Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Poteet HS

Atascosa County · Region 20: San Antonio · 494 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
73/1002025-26
Change
+9 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−6.1 ptsvs 79.1 average · 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,465 of 2,019tied with 58 others
C73

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 70 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.1 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Poteet HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.1 average for 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 9 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,465th of 2,019 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 58 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averagePoteet HS 6480717573 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 70 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7379.1 2,019 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7578.8 2,000 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7176.7 1,984 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8077.2 1,957 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6481.9 1,938 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−4.0 vs similar economic context · 1,898 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−3.1 vs similar economic context · 1,891 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps64 D−12.3 vs similar economic context · 1,878 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 1,832 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C−1.5 vs similar economic context · 1,891 reporting
  • Poteet HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps64D6
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level77%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,898 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
  • Masters grade level4%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,896 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Meets grade level8%−33 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,748 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,748 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,748 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level98%+26 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 888 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 888 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 888 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,019 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
84.5%−9.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 422 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
92.2%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 422 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
89.6%−2.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 420 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
3.3%+2.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
71.0%−16.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria71.0%87.0%−16.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 461 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course45.0%59.4%−14.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA37.0%26.2%+10.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%11.0%−11.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course39.0%33.3%+5.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification29.0%36.9%−7.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%2.2%−2.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree21.0%7.3%+13.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%4.2%−4.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.3%−3.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student7.0%8.4%−1.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces15.0%3.0%+12.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
130

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
48

36.9% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
81

62.3% of graduates

Not trackable
1

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
130
Selected comparison
246.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
48
Selected comparison
106

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
36.9%
Selected comparison
43.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated schools reporting

−6.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
62.3%
Selected comparison
51.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated schools reporting

+11.0 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
0.8%
Selected comparison
5.6%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 376 rated schools reporting

−4.8 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. ALAMO CCD PALO ALTO COLLEGE (023413)16
  2. U. OF TEXAS AT SAN ANTONIO (010115)7

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
494
Economically disadvantaged
70.0%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
8.7%−11.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.4%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
87.8%−6.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
44.2%+26.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Poteet HS

African American: 0.2%Hispanic: 87.2%White: 11.1%Asian: 0.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.8%
  • African American 0.2%
  • Hispanic 87.2%
  • White 11.1%
  • Asian 0.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

African American: 12.4%Hispanic: 56.7%White: 25%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.4%
  • African American 12.4%
  • Hispanic 56.7%
  • White 25%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
494
Economically disadvantaged students
346
Emergent bilingual students
43
Special education students
96

Early college pathways

Early College High School
122

TEA-published share: 24.7%

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
42

TEA-published share: 8.5%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
78
Students in TEA mobility denominator
529
TEA-published mobility rate
14.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 494 students in 2025–26, an increase of 13 (2.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
494

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+13

Increase · +2.7%

Change since 2021–22
+4

Increase · +0.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
494
Selected comparison
636.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,980 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Poteet HS
School yearStudents enrolledPoteet HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 490 First available year 648.4
2022–23 508 Increase of 18 (3.7%) 655.4
2023–24 493 Decrease of 15 (3.0%) 654.6
2024–25 481 Decrease of 12 (2.4%) 652
2025–26 494 Increase of 13 (2.7%) 636.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
106

20.0% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
238

44.99 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
529

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
20.0%
Selected comparison
13.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 rated schools reporting

+7.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
44.99
Selected comparison
30.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,655 rated schools reporting

+14.2 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Poteet HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 488 12 2.5% 18 3.69 9.6% 19
2021–22 531 86 16.2% 214 40.30 12.9% 30.2
2022–23 553 137 24.8% 321 58.05 13.5% 32.4
2023–24 535 116 21.7% 301 56.26 13.3% 32.3
2024–25 529 106 20.0% 238 44.99 13.0% 30.8
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Poteet HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 106 20.0% 238 44.99 13.0% 30.8
In-school suspensions 68 12.8% 91 17.20 11.6% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 52 9.8% 91 17.20 7.4% 11.1
DAEP placements 42 7.9% 51 9.64 5.2% 6.2
Mandatory DAEP placements 20 3.8% 22 4.16 3.7% 4.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 26 4.9% 29 5.48 2.9% 3.5
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Poteet HS
  • Parent district: Poteet ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,608
Selected comparison
$13,219

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

−$611 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,608 per student for this campus, $18,459 per student for its parent district, Poteet ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPoteet HSParent district: Poteet ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,316$10,442$13,054$8,036 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 rated schools reporting
2019$8,899$10,617$13,108$8,193 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 rated schools reporting
2020$9,845$11,608$14,058$8,752 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 rated schools reporting
2021$10,112$12,817$14,797$9,248 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,916 rated schools reporting
2022$9,845$13,454$15,708$10,510 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,939 rated schools reporting
2023$10,728$13,437$16,792$11,199 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,959 rated schools reporting
2024$12,360$16,309$18,125$12,448 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,983 rated schools reporting
2025$12,608$18,459$18,972$13,219 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,559+$114 vs similar economic context
Teachers
42−0.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.7−2.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Poteet HS

1 to 5 years: 25.7%6 to 10 years: 24%11 to 20 years: 29.5%21 to 30 years: 9%Over 30 years: 11.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 24%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 9%
  • Over 30 years 11.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,019 reporting for every category shown · 2,019 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.5%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.5%21 to 30 years: 15.4%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.4%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Poteet HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classPoteet HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English18.515.2
Secondary languages other than English13.917.8
Secondary math21.516.2
Secondary science21.717.5
Secondary social studies2017.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 184 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 11

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Atascosa County · of the 11 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

3 measures

  • 3of 123

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Region 20: San Antonio · of the 123 that report this measure

  • 3of 16

    Reading — Meets

    Atascosa County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 11

    Social Studies — Masters

    Atascosa County · of the 11 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

15 measures

  • 5of 20

    Per-student spending

    Atascosa County · of the 20 that report this measure

  • 5of 16

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Atascosa County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 5of 15

    Academic Growth

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 5of 15

    Science — Approaches

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 5of 11

    Social Studies — Meets

    Atascosa County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 7of 15

    School Progress

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 7of 15

    Relative Performance

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 8of 20

    Overall score

    Atascosa County · of the 20 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 16

    All Subjects — Meets

    Atascosa County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 8of 16

    Reading — Approaches

    Atascosa County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 15

    Math — Approaches

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 8of 15

    Science — Meets

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 9of 123

    Earned an associate degree

    Region 20: San Antonio · of the 123 that report this measure

  • 9of 16

    Student Achievement

    Atascosa County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 9of 15

    Science — Masters

    Atascosa County · of the 15 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 007906001.