Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem

Pioneer Technology & Arts Academy · Royse City · 200 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
68/1002025-26
Change
−20 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−14.7 ptsvs 82.7 average · 67 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
61 of 67tied with 1 other
D68

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 93 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 82.7 average for 67 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

No academic result met this site’s published threshold for a selected positive signal against Similar economic-disadvantage rate.

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 68 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.7 average for 67 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 20 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 61st of 67 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 1 other).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
16.4%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averagePioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem 8887778268 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 93 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26D6882.7 67 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8283.0 64 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24C7781.7 62 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23B8781.9 59 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22B8884.0 55 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−10.5 vs similar economic context · 67 reporting
  • School Progress59 F−20.9 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps60 D−20.6 vs similar economic context · 63 reporting
  • Academic Growth50 F−24.4 vs similar economic context · 64 reporting
  • Relative Performance59 F−18.7 vs similar economic context · 65 reporting
  • Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (67 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress59F1
Closing the Gaps60D10
Academic Growth50F10
Relative Performance59F1

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 8 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (72), so School Progress (59) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 72.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level74%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level68%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Meets grade level35%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 66 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (67 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
200
Economically disadvantaged
41.5%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.0%−8.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.5%+2.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.7%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.6%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem

African American: 35%Hispanic: 23.5%White: 34%Asian: 4%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 35%
  • Hispanic 23.5%
  • White 34%
  • Asian 4%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting for every category shown · 67 in full cohort

African American: 13%Hispanic: 41.6%White: 34.3%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 6.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 13%
  • Hispanic 41.6%
  • White 34.3%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 6.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
200
Economically disadvantaged students
83
Emergent bilingual students
10
Special education students
31

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
25
Students in TEA mobility denominator
174
TEA-published mobility rate
14.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 200 students in 2025–26, an increase of 6 (3.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
200

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+6

Increase · +3.1%

Change since 2021–22
−13

Decrease · −6.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
200
Selected comparison
531.8

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem
School yearStudents enrolledPioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 213 First available year 423.1
2022–23 220 Increase of 7 (3.3%) 474.2
2023–24 255 Increase of 35 (15.9%) 499.7
2024–25 194 Decrease of 61 (23.9%) 504.4
2025–26 200 Increase of 6 (3.1%) 531.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
211

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 223 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 235 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 255 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 281 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 211 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k2020202220242025
  • Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem
  • Parent district: Pioneer Technology & Arts Academy
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$6,772
Selected comparison
$13,006

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter campuses reporting

−$6,234 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $6,772 per student for this campus, $13,259 per student for its parent district, Pioneer Technology & Arts Academy, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearPioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City ElemParent district: Pioneer Technology & Arts AcademyTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2020$8,287$9,706$14,058$8,492 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 47 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$13,923$12,094$14,797$9,051 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 50 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$19,028$11,253$15,708$10,380 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 57 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$8,893$12,339$16,792$10,262 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 59 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$7,507$12,765$18,125$11,635 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 63 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$6,772$13,259$18,972$13,006 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 65 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$56,767−$3,646 vs similar economic context
Teachers
12−22.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.1−3.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem

Beginning: 8.5%1 to 5 years: 37.6%6 to 10 years: 25.6%11 to 20 years: 19.7%21 to 30 years: 8.5%
  • Beginning 8.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 37.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 25.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 19.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.5%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 67 reporting for every category shown · 67 in full cohort

Beginning: 12.4%1 to 5 years: 42.1%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 18.6%21 to 30 years: 6.4%Over 30 years: 1%
  • Beginning 12.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 42.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 18.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.4%
  • Over 30 years 1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Pioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classPioneer Technology (PTAA) Royse City Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.520.4
Grade 11821
Grade 21821.3
Grade 32020.9
Grade 41621.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057850005.