Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Rick Schneider MS

Harris County · Region 04: Houston · 481 students

Current score
69/1002025-26
Change
−13 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−8.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,028 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,514 of 2,028tied with 123 others
D69

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,028 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

22% −1.1 pts vs 23.1%

  • 22% is 1.1 percentage points lower than the 23.1% average among 1,911 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Rick Schneider MS is rated D by TEA, scoring 69 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,028 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 13 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,514th of 2,028 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 123 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Identified

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 1 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
33.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
9.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageRick Schneider MS 8269808369 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6977.6 2,028 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8377.3 2,010 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8073.8 1,992 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6973.3 1,986 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8281.9 1,961 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement65 D−5.2 vs similar economic context · 1,880 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−1.7 vs similar economic context · 1,877 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps55 F−19.9 vs similar economic context · 1,866 reporting
  • Academic Growth62 D−11.1 vs similar economic context · 1,850 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C+0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,876 reporting
  • Rick Schneider MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,028 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement65D5
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps55F5
Academic Growth62D8
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (65) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,879 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level56%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 reporting
  • Meets grade level21%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,028 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
481
Economically disadvantaged
93.1%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
46.5%+5.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.5%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.0%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Rick Schneider MS

African American: 11.9%Hispanic: 83.1%White: 2.1%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 0.8%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 11.9%
  • Hispanic 83.1%
  • White 2.1%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 reporting for every category shown · 2,028 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 76.5%White: 5.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 76.5%
  • White 5.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
480
Economically disadvantaged students
447
Emergent bilingual students
223
Special education students
89

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
77
Students in TEA mobility denominator
547
TEA-published mobility rate
14.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 481 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 19 (3.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
481

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−19

Decrease · −3.8%

Change since 2021–22
−183

Decrease · −27.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
481
Selected comparison
568.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,007 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Rick Schneider MS
School yearStudents enrolledRick Schneider MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 664 First available year 614.5
2022–23 575 Decrease of 89 (13.4%) 610.6
2023–24 517 Decrease of 58 (10.1%) 600.8
2024–25 500 Decrease of 17 (3.3%) 594.1
2025–26 481 Decrease of 19 (3.8%) 568.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
118

21.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
223

41.45 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
538

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
21.9%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,219 rated schools reporting

+8.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
41.45
Selected comparison
30.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,313 rated schools reporting

+10.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Rick Schneider MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 748 111 14.8% 211 28.21 6.9% 13.1
2021–22 705 132 18.7% 265 37.59 12.5% 29.5
2022–23 643 140 21.8% 296 46.03 13.5% 32.5
2023–24 571 132 23.1% 276 48.34 13.6% 32.8
2024–25 538 118 21.9% 223 41.45 13.0% 30.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Rick Schneider MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 118 21.9% 223 41.45 13.0% 30.7
In-school suspensions 112 20.8% 188 34.94 11.2% 21.6
Out-of-school suspensions 17 3.2% 23 4.28 9.4% 15.5
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Rick Schneider MS
  • Parent district: Pasadena ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$13,516
Selected comparison
$13,188

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

+$328 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $13,516 per student for this campus, $18,084 per student for its parent district, Pasadena ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRick Schneider MSParent district: Pasadena ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,405$12,956$13,054$8,328 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,913 rated schools reporting
2019$8,406$12,390$13,108$8,347 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,938 rated schools reporting
2020$8,755$12,617$14,058$8,846 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 rated schools reporting
2021$9,616$13,595$14,797$9,662 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 rated schools reporting
2022$11,011$15,651$15,708$11,250 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 rated schools reporting
2023$12,621$17,367$16,792$11,782 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,985 rated schools reporting
2024$13,974$17,655$18,125$12,656 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,995 rated schools reporting
2025$13,516$18,084$18,972$13,188 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,008 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$71,256+$2,912 vs similar economic context
Teachers
40+0.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12−2.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Rick Schneider MS

Beginning: 10%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 27.5%11 to 20 years: 17.5%21 to 30 years: 20%Over 30 years: 2.5%
  • Beginning 10%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 27.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 17.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 20%
  • Over 30 years 2.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,028 reporting for every category shown · 2,028 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 14.8%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Rick Schneider MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classRick Schneider MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 51019.2
Grade 68.717.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 2 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101917142.