Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Southwood Valley Elem

Brazos County · Region 06: Huntsville · 606 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
70/1002025-26
Change
−9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−10.4 ptsvs 80.4 average · 1,980 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,669 of 1,980tied with 35 others
C70

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 79 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 80.4 average for 1,980 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

12.7% −3.6 pts vs 16.3%

  • 12.7% is 3.6 percentage points lower than the 16.3% average among 1,918 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

95.4% +1.2 pts vs 94.2%

  • 95.4% is 1.2 percentage points above the 94.2% average among 1,918 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Southwood Valley Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.4 average for 1,980 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,669th of 1,980 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 35 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSouthwood Valley Elem 7964657670 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 79 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7080.4 1,980 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7680.2 1,955 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6578.2 1,935 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6478.7 1,903 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7982.4 1,878 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−6.5 vs similar economic context · 1,889 reporting
  • School Progress72 C−9.1 vs similar economic context · 1,882 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps66 D−11.6 vs similar economic context · 1,864 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,826 reporting
  • Relative Performance72 C−7.4 vs similar economic context · 1,882 reporting
  • Southwood Valley Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,980 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress72C8
Closing the Gaps66D4
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance72C8

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 4 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,980 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
606
Economically disadvantaged
62.2%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
27.5%+10.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.0%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.4%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.7%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Southwood Valley Elem

African American: 19.2%Hispanic: 38.3%White: 34.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.8%Two or More Races: 4.7%
  • African American 19.2%
  • Hispanic 38.3%
  • White 34.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.8%
  • Two or More Races 4.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 reporting for every category shown · 1,980 in full cohort

African American: 10.8%Hispanic: 49.7%White: 33%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.8%
  • Hispanic 49.7%
  • White 33%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
600
Economically disadvantaged students
373
Emergent bilingual students
165
Special education students
120

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
59
Students in TEA mobility denominator
503
TEA-published mobility rate
11.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 606 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 50 (7.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
606

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−50

Decrease · −7.6%

Change since 2021–22
−18

Decrease · −2.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
606
Selected comparison
625.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,943 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Southwood Valley Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSouthwood Valley ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 624 First available year 637.3
2022–23 658 Increase of 34 (5.4%) 642
2023–24 605 Decrease of 53 (8.1%) 639
2024–25 656 Increase of 51 (8.4%) 635.9
2025–26 606 Decrease of 50 (7.6%) 625.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
19

2.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
34

4.85 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
701

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.7%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,510 rated schools reporting

−10.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.85
Selected comparison
29.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,635 rated schools reporting

−24.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Southwood Valley Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 640 31 4.8% 61 9.53 9.7% 19.2
2021–22 676 31 4.6% 85 12.57 12.7% 29.1
2022–23 715 42 5.9% 106 14.83 13.2% 31.3
2023–24 684 23 3.4% 46 6.73 13.1% 31.1
2024–25 701 19 2.7% 34 4.85 12.8% 29.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Southwood Valley Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 19 2.7% 34 4.85 12.8% 29.5
In-school suspensions 17 2.4% 26 3.71 11.5% 22.7
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Southwood Valley Elem
  • Parent district: College Station ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,989
Selected comparison
$12,500

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,951 rated schools reporting

−$2,511 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,989 per student for this campus, $18,325 per student for its parent district, College Station ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSouthwood Valley ElemParent district: College Station ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,733$15,299$13,054$7,923 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 rated schools reporting
2019$8,060$13,238$13,108$8,071 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,823 rated schools reporting
2020$9,133$12,261$14,058$8,673 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,845 rated schools reporting
2021$9,343$12,943$14,797$9,108 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,859 rated schools reporting
2022$8,939$13,475$15,708$10,455 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 rated schools reporting
2023$15,602$15,630$16,792$11,132 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,903 rated schools reporting
2024$11,976$16,944$18,125$11,961 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,931 rated schools reporting
2025$9,989$18,325$18,972$12,500 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,951 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$58,884−$7,484 vs similar economic context
Teachers
40−2.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.1−4.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Southwood Valley Elem

Beginning: 20.2%1 to 5 years: 28.3%6 to 10 years: 21.2%11 to 20 years: 25.3%21 to 30 years: 5.1%
  • Beginning 20.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 28.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 25.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 5.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 reporting for every category shown · 1,980 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 25.9%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.2%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Southwood Valley Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSouthwood Valley Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten23.318
Grade 115.618.2
Grade 226.518.4
Grade 326.918.6
Grade 431.319

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 021901104.