Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Somerset HS

Bexar County · Region 20: San Antonio · 1,117 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
+16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+7.6 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
542 of 2,273tied with 76 others
B85

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.4 average for 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 6 points

79 to 85 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 85 is 7.6 points above the 77.4 average among 2,273 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 18 points

59 to 77 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 77 is 4.8 points above the 72.2 average among 2,052 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
73%vs 35.9% avg · +37.1 pts
Masters
32%vs 14.6% avg · +17.4 pts

Among 1,944 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Somerset HS is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.4 average for 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 542nd of 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 76 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSomerset HS 6977847985 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8577.4 2,273 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7977.1 2,259 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8474.3 2,243 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7774.7 2,229 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6981.7 2,208 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B+8.6 vs similar economic context · 2,106 reporting
  • School Progress88 B+9.4 vs similar economic context · 2,099 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps77 C+2.4 vs similar economic context · 2,084 reporting
  • Academic Growth77 C+4.8 vs similar economic context · 2,052 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+11.2 vs similar economic context · 2,099 reporting
  • Somerset HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,273 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress88B2
Closing the Gaps77C3
Academic Growth77C3
Relative Performance88B2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (88), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level80%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−24 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level96%+31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%+37 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,273 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
92.9%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 304 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
92.0%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 305 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
93.8%+3.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 305 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.8%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 307 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
89.0%+4.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria89.0%84.1%+4.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 353 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course42.7%57.4%−14.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA8.1%21.9%−13.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)2.6%11.8%−9.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course12.3%28.8%−16.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification59.9%33.9%+26.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate1.6%2.6%−1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.9%−6.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit3.2%6.1%−2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness1.6%3.1%−1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.8%8.0%−2.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.9%2.7%−0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 356 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
292

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
124

42.5% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
159

54.5% of graduates

Not trackable
9

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
292
Selected comparison
262.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
124
Selected comparison
104.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
42.5%
Selected comparison
39.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

+3.3 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
54.5%
Selected comparison
54.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

+0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
3.1%
Selected comparison
6.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated schools reporting

−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. ALAMO CCD PALO ALTO COLLEGE (023413)67
  2. TEXAS A&M UNIV-SAN ANTONIO (042485)9
  3. ALAMO CCD NW VISTA COLLEGE (000307)8

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,117
Economically disadvantaged
83.3%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
17.8%−15.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.4%−4.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
89.1%−4.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
39.2%+17.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Somerset HS

African American: 0.3%Hispanic: 93.7%White: 5.3%Asian: 0.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.4%
  • African American 0.3%
  • Hispanic 93.7%
  • White 5.3%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 reporting for every category shown · 2,273 in full cohort

African American: 14.4%Hispanic: 71%White: 10.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • African American 14.4%
  • Hispanic 71%
  • White 10.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,116
Economically disadvantaged students
930
Emergent bilingual students
199
Special education students
161

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
140
Students in TEA mobility denominator
1,231
TEA-published mobility rate
11.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,117 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 58 (4.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,117

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−58

Decrease · −4.9%

Change since 2021–22
−15

Decrease · −1.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,117
Selected comparison
616.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Somerset HS
School yearStudents enrolledSomerset HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 1,132 First available year 647.8
2022–23 1,148 Increase of 16 (1.4%) 647.6
2023–24 1,150 Increase of 2 (0.2%) 640.5
2024–25 1,175 Increase of 25 (2.2%) 637.2
2025–26 1,117 Decrease of 58 (4.9%) 616.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
239

19.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
625

50.81 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
1,230

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
19.4%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,590 rated schools reporting

+6.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
50.81
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 rated schools reporting

+18.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Somerset HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 1,227 154 12.6% 364 29.67 8.0% 15.6
2021–22 1,254 295 23.5% 859 68.50 12.8% 30.7
2022–23 1,237 292 23.6% 712 57.56 13.7% 33.9
2023–24 1,235 299 24.2% 707 57.25 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 1,230 239 19.4% 625 50.81 13.3% 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Somerset HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 239 19.4% 625 50.81 13.3% 32.1
In-school suspensions 167 13.6% 333 27.07 11.7% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 141 11.5% 237 19.27 8.5% 13.4
DAEP placements 49 4.0% 51 4.15 5.3% 6.4
Mandatory DAEP placements 25 2.0% 27 2.20 3.9% 4.6
Discretionary DAEP placements 24 1.9% 24 1.95 3.4% 4
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Somerset HS
  • Parent district: Somerset ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,071
Selected comparison
$13,184

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,257 rated schools reporting

−$2,113 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,071 per student for this campus, $14,579 per student for its parent district, Somerset ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSomerset HSParent district: Somerset ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,049$12,790$13,054$8,251 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,143 rated schools reporting
2019$8,951$11,064$13,108$8,343 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,171 rated schools reporting
2020$9,398$12,278$14,058$8,858 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,183 rated schools reporting
2021$8,477$14,214$14,797$9,544 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,190 rated schools reporting
2022$10,321$17,540$15,708$11,036 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,208 rated schools reporting
2023$10,045$15,390$16,792$11,496 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 rated schools reporting
2024$10,593$16,410$18,125$12,412 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting
2025$11,071$14,579$18,972$13,184 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,257 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,747+$4,305 vs similar economic context
Teachers
70+27.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.9+1.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Somerset HS

1 to 5 years: 35.5%6 to 10 years: 14%11 to 20 years: 34.9%21 to 30 years: 14.1%Over 30 years: 1.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 35.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 14%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.1%
  • Over 30 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 reporting for every category shown · 2,273 in full cohort

Beginning: 7%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Somerset HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSomerset HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English4315.2
Secondary languages other than English25.718.2
Secondary math20.716.6
Secondary science23.317.7
Secondary social studies23.517.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 65

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Bexar County · of the 65 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

3 measures

  • 55of 1,944

    Science — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,944 that report this measure · tied with 13

  • 60of 1,944

    Science — Meets

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,944 that report this measure · tied with 4

  • 107of 1,944

    Science — Masters

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,944 that report this measure · tied with 14

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 015909001.