Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Valentine School

Jeff Davis County · Region 18: Midland · 28 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
−4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.6 ptsvs 81.4 average · 1,774 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
571 of 1,774tied with 81 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.4 average for 1,774 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 2 points

84 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 4.6 points above the 81.4 average among 1,774 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Top placement

Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

33.3% Tied for 1st of 480 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26 · 2 share this value

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Valentine School is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.4 average for 1,774 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 571st of 1,774 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 81 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageValentine School 9086868486 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8681.4 1,774 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8481.5 1,752 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8679.4 1,726 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8680.0 1,699 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9083.0 1,675 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C−5.7 vs similar economic context · 1,705 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+4.7 vs similar economic context · 1,698 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 78.6 · 1,682 reporting
  • Academic Growth86 B+10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,657 reporting
  • Relative Performance76 C−3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,698 reporting
  • Valentine School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,774 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth86B4
Relative Performance76C4

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level86%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,705 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,705 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,705 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,703 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,703 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,703 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,694 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,694 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,694 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,562 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,562 reporting
  • Masters grade level0%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,562 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 75.8% · 880 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 48.7% · 880 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 22.6% · 880 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,774 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 455 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course66.7%59.1%+7.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA0.0%28.4%−28.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%10.0%−10.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course0.0%33.3%−33.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification0.0%38.6%−38.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.6%−1.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.9%−4.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.2%−4.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.2%−3.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student33.3%7.7%+25.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%3.5%−3.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 480 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
28
Economically disadvantaged
53.6%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
7.1%−6.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
10.7%−8.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.3%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.5%−2.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Valentine School

Hispanic: 71.4%White: 10.7%Asian: 17.9%
  • Hispanic 71.4%
  • White 10.7%
  • Asian 17.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,774 reporting for every category shown · 1,774 in full cohort

African American: 9.9%Hispanic: 43.2%White: 39.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 9.9%
  • Hispanic 43.2%
  • White 39.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
28
Economically disadvantaged students
15
Emergent bilingual students
2
Special education students
3

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
6
Students in TEA mobility denominator
32
TEA-published mobility rate
18.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 28 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 4 (12.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
28

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−4

Decrease · −12.5%

Change since 2021–22
−8

Decrease · −22.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
28
Selected comparison
637

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,734 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Valentine School
School yearStudents enrolledValentine SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 36 First available year 639
2022–23 44 Increase of 8 (22.2%) 645.3
2023–24 24 Decrease of 20 (45.5%) 645.3
2024–25 32 Increase of 8 (33.3%) 642.1
2025–26 28 Decrease of 4 (12.5%) 637

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
37

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Valentine School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 45 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 42 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 47 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 33 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 37 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Valentine School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$43k$80k20182020202220242025
  • Valentine School
  • Parent district: Valentine ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$33,608
Selected comparison
$12,168

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,749 rated schools reporting

+$21,440 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $33,608 per student for this campus, $54,716 per student for its parent district, Valentine ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearValentine SchoolParent district: Valentine ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$28,789$44,320$13,054$7,890 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 rated schools reporting
2019$24,590$40,804$13,108$8,070 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,633 rated schools reporting
2020$24,749$41,280$14,058$8,617 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,648 rated schools reporting
2021$29,718$48,304$14,797$9,004 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,665 rated schools reporting
2022$29,942$50,327$15,708$10,301 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 rated schools reporting
2023$27,441$40,915$16,792$10,850 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,699 rated schools reporting
2024$40,691$75,831$18,125$11,727 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,723 rated schools reporting
2025$33,608$54,716$18,972$12,168 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,749 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,976+$361 vs similar economic context
Teachers
10−31.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
2.8−16.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Valentine School

Beginning: 9.9%6 to 10 years: 14.9%11 to 20 years: 39.6%21 to 30 years: 19.8%Over 30 years: 15.8%
  • Beginning 9.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 39.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.8%
  • Over 30 years 15.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,774 reporting for every category shown · 1,774 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.8%1 to 5 years: 24.9%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 28.9%21 to 30 years: 16.4%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Valentine School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classValentine School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 1218.3
Grade 2218.5
Grade 3218.9
Grade 5119.9
Grade 6217.6
Secondary English314.9
Secondary math3.815.8
Secondary science3.417.4
Secondary social studies2.617.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 9 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 127 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 480

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 480 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

3 measures

  • 2of 13

    Science — Meets

    Similar size · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Academic Growth

    Similar size · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 3of 38

    Reading — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 38 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

8 measures

  • 6of 38

    Reading — Masters

    Similar size · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 38

    Reading — Meets

    Similar size · of the 38 that report this measure

  • 7of 13

    Science — Approaches

    Similar size · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 8of 36

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Similar size · of the 36 that report this measure

  • 9of 153

    Per-student spending

    Region 18: Midland · of the 153 that report this measure

  • 9of 36

    Attendance

    Similar size · of the 36 that report this measure

  • 9of 29

    Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course

    Similar size · of the 29 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 26

    Math — Meets

    Similar size · of the 26 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 122902001.