Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Pottsboro MS

Grayson County · Region 10: Richardson · 454 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+15 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+1.4 ptsvs 87.6 average · 1,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
496 of 1,000tied with 58 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 75 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 87.6 average for 1,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
69%vs 63.6% avg · +5.4 pts
Masters
38%vs 35.5% avg · +2.5 pts

Among 891 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Pottsboro MS is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 87.6 average for 1,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 15 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 496th of 1,000 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 58 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averagePottsboro MS 7487808389 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 75 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8987.6 1,000 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8387.4 983 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8086.1 971 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8786.4 954 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7487.6 939 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+1.7 vs similar economic context · 981 reporting
  • School Progress85 B+0.6 vs similar economic context · 978 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps88 B+2.9 vs similar economic context · 971 reporting
  • Academic Growth85 B+4.5 vs similar economic context · 960 reporting
  • Relative Performance81 B+0.9 vs similar economic context · 978 reporting
  • Pottsboro MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,000 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps88B2
Academic Growth85B5
Relative Performance81B9

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (90), so School Progress (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 981 reporting
  • Meets grade level65%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 981 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 981 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 980 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 980 reporting
  • Masters grade level35%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 980 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 977 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 977 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 977 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 891 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 891 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 891 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 502 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,000 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
454
Economically disadvantaged
29.5%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.2%−8.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.7%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.6%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.1%−3.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Pottsboro MS

African American: 0.4%Hispanic: 9.9%White: 81.5%American Indian: 2.2%Two or More Races: 5.9%
  • African American 0.4%
  • Hispanic 9.9%
  • White 81.5%
  • American Indian 2.2%
  • Two or More Races 5.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,000 reporting for every category shown · 1,000 in full cohort

African American: 9%Hispanic: 29.5%White: 48.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 7.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 9%
  • Hispanic 29.5%
  • White 48.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 7.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
454
Economically disadvantaged students
134
Emergent bilingual students
10
Special education students
85

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
42
Students in TEA mobility denominator
464
TEA-published mobility rate
9.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 454 students in 2025–26. The previous available count is not from the immediately preceding school year, so no year-over-year change is calculated.

Latest enrollment
454

2025–26

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
454
Selected comparison
805.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 989 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Pottsboro MS
School yearStudents enrolledPottsboro MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 442 First available year 821.1
2022–23 459 Increase of 17 (3.8%) 823.7
2023–24 440 Decrease of 19 (4.1%) 817.9
2024–25 Not reported Not available —
2025–26 454 No adjacent prior year 805.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
70

15.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
157

33.84 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
464

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
15.1%
Selected comparison
8.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 746 rated schools reporting

+6.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
33.84
Selected comparison
17.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 834 rated schools reporting

+16.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Pottsboro MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 473 54 11.4% 111 23.47 7.0% 12.7
2021–22 484 105 21.7% 197 40.70 9.3% 18.9
2022–23 490 109 22.2% 232 47.35 9.5% 19.5
2023–24 466 80 17.2% 180 38.63 9.1% 19
2024–25 464 70 15.1% 157 33.84 8.8% 17.7
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Pottsboro MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 70 15.1% 157 33.84 8.8% 17.7
In-school suspensions 64 13.8% 122 26.29 7.9% 13.8
Out-of-school suspensions 10 2.2% 16 3.45 4.3% 5.9
DAEP placements 13 2.8% 17 3.66 3.1% 3.6
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$23k$40k20182020202220242025
  • Pottsboro MS
  • Parent district: Pottsboro ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,138
Selected comparison
$11,698

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 982 rated schools reporting

−$3,560 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,138 per student for this campus, $24,165 per student for its parent district, Pottsboro ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPottsboro MSParent district: Pottsboro ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,295$9,743$13,054$7,651 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 887 rated schools reporting
2019$6,238$12,041$13,108$7,778 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 901 rated schools reporting
2020$6,798$12,906$14,058$8,122 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 912 rated schools reporting
2021$7,708$13,872$14,797$8,527 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 921 rated schools reporting
2022$7,772$13,081$15,708$9,716 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 938 rated schools reporting
2023$7,909$19,981$16,792$10,270 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 955 rated schools reporting
2024$8,345$38,229$18,125$11,443 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 970 rated schools reporting
2025$8,138$24,165$18,972$11,698 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 982 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$73,366+$5,091 vs similar economic context
Teachers
32−20.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4−0.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Pottsboro MS

1 to 5 years: 16.5%6 to 10 years: 17.7%11 to 20 years: 43%21 to 30 years: 17.4%Over 30 years: 5.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 16.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 17.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 43%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.4%
  • Over 30 years 5.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,000 reporting for every category shown · 1,000 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.8%1 to 5 years: 22.4%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 32.4%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.3%
  • Beginning 4.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Pottsboro MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classPottsboro MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 526.321.5
Grade 620.518.7
Secondary English21.716.7
Secondary math19.817.4
Secondary science21.119
Secondary social studies22.719.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 50

    All Subjects — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 50 that report this measure · tied with 2

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

7 measures

  • 4of 50

    Reading — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 50 that report this measure

  • 5of 50

    Math — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 50 that report this measure

  • 6of 53

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Grayson County · of the 53 that report this measure

  • 7of 49

    Academic Growth

    Grayson County · of the 49 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 42

    Science — Masters

    Grayson County · of the 42 that report this measure

  • 9of 50

    Reading — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 50 that report this measure

  • 10of 50

    All Subjects — Meets

    Grayson County · of the 50 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 091913041.