Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Wall Elem

Tom Green County · Region 15: San Angelo · 477 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
−6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.6 ptsvs 90.6 average · 686 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
600 of 686tied with 21 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 90.6 average for 686 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

4% −3.4 pts vs 7.4%

  • 4% is 3.4 percentage points lower than the 7.4% average among 672 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Wall Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 90.6 average for 686 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 600th of 686 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 21 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageWall Elem 9286919386 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8690.6 686 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9390.8 678 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9189.7 662 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8690.2 647 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9290.9 633 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement92 A+0.5 vs similar economic context · 674 reporting
  • School Progress79 C−7.8 vs similar economic context · 672 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps73 C−15.1 vs similar economic context · 670 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−22.8 vs similar economic context · 669 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+0.1 vs similar economic context · 672 reporting
  • Wall Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (686 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement92A—
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps73C7
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 7 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (92), so School Progress (79) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 92.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level89%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
  • Masters grade level44%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
  • Masters grade level46%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 672 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 672 reporting
  • Masters grade level41%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 672 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (686 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
477
Economically disadvantaged
15.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.7%−9.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.7%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.2%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
4.0%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Wall Elem

Hispanic: 22%White: 74.6%American Indian: 0.2%Pacific Islander: 0.4%Two or More Races: 2.7%
  • Hispanic 22%
  • White 74.6%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 2.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 686 reporting for every category shown · 686 in full cohort

African American: 6.8%Hispanic: 21.4%White: 48.3%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 17.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.6%
  • African American 6.8%
  • Hispanic 21.4%
  • White 48.3%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 17.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
477
Economically disadvantaged students
75
Emergent bilingual students
8
Special education students
70

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
10
Students in TEA mobility denominator
421
TEA-published mobility rate
2.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 477 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 28 (5.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
477

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−28

Decrease · −5.5%

Change since 2021–22
−164

Decrease · −25.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
477
Selected comparison
858.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 682 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Wall Elem
School yearStudents enrolledWall ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 641 First available year 872
2022–23 654 Increase of 13 (2.0%) 888.5
2023–24 541 Decrease of 113 (17.3%) 874
2024–25 505 Decrease of 36 (6.7%) 866.4
2025–26 477 Decrease of 28 (5.5%) 858.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
511

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Wall Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 635 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 656 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 671 Suppressed — 24 3.58 — 11.3
2023–24 547 Suppressed — 11 2.01 — 11.2
2024–25 511 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Wall Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$17k$28k20182020202220242025
  • Wall Elem
  • Parent district: Wall ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,094
Selected comparison
$11,113

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 678 rated schools reporting

−$4,019 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,094 per student for this campus, $17,451 per student for its parent district, Wall ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearWall ElemParent district: Wall ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,962$27,056$13,054$7,368 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 586 rated schools reporting
2019$5,330$13,277$13,108$7,463 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 601 rated schools reporting
2020$5,518$14,843$14,058$7,769 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 614 rated schools reporting
2021$5,426$14,031$14,797$8,328 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 622 rated schools reporting
2022$5,964$16,681$15,708$9,593 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 634 rated schools reporting
2023$6,010$16,382$16,792$9,882 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 647 rated schools reporting
2024$6,600$17,033$18,125$10,902 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 663 rated schools reporting
2025$7,094$17,451$18,972$11,113 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 678 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$55,941−$13,331 vs similar economic context
Teachers
43−12.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.2−3.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Wall Elem

Beginning: 4.7%1 to 5 years: 14.1%6 to 10 years: 11.7%11 to 20 years: 35.4%21 to 30 years: 31.7%Over 30 years: 2.3%
  • Beginning 4.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 14.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 11.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 35.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 31.7%
  • Over 30 years 2.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 686 reporting for every category shown · 686 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.3%1 to 5 years: 23%6 to 10 years: 20.2%11 to 20 years: 32.6%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 2.7%
  • Beginning 4.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 2.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Wall Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classWall Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten14.718.8
Grade 114.319.1
Grade 217.419.6
Grade 318.221.3
Grade 419.520.4

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

5 measures

  • 2of 32

    Attendance

    Tom Green County · of the 32 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 32

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Tom Green County · of the 32 that report this measure

  • 2of 30

    All Subjects — Masters

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 30

    Math — Masters

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 3of 30

    Reading — Approaches

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

9 measures

  • 4of 30

    All Subjects — Meets

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 4of 30

    Reading — Meets

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 4of 30

    Reading — Masters

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 4of 30

    Math — Meets

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 30

    Student Achievement

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 6of 30

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 8of 30

    Math — Approaches

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 10of 32

    Overall score

    Tom Green County · of the 32 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 10of 30

    Relative Performance

    Tom Green County · of the 30 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 226906101.