Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Union Grove JH

Upshur County · Region 07: Kilgore · 108 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
84/1002025-26
Change
−8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.8 ptsvs 81.2 average · 1,852 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
725 of 1,852tied with 74 others
B84

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.2 average for 1,852 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 6 points

80 to 86 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 86 is 6.6 points above the 79.4 average among 1,773 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 51.1% avg · +2.9 pts
Masters
26%vs 21.5% avg · +4.5 pts

Among 1,781 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 44.7% avg · +14.3 pts
Masters
21%vs 17.7% avg · +3.3 pts

Among 1,768 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Union Grove JH is rated B by TEA, scoring 84 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.2 average for 1,852 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 725th of 1,852 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 74 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageUnion Grove JH 9292818784 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8481.2 1,852 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8781.2 1,827 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8179.2 1,799 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9279.9 1,767 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9282.8 1,739 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement83 B+2.7 vs similar economic context · 1,781 reporting
  • School Progress86 B+4.7 vs similar economic context · 1,773 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C+0.6 vs similar economic context · 1,757 reporting
  • Academic Growth80 B+5.2 vs similar economic context · 1,726 reporting
  • Relative Performance86 B+6.6 vs similar economic context · 1,773 reporting
  • Union Grove JH
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,852 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement83B7
School Progress86B4
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth80B10
Relative Performance86B4

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (86), so Student Achievement (83) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,778 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,778 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,778 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,768 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
  • Masters grade level40%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,630 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level60%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
  • Meets grade level21%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 927 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,852 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
108
Economically disadvantaged
55.6%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.9%−12.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.5%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.1%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.9%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Union Grove JH

Hispanic: 13.9%White: 82.4%American Indian: 0.9%Asian: 0.9%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • Hispanic 13.9%
  • White 82.4%
  • American Indian 0.9%
  • Asian 0.9%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 reporting for every category shown · 1,852 in full cohort

African American: 10%Hispanic: 44.8%White: 38.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.5%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4%
  • African American 10%
  • Hispanic 44.8%
  • White 38.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
108
Economically disadvantaged students
60
Emergent bilingual students
2
Special education students
20

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
10
Students in TEA mobility denominator
120
TEA-published mobility rate
8.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 108 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 4 (3.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
108

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−4

Decrease · −3.6%

Change since 2021–22
−5

Decrease · −4.4%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
108
Selected comparison
635.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,813 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Union Grove JH
School yearStudents enrolledUnion Grove JHChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 113 First available year 640.7
2022–23 126 Increase of 13 (11.5%) 646.5
2023–24 120 Decrease of 6 (4.8%) 644.8
2024–25 112 Decrease of 8 (6.7%) 641.2
2025–26 108 Decrease of 4 (3.6%) 635.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
31

25.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
77

64.17 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
120

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
25.8%
Selected comparison
12.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,426 rated schools reporting

+13.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
64.17
Selected comparison
27.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,544 rated schools reporting

+36.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Union Grove JH
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 129 18 13.9% 18 13.95 9.7% 18.9
2021–22 121 16 13.2% 22 18.18 12.4% 28.1
2022–23 134 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 127 13 10.2% 21 16.54 12.8% 29.8
2024–25 120 31 25.8% 77 64.17 12.4% 27.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Union Grove JH in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 31 25.8% 77 64.17 12.4% 27.9
In-school suspensions 31 25.8% 66 55.00 11.2% 21.7
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Union Grove JH
  • Parent district: Union Grove ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,341
Selected comparison
$12,283

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,824 rated schools reporting

−$942 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,341 per student for this campus, $18,021 per student for its parent district, Union Grove ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearUnion Grove JHParent district: Union Grove ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,708$13,318$13,054$7,928 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 rated schools reporting
2019$7,315$12,772$13,108$8,096 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 rated schools reporting
2020$7,511$13,213$14,058$8,673 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,708 rated schools reporting
2021$9,416$13,764$14,797$9,047 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,724 rated schools reporting
2022$10,311$14,980$15,708$10,455 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,741 rated schools reporting
2023$10,040$19,338$16,792$10,916 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,767 rated schools reporting
2024$10,527$15,960$18,125$11,750 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,796 rated schools reporting
2025$11,341$18,021$18,972$12,283 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,824 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$56,198−$10,348 vs similar economic context
Teachers
10−31.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.5−8.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Union Grove JH

Beginning: 17.5%1 to 5 years: 21.4%6 to 10 years: 24.3%11 to 20 years: 15.5%21 to 30 years: 16.5%Over 30 years: 4.9%
  • Beginning 17.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 21.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 15.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.5%
  • Over 30 years 4.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 reporting for every category shown · 1,852 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.8%1 to 5 years: 24.8%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 28.7%21 to 30 years: 16.4%Over 30 years: 4.4%
  • Beginning 5.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Union Grove JH in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classUnion Grove JH · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English11.814.9
Secondary math12.215.8
Secondary science12.417.3
Secondary social studies11.217.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 4 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 22

    Attendance

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 22

    Math — Meets

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

16 measures

  • 4of 20

    Science — Masters

    Upshur County · of the 20 that report this measure

  • 5of 22

    Reading — Masters

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 5of 21

    Academic Growth

    Upshur County · of the 21 that report this measure

  • 6of 22

    All Subjects — Masters

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 7of 22

    Math — Masters

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 22

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 20

    Science — Meets

    Upshur County · of the 20 that report this measure

  • 9of 22

    Closing the Gaps

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 9of 22

    Math — Approaches

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 13

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Upshur County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 9of 13

    Social Studies — Masters

    Upshur County · of the 13 that report this measure

  • 10of 22

    School Progress

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 10of 22

    Relative Performance

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure

  • 10of 22

    Reading — Approaches

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 10of 22

    Reading — Meets

    Upshur County · of the 22 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 10of 13

    Social Studies — Meets

    Upshur County · of the 13 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 230908041.