Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

South Knoll Elem

Brazos County · Region 06: Huntsville · 587 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
+15 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+8.4 ptsvs 79.6 average · 2,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
406 of 2,026tied with 56 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 71 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.6 average for 2,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 10 points

78 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 8.4 points above the 79.6 average among 2,026 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 15 points

72 to 87 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 87 is 10.2 points above the 76.8 average among 1,892 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 47.3% avg · +11.7 pts
Masters
32%vs 19.2% avg · +12.8 pts

Among 1,917 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

South Knoll Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.6 average for 2,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 15 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 406th of 2,026 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 56 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSouth Knoll Elem 7373777888 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 71 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8879.6 2,026 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7879.3 2,004 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7777.4 1,989 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7378.0 1,956 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7382.1 1,935 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+7.9 vs similar economic context · 1,917 reporting
  • School Progress88 B+7.4 vs similar economic context · 1,909 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps87 B+10.2 vs similar economic context · 1,892 reporting
  • Academic Growth85 B+11.3 vs similar economic context · 1,849 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+9.1 vs similar economic context · 1,909 reporting
  • South Knoll Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,026 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress88B2
Closing the Gaps87B3
Academic Growth85B5
Relative Performance88B2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (88), so Student Achievement (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,917 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level77%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,905 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,905 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,905 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,026 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
587
Economically disadvantaged
66.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
38.7%+19.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.8%+1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.6%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

South Knoll Elem

African American: 17.5%Hispanic: 50.9%White: 25.1%Asian: 2.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 17.5%
  • Hispanic 50.9%
  • White 25.1%
  • Asian 2.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,026 reporting for every category shown · 2,026 in full cohort

African American: 11.8%Hispanic: 53.5%White: 28.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.6%
  • African American 11.8%
  • Hispanic 53.5%
  • White 28.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
582
Economically disadvantaged students
389
Emergent bilingual students
225
Special education students
121

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
52
Students in TEA mobility denominator
446
TEA-published mobility rate
11.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 587 students in 2025–26, an increase of 27 (4.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
587

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+27

Increase · +4.8%

Change since 2021–22
−22

Decrease · −3.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
587
Selected comparison
635.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,993 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for South Knoll Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSouth Knoll ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 609 First available year 647.1
2022–23 615 Increase of 6 (1.0%) 654.5
2023–24 613 Decrease of 2 (0.3%) 653.4
2024–25 560 Decrease of 53 (8.6%) 650.6
2025–26 587 Increase of 27 (4.8%) 635.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
611

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for South Knoll Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 650 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 683 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 665 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 662 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 611 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for South Knoll Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • South Knoll Elem
  • Parent district: College Station ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,746
Selected comparison
$13,259

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,002 rated schools reporting

−$2,513 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,746 per student for this campus, $18,325 per student for its parent district, College Station ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSouth Knoll ElemParent district: College Station ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,167$15,299$13,054$7,979 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,865 rated schools reporting
2019$8,182$13,238$13,108$8,143 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 rated schools reporting
2020$8,443$12,261$14,058$8,717 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 rated schools reporting
2021$9,911$12,943$14,797$9,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 rated schools reporting
2022$9,346$13,475$15,708$10,490 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 rated schools reporting
2023$10,299$15,630$16,792$11,202 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,957 rated schools reporting
2024$10,448$16,944$18,125$12,347 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,986 rated schools reporting
2025$10,746$18,325$18,972$13,259 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,002 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,580−$4,886 vs similar economic context
Teachers
42−1.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.9±0.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

South Knoll Elem

Beginning: 13.1%1 to 5 years: 2.9%6 to 10 years: 11.9%11 to 20 years: 48.2%21 to 30 years: 23.9%
  • Beginning 13.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 2.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 11.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 48.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 23.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,026 reporting for every category shown · 2,026 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.9%21 to 30 years: 15.6%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.6%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for South Knoll Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSouth Knoll Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten14.318
Grade 117.218.2
Grade 22218.4
Grade 325.618.7
Grade 428.419

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 5of 43

    Relative Performance

    Brazos County · of the 43 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 021901101.