588 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 91 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8879.5 2,010 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8579.3 1,987 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8777.3 1,973 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8777.8 1,940 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8682.1 1,919 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement87 B+10.1 vs similar economic context · 1,899 reporting
  • School Progress88 B+7.4 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B+11.2 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Academic Growth70 C−3.7 vs similar economic context · 1,831 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+9.1 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • Wheeler School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,010 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement87B3
School Progress88B2
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth70C10
Relative Performance88B2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (88), so Student Achievement (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 901 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 901 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 901 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,010 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+6.9 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 439 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
97.2%+4.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 436 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
96.2%+4.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 435 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 441 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
83.0%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria83.0%87.4%−4.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 473 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course20.7%59.6%−38.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA20.7%27.2%−6.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%11.1%−11.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course41.4%33.8%+7.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification44.8%37.2%+7.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.0%−2.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%7.4%−7.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.8%−3.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.2%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student10.3%8.2%+2.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.4%3.1%+0.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 477 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
35

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
10

28.6% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
22

62.9% of graduates

Not trackable
3

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
35
Selected comparison
246

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
10
Selected comparison
108.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
28.6%
Selected comparison
43.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated schools reporting

−15.3 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
62.9%
Selected comparison
50.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated schools reporting

+12.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
8.6%
Selected comparison
5.5%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 382 rated schools reporting

+3.1 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. AMARILLO COLLEGE (003540)5

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
341
Economically disadvantaged
67.4%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
16.1%−3.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.7%−4.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
9.0%−8.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Wheeler School

Hispanic: 52.5%White: 45.2%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • Hispanic 52.5%
  • White 45.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 reporting for every category shown · 2,010 in full cohort

African American: 12%Hispanic: 54.3%White: 27.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 12%
  • Hispanic 54.3%
  • White 27.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
341
Economically disadvantaged students
230
Emergent bilingual students
55
Special education students
50

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
25
Students in TEA mobility denominator
346
TEA-published mobility rate
7.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 341 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 31 (8.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
341

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−31

Decrease · −8.3%

Change since 2021–22
−67

Decrease · −16.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
341
Selected comparison
639.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,975 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Wheeler School
School yearStudents enrolledWheeler SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 408 First available year 650.2
2022–23 387 Decrease of 21 (5.1%) 657.8
2023–24 386 Decrease of 1 (0.3%) 657.6
2024–25 372 Decrease of 14 (3.6%) 654.7
2025–26 341 Decrease of 31 (8.3%) 639.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
31

7.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
48

12.21 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
393

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
7.9%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,540 rated schools reporting

−4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
12.21
Selected comparison
30.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,647 rated schools reporting

−18.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Wheeler School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 451 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 417 15 3.6% 20 4.80 12.8% 30.1
2022–23 409 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 406 37 9.1% 67 16.50 13.2% 31.9
2024–25 393 31 7.9% 48 12.21 12.8% 30.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Wheeler School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 31 7.9% 48 12.21 12.8% 30.4
In-school suspensions 30 7.6% 44 11.20 11.5% 23
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$27k20182020202220242025
  • Wheeler School
  • Parent district: Wheeler ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,350
Selected comparison
$13,206

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,986 rated schools reporting

−$1,856 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,350 per student for this campus, $16,752 per student for its parent district, Wheeler ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWheeler SchoolParent district: Wheeler ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,895$10,407$13,054$7,986 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 rated schools reporting
2019$6,860$10,375$13,108$8,149 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 rated schools reporting
2020$7,926$11,624$14,058$8,711 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 rated schools reporting
2021$8,434$12,704$14,797$9,205 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 rated schools reporting
2022$9,678$25,351$15,708$10,493 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,919 rated schools reporting
2023$10,708$15,407$16,792$11,215 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 rated schools reporting
2024$10,110$15,816$18,125$12,342 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 rated schools reporting
2025$11,350$16,752$18,972$13,206 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,986 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$59,122−$7,414 vs similar economic context
Teachers
45+2.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
7.5−6.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Wheeler School

Beginning: 9.9%1 to 5 years: 15.4%6 to 10 years: 8.8%11 to 20 years: 37.2%21 to 30 years: 22%Over 30 years: 6.6%
  • Beginning 9.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 15.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 8.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 37.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 22%
  • Over 30 years 6.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,010 reporting for every category shown · 2,010 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.6%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.9%21 to 30 years: 15.6%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.6%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Wheeler School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWheeler School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1418
Grade 113.518.2
Grade 21318.4
Grade 314.118.7
Grade 41519
Grade 51720
Grade 613.317.9
Secondary English11.215.1
Secondary languages other than English6.117.7
Secondary math14.616
Secondary science14.417.4
Secondary social studies1417.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 242903001.