Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Sabinal Elem

Uvalde County · Region 20: San Antonio · 236 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
74/1002025-26
Change
−18 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.5 ptsvs 77.5 average · 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,553 of 2,372tied with 76 others
C74

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 90 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.5 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
50%vs 44.3% avg · +5.7 pts
Masters
21%vs 17.6% avg · +3.4 pts

Among 2,209 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Relative Performance above the similar-context average

79 +2.3 pts vs 76.7

  • 79 is 2.3 points above the 76.7 average among 2,205 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

16.9% −5.8 pts vs 22.7%

  • 16.9% is 5.8 percentage points lower than the 22.7% average among 2,259 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Sabinal Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 74 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.5 average for 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 18 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,553rd of 2,372 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 76 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageSabinal Elem 9285788374 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 90 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7477.5 2,372 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8377.0 2,361 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7873.8 2,343 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8573.7 2,333 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9281.7 2,306 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C+0.5 vs similar economic context · 2,210 reporting
  • School Progress79 C+0.4 vs similar economic context · 2,205 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps62 D−12.8 vs similar economic context · 2,191 reporting
  • Academic Growth60 D−12.8 vs similar economic context · 2,168 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C+2.3 vs similar economic context · 2,205 reporting
  • Sabinal Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps62D8
Academic Growth60D10
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (79), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level68%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,210 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,209 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,209 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,209 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,201 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,066 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,372 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
236
Economically disadvantaged
88.7%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.2%−33.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
27.4%+9.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.6%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
16.9%−5.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Sabinal Elem

Hispanic: 89.6%White: 9.6%Two or More Races: 0.9%
  • Hispanic 89.6%
  • White 9.6%
  • Two or More Races 0.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

African American: 14.6%Hispanic: 74.9%White: 7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.8%
  • African American 14.6%
  • Hispanic 74.9%
  • White 7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
230
Economically disadvantaged students
204
Emergent bilingual students
12
Special education students
63

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
14
Students in TEA mobility denominator
183
TEA-published mobility rate
7.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 236 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 2 (0.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
236

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−2

Decrease · −0.8%

Change since 2021–22
+60

Increase · +34.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
236
Selected comparison
584.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,346 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Sabinal Elem
School yearStudents enrolledSabinal ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 176 First available year 625.7
2022–23 234 Increase of 58 (33.0%) 621.7
2023–24 256 Increase of 22 (9.4%) 613.1
2024–25 238 Decrease of 18 (7.0%) 607.3
2025–26 236 Decrease of 2 (0.8%) 584.9

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
19

8.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
39

16.39 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
238

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
8.0%
Selected comparison
13.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,528 rated schools reporting

−5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
16.39
Selected comparison
31.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,641 rated schools reporting

−15.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Sabinal Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 203 13 6.4% 19 9.36 7.5% 14.5
2021–22 198 24 12.1% 43 21.72 12.8% 30.8
2022–23 245 25 10.2% 51 20.82 13.7% 33.6
2023–24 271 23 8.5% 42 15.50 13.8% 33.7
2024–25 238 19 8.0% 39 16.39 13.2% 31.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Sabinal Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 19 8.0% 39 16.39 13.2% 31.7
In-school suspensions 17 7.1% 27 11.34 11.6% 22.6
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$20k$33k20182020202220242025
  • Sabinal Elem
  • Parent district: Sabinal ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,303
Selected comparison
$13,024

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,359 rated schools reporting

−$2,721 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,303 per student for this campus, $23,834 per student for its parent district, Sabinal ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearSabinal ElemParent district: Sabinal ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,499$14,358$13,054$8,279 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,240 rated schools reporting
2019$8,528$14,987$13,108$8,307 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,271 rated schools reporting
2020$9,676$18,180$14,058$8,834 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,281 rated schools reporting
2021$11,303$22,490$14,797$9,601 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,286 rated schools reporting
2022$10,292$23,259$15,708$11,109 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,305 rated schools reporting
2023$9,421$29,507$16,792$11,663 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,331 rated schools reporting
2024$8,545$31,715$18,125$12,475 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,344 rated schools reporting
2025$10,303$23,834$18,972$13,024 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,359 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,376−$6,661 vs similar economic context
Teachers
19−21.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12−2.5 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Sabinal Elem

1 to 5 years: 10.5%6 to 10 years: 20.9%11 to 20 years: 31.9%21 to 30 years: 31.4%Over 30 years: 5.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 10.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 31.4%
  • Over 30 years 5.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,372 reporting for every category shown · 2,372 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.4%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 18.9%11 to 20 years: 27%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 27%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Sabinal Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classSabinal Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1818.1
Grade 114.818.3
Grade 219.518.3
Grade 315.518.6
Grade 414.518.6
Grade 514.519.4
Grade 616.517.5

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 104 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

12 measures

  • 3of 10

    School Progress

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Relative Performance

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    All Subjects — Meets

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    All Subjects — Masters

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Reading — Approaches

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Reading — Meets

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Reading — Masters

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Math — Approaches

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 10

    Math — Meets

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Math — Masters

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Attendance

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 3of 10

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

8 measures

  • 4of 11

    Overall score

    Uvalde County · of the 11 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 4of 10

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 5of 10

    Student Achievement

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 5of 10

    Per-student spending

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Closing the Gaps

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Science — Approaches

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 7of 10

    Science — Masters

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

  • 8of 10

    Science — Meets

    Uvalde County · of the 10 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 232902101.