Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Velma Penny Elem

Smith County · Region 07: Kilgore · 510 students

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+12.1 ptsvs 81.9 average · 1,729 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
71 of 1,729tied with 27 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.9 average for 1,729 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 52.9% avg · +24.1 pts
Masters
59%vs 22.9% avg · +36.1 pts

Among 1,665 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 46.6% avg · +30.4 pts
Masters
57%vs 18.9% avg · +38.1 pts

Among 1,657 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
77%vs 57.9% avg · +19.1 pts
Masters
62%vs 24.8% avg · +37.2 pts

Among 1,663 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Velma Penny Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.9 average for 1,729 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 71st of 1,729 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 27 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageVelma Penny Elem 9291919494 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9481.9 1,729 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9482.1 1,704 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9180.1 1,680 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9180.7 1,657 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9283.3 1,634 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement94 A+12.5 vs similar economic context · 1,665 reporting
  • School Progress93 A+11.5 vs similar economic context · 1,660 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps95 A+15.8 vs similar economic context · 1,645 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 75.7 · 1,624 reporting
  • Relative Performance93 A+13.7 vs similar economic context · 1,660 reporting
  • Velma Penny Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,729 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement94A—
School Progress93A—
Closing the Gaps95A—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance93A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (94), so School Progress (93) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level89%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
  • Masters grade level59%+36 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 reporting
  • Masters grade level62%+37 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,657 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+30 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,657 reporting
  • Masters grade level57%+38 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,657 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,729 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
510
Economically disadvantaged
50.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.7%−8.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
27.9%+9.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.5%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
11.2%−3.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Velma Penny Elem

African American: 6.7%Hispanic: 21.4%White: 63.9%American Indian: 0.8%Asian: 1%Two or More Races: 6.3%
  • African American 6.7%
  • Hispanic 21.4%
  • White 63.9%
  • American Indian 0.8%
  • Asian 1%
  • Two or More Races 6.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,729 reporting for every category shown · 1,729 in full cohort

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 41.3%White: 41.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 41.3%
  • White 41.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
509
Economically disadvantaged students
258
Emergent bilingual students
24
Special education students
142

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
41
Students in TEA mobility denominator
543
TEA-published mobility rate
7.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 510 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 7 (1.4%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
510

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−7

Decrease · −1.4%

Change since 2021–22
+4

Increase · +0.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
510
Selected comparison
649.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,689 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Velma Penny Elem
School yearStudents enrolledVelma Penny ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 506 First available year 653.3
2022–23 541 Increase of 35 (6.9%) 658.3
2023–24 540 Decrease of 1 (0.2%) 657.6
2024–25 517 Decrease of 23 (4.3%) 653.4
2025–26 510 Decrease of 7 (1.4%) 649.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
13

2.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
22

4.07 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
541

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.4%
Selected comparison
12.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,336 rated schools reporting

−9.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.07
Selected comparison
27.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,434 rated schools reporting

−23.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Velma Penny Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 552 14 2.5% 14 2.54 9.7% 18.6
2021–22 538 19 3.5% 30 5.58 12.0% 26.8
2022–23 579 23 4.0% 35 6.04 12.6% 28.8
2023–24 580 16 2.8% 28 4.83 12.6% 29.1
2024–25 541 13 2.4% 22 4.07 12.2% 27.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Velma Penny Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 13 2.4% 22 4.07 12.2% 27.4
In-school suspensions 13 2.4% 22 4.07 11.0% 21.1
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Velma Penny Elem
  • Parent district: Lindale ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,167
Selected comparison
$12,025

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,702 rated schools reporting

−$2,858 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,167 per student for this campus, $14,186 per student for its parent district, Lindale ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearVelma Penny ElemParent district: Lindale ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,895$10,078$13,054$7,837 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 rated schools reporting
2019$6,663$14,226$13,108$8,017 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,599 rated schools reporting
2020$6,358$15,722$14,058$8,550 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,611 rated schools reporting
2021$6,983$12,393$14,797$8,956 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,627 rated schools reporting
2022$7,023$13,766$15,708$10,252 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,636 rated schools reporting
2023$10,257$13,023$16,792$10,717 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting
2024$8,402$13,718$18,125$11,561 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 rated schools reporting
2025$9,167$14,186$18,972$12,025 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,702 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,123−$2,728 vs similar economic context
Teachers
35−7.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4−5.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Velma Penny Elem

Beginning: 2.8%1 to 5 years: 19.9%6 to 10 years: 15.1%11 to 20 years: 41.2%21 to 30 years: 21.3%
  • Beginning 2.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 19.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 41.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,729 reporting for every category shown · 1,729 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24.4%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29.3%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Velma Penny Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classVelma Penny Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 119.618.3
Grade 219.718.5
Grade 319.619

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 85 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

3 measures

  • 1of 55

    All Subjects — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 1of 55

    Reading — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 1of 55

    Math — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

5 measures

  • 6of 55

    All Subjects — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 6of 55

    Reading — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 7of 55

    Math — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 7of 55

    Math — Meets

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure

  • 9of 55

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

5 measures

  • 44of 1,645

    Closing the Gaps

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,645 that report this measure · tied with 23

  • 59of 1,665

    Student Achievement

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,665 that report this measure · tied with 23

  • 71of 1,729

    Overall score

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,729 that report this measure · tied with 27

  • 83of 1,660

    Relative Performance

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,660 that report this measure · tied with 31

  • 209of 4,527

    School Progress

    Similar size · of the 4,527 that report this measure · tied with 84

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 212903102.