Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Ross Elem

Ector County · Region 18: Midland · 494 students

Current score
82/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.8 ptsvs 78.2 average · 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
762 of 2,089tied with 90 others
B82

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 79 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 78.2 average for 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 3 points

85 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 12.5 points above the 75.5 average among 1,916 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
47%vs 39.2% avg · +7.8 pts
Masters
16%vs 14.7% avg · +1.3 pts

Among 1,926 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

82 +3.8 pts vs 78.2

  • 82 is 3.8 points above the 78.2 average among 2,089 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Ross Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 82 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 78.2 average for 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 762nd of 2,089 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 90 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageRoss Elem 8080888782 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 79 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8278.2 2,089 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8777.8 2,075 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8875.5 2,063 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8076.0 2,040 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8081.7 2,023 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−1.9 vs similar economic context · 1,936 reporting
  • School Progress79 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,931 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B+12.5 vs similar economic context · 1,916 reporting
  • Academic Growth79 C+6.4 vs similar economic context · 1,875 reporting
  • Relative Performance78 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 1,931 reporting
  • Ross Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,089 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress79C1
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth79C1
Relative Performance78C2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (79), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 79.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level71%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,936 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
  • Meets grade level47%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,926 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
  • Meets grade level22%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,781 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,089 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
494
Economically disadvantaged
75.7%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
7.7%−17.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.3%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.7%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.8%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Ross Elem

African American: 4.7%Hispanic: 68.2%White: 19%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 2.8%Pacific Islander: 0.4%Two or More Races: 4.7%
  • African American 4.7%
  • Hispanic 68.2%
  • White 19%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 2.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.4%
  • Two or More Races 4.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,089 reporting for every category shown · 2,089 in full cohort

African American: 13.3%Hispanic: 62.8%White: 18.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3%
  • African American 13.3%
  • Hispanic 62.8%
  • White 18.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
494
Economically disadvantaged students
374
Emergent bilingual students
38
Special education students
105

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
87
Students in TEA mobility denominator
418
TEA-published mobility rate
20.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 494 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 18 (3.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
494

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−18

Decrease · −3.5%

Change since 2021–22
+112

Increase · +29.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
494
Selected comparison
635.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,060 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Ross Elem
School yearStudents enrolledRoss ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 382 First available year 653
2022–23 408 Increase of 26 (6.8%) 656.5
2023–24 422 Increase of 14 (3.4%) 653.9
2024–25 512 Increase of 90 (21.3%) 651.7
2025–26 494 Decrease of 18 (3.5%) 635.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
569

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Ross Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 439 13 3.0% 26 5.92 9.0% 17.8
2021–22 420 17 4.0% 36 8.57 12.9% 30.6
2022–23 464 12 2.6% 18 3.88 13.5% 33.2
2023–24 485 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 569 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Ross Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Ross Elem
  • Parent district: Ector County ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,433
Selected comparison
$13,052

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 rated schools reporting

−$4,619 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,433 per student for this campus, $13,905 per student for its parent district, Ector County ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRoss ElemParent district: Ector County ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,473$8,820$13,054$8,038 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,956 rated schools reporting
2019$6,362$9,133$13,108$8,182 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting
2020$11,234$9,712$14,058$8,725 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,994 rated schools reporting
2021$9,502$11,838$14,797$9,301 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,006 rated schools reporting
2022$8,496$12,512$15,708$10,606 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,023 rated schools reporting
2023$8,990$13,039$16,792$11,156 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,040 rated schools reporting
2024$8,544$13,842$18,125$12,271 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,061 rated schools reporting
2025$8,433$13,905$18,972$13,052 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,073 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,333+$628 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−14.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17+2.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Ross Elem

Beginning: 3.4%1 to 5 years: 34.8%6 to 10 years: 13.8%11 to 20 years: 34.5%21 to 30 years: 12.4%Over 30 years: 1.4%
  • Beginning 3.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 34.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 13.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 34.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 12.4%
  • Over 30 years 1.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,089 reporting for every category shown · 2,089 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.2%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Ross Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classRoss Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten29.317.9
Grade 126.718.2
Grade 224.318.3
Grade 32718.7
Grade 42719
Grade 53720

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

3 measures

  • 6of 38

    Closing the Gaps

    Ector County · of the 38 that report this measure

  • 7of 38

    Math — Meets

    Ector County · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 38

    Academic Growth

    Ector County · of the 38 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 068901119.