Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Sam Houston Elem

Maverick County · Region 20: San Antonio · 391 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
62/1002025-26
Change
−25 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−15.7 ptsvs 77.7 average · 1,807 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,616 of 1,807tied with 18 others
D62

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.7 average for 1,807 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Read the full rating context and placement

Sam Houston Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 62 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.7 average for 1,807 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 25 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,616th of 1,807 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 18 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Identified

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 1 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
33.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
9.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSam Houston Elem 8769687962 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6277.7 1,807 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7977.5 1,790 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6873.9 1,774 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6973.3 1,770 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8781.9 1,748 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement58 F−12.2 vs similar economic context · 1,678 reporting
  • School Progress65 D−13.9 vs similar economic context · 1,675 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps54 F−21.1 vs similar economic context · 1,666 reporting
  • Academic Growth65 D−8.4 vs similar economic context · 1,653 reporting
  • Relative Performance63 D−13.8 vs similar economic context · 1,674 reporting
  • Sam Houston Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,807 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement58F2
School Progress65D5
Closing the Gaps54F6
Academic Growth65D5
Relative Performance63D7

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 5 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (65), so Student Achievement (58) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 65.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level40%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,585 reporting
  • Meets grade level15%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,585 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,585 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,807 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
391
Economically disadvantaged
95.1%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
46.5%+4.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
25.6%+8.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.0%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Sam Houston Elem

Hispanic: 96.7%White: 1%American Indian: 2.3%
  • Hispanic 96.7%
  • White 1%
  • American Indian 2.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 reporting for every category shown · 1,807 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 77.3%White: 4.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 77.3%
  • White 4.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
391
Economically disadvantaged students
372
Emergent bilingual students
182
Special education students
100

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
48
Students in TEA mobility denominator
455
TEA-published mobility rate
10.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 391 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 37 (8.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
391

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−37

Decrease · −8.6%

Change since 2021–22
−29

Decrease · −6.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
391
Selected comparison
561.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,789 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Sam Houston Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSam Houston ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 420 First available year 609.6
2022–23 423 Increase of 3 (0.7%) 605.7
2023–24 441 Increase of 18 (4.3%) 595.5
2024–25 428 Decrease of 13 (2.9%) 588.6
2025–26 391 Decrease of 37 (8.6%) 561.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
24

5.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
64

14.35 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
446

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
5.4%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,055 rated schools reporting

−7.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
14.35
Selected comparison
31

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,144 rated schools reporting

−16.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Sam Houston Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 487 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 442 27 6.1% 38 8.60 12.5% 29.7
2022–23 442 43 9.7% 86 19.46 13.6% 32.8
2023–24 454 31 6.8% 71 15.64 13.7% 33.1
2024–25 446 24 5.4% 64 14.35 13.1% 31
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Sam Houston Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 24 5.4% 64 14.35 13.1% 31
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 24 5.4% 59 13.23 9.6% 16
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Sam Houston Elem
  • Parent district: Eagle Pass ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,771
Selected comparison
$13,299

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,789 rated schools reporting

−$3,528 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,771 per student for this campus, $14,008 per student for its parent district, Eagle Pass ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSam Houston ElemParent district: Eagle Pass ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,867$10,596$13,054$8,360 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,704 rated schools reporting
2019$8,180$10,878$13,108$8,374 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,728 rated schools reporting
2020$8,641$11,034$14,058$8,870 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,731 rated schools reporting
2021$8,811$11,721$14,797$9,720 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 rated schools reporting
2022$10,395$12,928$15,708$11,241 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,749 rated schools reporting
2023$10,952$13,823$16,792$11,871 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 rated schools reporting
2024$9,603$13,526$18,125$12,747 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,778 rated schools reporting
2025$9,771$14,008$18,972$13,299 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,789 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,509−$988 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−17.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.8+3.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Sam Houston Elem

1 to 5 years: 13.6%6 to 10 years: 31.8%11 to 20 years: 40.9%21 to 30 years: 9.1%Over 30 years: 4.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 13.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 31.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 40.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.1%
  • Over 30 years 4.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,807 reporting for every category shown · 1,807 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.6%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Sam Houston Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSam Houston Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 218.818.3
Grade 322.518.4
Grade 419.518.3
Grade 519.619.1
Grade 621.617.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 10of 23

    Per-student spending

    Maverick County · of the 23 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 159901115.