Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

San Jacinto Elem

Ector County · Region 18: Midland · 636 students

Current score
76/1002025-26
Change
−16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−1.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,373 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,391 of 2,373tied with 79 others
C76

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 94 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.4 average for 2,373 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 2 points

78 to 80 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 80 is 3.3 points above the 76.7 average among 2,207 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
44%vs 40.8% avg · +3.2 pts
Masters
18%vs 16% avg · +2 pts

Among 2,214 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 38.1% avg · +6.9 pts
Masters
21%vs 14.4% avg · +6.6 pts

Among 2,203 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

San Jacinto Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 76 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.4 average for 2,373 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,391st of 2,373 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 79 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSan Jacinto Elem 9286887976 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 94 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7677.4 2,373 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7977.1 2,360 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8873.9 2,344 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8674.2 2,331 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9281.7 2,303 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C+1.1 vs similar economic context · 2,214 reporting
  • School Progress80 B+1.5 vs similar economic context · 2,207 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps67 D−7.5 vs similar economic context · 2,193 reporting
  • Academic Growth68 D−4.4 vs similar economic context · 2,165 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+3.3 vs similar economic context · 2,207 reporting
  • San Jacinto Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,373 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps67D3
Academic Growth68D2
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (80), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 80.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,214 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,213 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,203 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,203 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,203 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level54%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,063 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,063 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,063 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,373 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
636
Economically disadvantaged
86.0%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
25.8%−9.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.5%−1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.2%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.1%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

San Jacinto Elem

African American: 4.4%Hispanic: 82.5%White: 8.6%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.3%Two or More Races: 2.5%
  • African American 4.4%
  • Hispanic 82.5%
  • White 8.6%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 2.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,373 reporting for every category shown · 2,373 in full cohort

African American: 14.3%Hispanic: 73.4%White: 8.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 14.3%
  • Hispanic 73.4%
  • White 8.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
636
Economically disadvantaged students
547
Emergent bilingual students
164
Special education students
105

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
105
Students in TEA mobility denominator
607
TEA-published mobility rate
17.3%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 636 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 20 (3.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
636

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−20

Decrease · −3.0%

Change since 2021–22
+163

Increase · +34.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
636
Selected comparison
606.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,345 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for San Jacinto Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSan Jacinto ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 473 First available year 641.9
2022–23 396 Decrease of 77 (16.3%) 639.6
2023–24 375 Decrease of 21 (5.3%) 631.2
2024–25 656 Increase of 281 (74.9%) 627.5
2025–26 636 Decrease of 20 (3.0%) 606.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
713

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for San Jacinto Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 483 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 507 Suppressed — 13 2.56 — 30.3
2022–23 419 10 2.4% 24 5.73 13.7% 33.8
2023–24 395 Suppressed — 12 3.04 — 34
2024–25 713 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for San Jacinto Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • San Jacinto Elem
  • Parent district: Ector County ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,080
Selected comparison
$13,286

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting

−$5,206 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,080 per student for this campus, $13,905 per student for its parent district, Ector County ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSan Jacinto ElemParent district: Ector County ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,553$8,820$13,054$8,258 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,236 rated schools reporting
2019$6,214$9,133$13,108$8,323 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,267 rated schools reporting
2020$7,403$9,712$14,058$8,840 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,277 rated schools reporting
2021$7,854$11,838$14,797$9,547 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,283 rated schools reporting
2022$7,650$12,512$15,708$11,051 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,303 rated schools reporting
2023$8,957$13,039$16,792$11,577 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,329 rated schools reporting
2024$8,568$13,842$18,125$12,542 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,344 rated schools reporting
2025$8,080$13,905$18,972$13,286 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,358 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,569−$2,108 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−12.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
21.6+7.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

San Jacinto Elem

Beginning: 10.2%1 to 5 years: 40.8%6 to 10 years: 23.8%11 to 20 years: 17%21 to 30 years: 7.8%Over 30 years: 0.3%
  • Beginning 10.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 40.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 17%
  • 21 to 30 years 7.8%
  • Over 30 years 0.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,373 reporting for every category shown · 2,373 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.1%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for San Jacinto Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSan Jacinto Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten3118.1
Grade 121.818.4
Grade 231.718.4
Grade 327.218.7
Grade 42418.7
Grade 526.719.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 5of 38

    Math — Masters

    Ector County · of the 38 that report this measure

  • 10of 38

    All Subjects — Masters

    Ector County · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 068901121.