Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Ramey Elem

Smith County · Region 07: Kilgore · 498 students

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
+10 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.3 ptsvs 77.7 average · 1,692 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
823 of 1,692tied with 77 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 67 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.7 average for 1,692 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Relative Performance rose 8 points

72 to 80 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 80 is 3.2 points above the 76.8 average among 1,569 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
52%vs 39% avg · +13 pts
Masters
22%vs 15.1% avg · +6.9 pts

Among 1,570 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Ramey Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.7 average for 1,692 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 10 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 823rd of 1,692 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 77 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageRamey Elem 6964807479 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 67 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7977.7 1,692 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7477.4 1,675 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8073.9 1,659 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6473.2 1,656 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6981.9 1,638 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C+1.9 vs similar economic context · 1,573 reporting
  • School Progress80 B+1.1 vs similar economic context · 1,570 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps77 C+1.9 vs similar economic context · 1,561 reporting
  • Academic Growth74 C+0.6 vs similar economic context · 1,549 reporting
  • Relative Performance80 B+3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,569 reporting
  • Ramey Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,692 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress80B10
Closing the Gaps77C3
Academic Growth74C6
Relative Performance80B10

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (80), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 80.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level69%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
  • Meets grade level46%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,573 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,570 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,570 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,570 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level49%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,487 reporting
  • Meets grade level14%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,487 reporting
  • Masters grade level3%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,487 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,692 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
498
Economically disadvantaged
96.0%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
45.6%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.9%−1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.4%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
15.6%−8.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Ramey Elem

African American: 31.3%Hispanic: 66.7%White: 0.2%American Indian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 1.6%
  • African American 31.3%
  • Hispanic 66.7%
  • White 0.2%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 1.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,692 reporting for every category shown · 1,692 in full cohort

African American: 15%Hispanic: 77.3%White: 4.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 15%
  • Hispanic 77.3%
  • White 4.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
498
Economically disadvantaged students
478
Emergent bilingual students
227
Special education students
79

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
53
Students in TEA mobility denominator
414
TEA-published mobility rate
12.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 498 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 19 (3.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
498

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−19

Decrease · −3.7%

Change since 2021–22
−49

Decrease · −9.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
498
Selected comparison
558.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,674 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Ramey Elem
School yearStudents enrolledRamey ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 547 First available year 607.1
2022–23 541 Decrease of 6 (1.1%) 603.5
2023–24 528 Decrease of 13 (2.4%) 593.3
2024–25 517 Decrease of 11 (2.1%) 586.2
2025–26 498 Decrease of 19 (3.7%) 558.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
49

9.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
134

24.81 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
540

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.1%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 976 rated schools reporting

−4.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
24.81
Selected comparison
31.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,055 rated schools reporting

−6.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Ramey Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 544 63 11.6% 106 19.49 6.9% 13.3
2021–22 569 91 16.0% 212 37.26 12.7% 30
2022–23 581 91 15.7% 384 66.09 13.7% 33
2023–24 558 83 14.9% 195 34.95 13.8% 33
2024–25 540 49 9.1% 134 24.81 13.1% 31.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Ramey Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 49 9.1% 134 24.81 13.1% 31.2
In-school suspensions 43 8.0% 104 19.26 11.5% 22.2
Out-of-school suspensions 12 2.2% 24 4.44 9.6% 16
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Ramey Elem
  • Parent district: Tyler ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,832
Selected comparison
$13,382

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,674 rated schools reporting

−$3,550 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,832 per student for this campus, $14,333 per student for its parent district, Tyler ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearRamey ElemParent district: Tyler ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,370$12,660$13,054$8,393 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,597 rated schools reporting
2019$6,698$16,047$13,108$8,378 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,618 rated schools reporting
2020$7,168$14,755$14,058$8,879 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,621 rated schools reporting
2021$7,882$15,099$14,797$9,748 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,623 rated schools reporting
2022$10,241$14,624$15,708$11,254 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,639 rated schools reporting
2023$9,130$16,225$16,792$11,741 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,656 rated schools reporting
2024$10,075$16,622$18,125$12,796 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting
2025$9,832$14,333$18,972$13,382 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,674 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$62,424−$6,172 vs similar economic context
Teachers
35−4.6 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.3−0.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Ramey Elem

1 to 5 years: 40.8%6 to 10 years: 29.3%11 to 20 years: 26.7%21 to 30 years: 2.9%
  • 1 to 5 years 40.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 29.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 2.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,692 reporting for every category shown · 1,692 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.6%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Ramey Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classRamey Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2118.1
Grade 12218.3
Grade 220.518.3
Grade 31718.4
Grade 421.318.3
Grade 518.519

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 212905116.