Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

W S Permenter MS

Dallas County · Region 10: Richardson · 440 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
71/1002025-26
Change
+7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−7.9 ptsvs 78.9 average · 2,047 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,586 of 2,047tied with 45 others
C71

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 63 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.9 average for 2,047 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

W S Permenter MS is rated C by TEA, scoring 71 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.9 average for 2,047 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,586th of 2,047 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 45 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageW S Permenter MS 6482757771 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 63 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7178.9 2,047 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7778.5 2,029 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7576.5 2,015 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8276.9 1,989 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6481.9 1,969 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement67 D−8.4 vs similar economic context · 1,913 reporting
  • School Progress72 C−8.0 vs similar economic context · 1,906 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 1,893 reporting
  • Academic Growth72 C−1.1 vs similar economic context · 1,849 reporting
  • Relative Performance70 C−8.4 vs similar economic context · 1,906 reporting
  • W S Permenter MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,047 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement67D3
School Progress72C8
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth72C8
Relative Performance70C10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 8 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (72), so Student Achievement (67) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 72.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,911 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Meets grade level32%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,756 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level43%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 878 reporting
  • Meets grade level19%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 878 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 878 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,047 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
440
Economically disadvantaged
72.0%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
12.3%−9.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.8%−2.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.7%−2.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
29.6%+11.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

W S Permenter MS

African American: 62.7%Hispanic: 32.7%White: 1.6%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 0.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 62.7%
  • Hispanic 32.7%
  • White 1.6%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 0.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,047 reporting for every category shown · 2,047 in full cohort

African American: 12.6%Hispanic: 58.9%White: 22.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.3%
  • African American 12.6%
  • Hispanic 58.9%
  • White 22.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
440
Economically disadvantaged students
317
Emergent bilingual students
54
Special education students
74

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
125
Students in TEA mobility denominator
529
TEA-published mobility rate
23.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 440 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 16 (3.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
440

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−16

Decrease · −3.5%

Change since 2021–22
−277

Decrease · −38.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
440
Selected comparison
635.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,015 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for W S Permenter MS
School yearStudents enrolledW S Permenter MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 717 First available year 651
2022–23 626 Decrease of 91 (12.7%) 655.7
2023–24 502 Decrease of 124 (19.8%) 654
2024–25 456 Decrease of 46 (9.2%) 652
2025–26 440 Decrease of 16 (3.5%) 635.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
245

47.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
1,170

226.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
516

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
47.5%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,554 rated schools reporting

+34.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
226.74
Selected comparison
31.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,666 rated schools reporting

+195.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for W S Permenter MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 795 83 10.4% 118 14.84 9.4% 18.7
2021–22 809 269 33.3% 602 74.41 12.9% 30.7
2022–23 708 308 43.5% 1,046 147.74 13.5% 32.9
2023–24 574 282 49.1% 1,271 221.43 13.4% 32.7
2024–25 516 245 47.5% 1,170 226.74 13.1% 31.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for W S Permenter MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 245 47.5% 1,170 226.74 13.1% 31.3
In-school suspensions 195 37.8% 572 110.85 11.7% 23.5
Out-of-school suspensions 185 35.9% 542 105.04 7.5% 11.3
DAEP placements 47 9.1% 56 10.85 5.3% 6.3
Mandatory DAEP placements 15 2.9% 16 3.10 3.7% 4.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 33 6.4% 40 7.75 3.1% 3.6
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • W S Permenter MS
  • Parent district: Cedar Hill ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,291
Selected comparison
$13,136

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting

−$2,845 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,291 per student for this campus, $16,573 per student for its parent district, Cedar Hill ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearW S Permenter MSParent district: Cedar Hill ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,470$11,101$13,054$8,044 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,893 rated schools reporting
2019$6,291$12,597$13,108$8,186 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,912 rated schools reporting
2020$5,893$11,783$14,058$8,737 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,933 rated schools reporting
2021$6,066$12,202$14,797$9,259 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,947 rated schools reporting
2022$5,774$13,336$15,708$10,543 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,970 rated schools reporting
2023$7,117$14,649$16,792$11,245 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,991 rated schools reporting
2024$9,414$16,329$18,125$12,368 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,014 rated schools reporting
2025$10,291$16,573$18,972$13,136 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,477−$1,039 vs similar economic context
Teachers
30−13.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.7+0.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

W S Permenter MS

Beginning: 26%1 to 5 years: 30%6 to 10 years: 17%11 to 20 years: 22%21 to 30 years: 5%
  • Beginning 26%
  • 1 to 5 years 30%
  • 6 to 10 years 17%
  • 11 to 20 years 22%
  • 21 to 30 years 5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,047 reporting for every category shown · 2,047 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.6%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.4%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for W S Permenter MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classW S Permenter MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 618.917.9
Secondary English22.815.3
Secondary languages other than English20.317.9
Secondary math18.616.2
Secondary science17.517.6
Secondary social studies15.717.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057904041.