Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Sidney H Poynter

Tarrant County · Region 11: Fort Worth · 430 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
76/1002025-26
Change
−5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.2 ptsvs 78.2 average · 2,090 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,256 of 2,090tied with 69 others
C76

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.2 average for 2,090 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 39.2% avg · +5.8 pts
Masters
17%vs 14.7% avg · +2.3 pts

Among 1,928 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

78 +2.5 pts vs 75.5

  • 78 is 2.5 points above the 75.5 average among 1,918 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Sidney H Poynter is rated C by TEA, scoring 76 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.2 average for 2,090 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,256th of 2,090 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 69 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSidney H Poynter 8170698276 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7678.2 2,090 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8277.8 2,076 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6975.5 2,064 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7076.0 2,041 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8181.7 2,024 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C−2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,938 reporting
  • School Progress75 C−4.4 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C+2.5 vs similar economic context · 1,918 reporting
  • Academic Growth74 C+1.4 vs similar economic context · 1,878 reporting
  • Relative Performance75 C−2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
  • Sidney H Poynter
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,090 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress75C5
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth74C6
Relative Performance75C5

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (75), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 75.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,928 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level60%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,090 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
430
Economically disadvantaged
75.8%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
9.1%−15.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.7%+1.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.6%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Sidney H Poynter

African American: 53.7%Hispanic: 26.5%White: 11.2%American Indian: 1.4%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 5.8%
  • African American 53.7%
  • Hispanic 26.5%
  • White 11.2%
  • American Indian 1.4%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 5.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,090 reporting for every category shown · 2,090 in full cohort

African American: 13.3%Hispanic: 63%White: 18.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3%
  • African American 13.3%
  • Hispanic 63%
  • White 18.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
430
Economically disadvantaged students
326
Emergent bilingual students
39
Special education students
81

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
51
Students in TEA mobility denominator
346
TEA-published mobility rate
14.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 430 students in 2025–26, an increase of 12 (2.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
430

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+12

Increase · +2.9%

Change since 2021–22
−19

Decrease · −4.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
430
Selected comparison
634.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Sidney H Poynter
School yearStudents enrolledSidney H PoynterChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 449 First available year 652.4
2022–23 422 Decrease of 27 (6.0%) 655.8
2023–24 413 Decrease of 9 (2.1%) 653.1
2024–25 418 Increase of 5 (1.2%) 650.9
2025–26 430 Increase of 12 (2.9%) 634.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
59

12.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
151

32.61 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
463

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
12.7%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,571 rated schools reporting

−0.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
32.61
Selected comparison
31.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,676 rated schools reporting

+1.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Sidney H Poynter
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 452 26 5.8% 52 11.50 9.0% 17.8
2021–22 514 76 14.8% 166 32.30 12.9% 30.7
2022–23 471 60 12.7% 133 28.24 13.5% 33.3
2023–24 458 60 13.1% 127 27.73 13.4% 33
2024–25 463 59 12.7% 151 32.61 13.2% 31.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Sidney H Poynter in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 59 12.7% 151 32.61 13.2% 31.6
In-school suspensions 50 10.8% 80 17.28 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 36 7.8% 63 13.61 7.8% 12.1
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$18k$29k20182020202220242025
  • Sidney H Poynter
  • Parent district: Crowley ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,512
Selected comparison
$13,047

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

−$2,535 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,512 per student for this campus, $27,169 per student for its parent district, Crowley ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSidney H PoynterParent district: Crowley ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,403$13,892$13,054$8,035 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,958 rated schools reporting
2019$8,152$17,366$13,108$8,181 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 rated schools reporting
2020$9,394$18,001$14,058$8,727 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,995 rated schools reporting
2021$9,900$16,179$14,797$9,300 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,007 rated schools reporting
2022$9,576$17,920$15,708$10,603 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,024 rated schools reporting
2023$10,271$17,947$16,792$11,158 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,041 rated schools reporting
2024$11,365$21,025$18,125$12,269 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,062 rated schools reporting
2025$10,512$27,169$18,972$13,047 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,074 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,541+$2,834 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−14.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15+0.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Sidney H Poynter

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.1%6 to 10 years: 24.4%11 to 20 years: 31.4%21 to 30 years: 4.9%Over 30 years: 7%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.9%
  • Over 30 years 7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,090 reporting for every category shown · 2,090 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.2%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Sidney H Poynter in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSidney H Poynter · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten15.917.9
Grade 12018.2
Grade 22318.3
Grade 322.418.7
Grade 415.219
Grade 523.420

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 220912110.