Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Schallert Elem

Jim Wells County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 622 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
90/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+12.6 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
215 of 2,391tied with 82 others
A90

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 5 points

86 to 91 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 91 is 16.4 points above the 74.6 average among 2,207 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
58%vs 40.8% avg · +17.2 pts
Masters
30%vs 16% avg · +14 pts

Among 2,227 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 38.2% avg · +20.8 pts
Masters
28%vs 14.5% avg · +13.5 pts

Among 2,217 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Schallert Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 90 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 215th of 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSchallert Elem 8882858990 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9077.4 2,391 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8977.1 2,378 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8573.9 2,360 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8274.0 2,349 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8881.7 2,319 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement83 B+12.2 vs similar economic context · 2,227 reporting
  • School Progress90 A+11.4 vs similar economic context · 2,221 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+16.4 vs similar economic context · 2,207 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+9.5 vs similar economic context · 2,180 reporting
  • Relative Performance90 A+13.3 vs similar economic context · 2,221 reporting
  • Schallert Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement83B7
School Progress90A—
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance90A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (90), so Student Achievement (83) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level78%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,227 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+25 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
  • Masters grade level40%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,226 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,217 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level49%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,077 reporting
  • Meets grade level19%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,077 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,077 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
622
Economically disadvantaged
86.9%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.5%−35.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.0%+2.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.6%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.5%−8.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Schallert Elem

African American: 0.2%Hispanic: 87.7%White: 10.8%Asian: 0.6%Two or More Races: 0.6%
  • African American 0.2%
  • Hispanic 87.7%
  • White 10.8%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 0.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 74.1%White: 8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 74.1%
  • White 8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
618
Economically disadvantaged students
537
Emergent bilingual students
9
Special education students
130

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
65
Students in TEA mobility denominator
469
TEA-published mobility rate
13.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 622 students in 2025–26, an increase of 30 (5.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
622

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+30

Increase · +5.1%

Change since 2021–22
+98

Increase · +18.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
622
Selected comparison
596

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,361 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Schallert Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSchallert ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 524 First available year 636.1
2022–23 546 Increase of 22 (4.2%) 632
2023–24 563 Increase of 17 (3.1%) 622.9
2024–25 592 Increase of 29 (5.2%) 617.7
2025–26 622 Increase of 30 (5.1%) 596

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
625

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Schallert Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 555 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 596 Suppressed — 13 2.18 — 30.5
2022–23 576 Suppressed — 13 2.26 — 33.7
2023–24 583 Suppressed — 10 1.72 — 33.9
2024–25 625 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Schallert Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Schallert Elem
  • Parent district: Alice ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,993
Selected comparison
$12,925

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

−$4,932 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,993 per student for this campus, $16,012 per student for its parent district, Alice ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSchallert ElemParent district: Alice ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,725$9,778$13,054$8,271 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,249 rated schools reporting
2019$6,359$11,103$13,108$8,324 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting
2020$6,895$12,113$14,058$8,844 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,292 rated schools reporting
2021$7,231$15,453$14,797$9,559 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,298 rated schools reporting
2022$9,634$17,267$15,708$11,087 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,319 rated schools reporting
2023$9,306$16,178$16,792$11,608 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,347 rated schools reporting
2024$9,028$14,739$18,125$12,388 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,361 rated schools reporting
2025$7,993$16,012$18,972$12,925 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,061−$3,749 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−19.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
27.8+13.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Schallert Elem

1 to 5 years: 36%6 to 10 years: 21.2%11 to 20 years: 20.3%21 to 30 years: 13.5%Over 30 years: 9%
  • 1 to 5 years 36%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 20.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 13.5%
  • Over 30 years 9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.3%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Schallert Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSchallert Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten23.318.1
Grade 118.218.4
Grade 217.518.3
Grade 320.518.7
Grade 420.518.7
Grade 524.219.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

6 measures

  • 1of 14

    All Subjects — Masters

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Reading — Approaches

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Reading — Meets

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Reading — Masters

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Math — Meets

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Math — Masters

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

8 measures

  • 2of 15

    Overall score

    Jim Wells County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 2of 15

    Attendance

    Jim Wells County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 2of 14

    School Progress

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 2of 14

    Relative Performance

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 2of 14

    All Subjects — Meets

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    Closing the Gaps

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 14

    Academic Growth

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    Math — Approaches

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 4of 15

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Jim Wells County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 4of 14

    Student Achievement

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 4of 14

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 10of 14

    Science — Masters

    Jim Wells County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 125901107.