Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

O'Donnell School

Lynn County · Region 17: Lubbock · 235 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
88/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+6.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 1,814 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
418 of 1,814tied with 73 others
B88

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.3 average for 1,814 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 5 points

85 to 90 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 90 is 9.4 points above the 80.6 average among 1,746 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
71%vs 50.3% avg · +20.7 pts
Masters
37%vs 23.4% avg · +13.6 pts

Among 1,605 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

88 +6.7 pts vs 81.3

  • 88 is 6.7 points above the 81.3 average among 1,814 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

O'Donnell School is rated B by TEA, scoring 88 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 1,814 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 418th of 1,814 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 73 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageO'Donnell School 8886909088 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8881.3 1,814 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9081.4 1,789 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9079.3 1,763 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8680.0 1,734 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8882.9 1,708 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+9.4 vs similar economic context · 1,746 reporting
  • School Progress89 B+7.7 vs similar economic context · 1,739 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps82 B+3.5 vs similar economic context · 1,724 reporting
  • Academic Growth59 F−16.0 vs similar economic context · 1,697 reporting
  • Relative Performance89 B+9.7 vs similar economic context · 1,739 reporting
  • O'Donnell School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,814 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress89B1
Closing the Gaps82B8
Academic Growth59F1
Relative Performance89B1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 8 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (90), so School Progress (89) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,746 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,744 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,735 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,735 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,735 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,605 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,605 reporting
  • Masters grade level37%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,605 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 912 reporting
  • Meets grade level76%+28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 912 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 912 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,814 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+7.0 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 468 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
95.7%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
91.3%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 465 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 471 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
100.0%+12.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria100.0%88.0%+12.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 494 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course100.0%58.6%+41.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA30.4%28.3%+2.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%9.8%−9.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course39.1%33.6%+5.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification47.8%38.5%+9.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.5%−1.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%5.1%−5.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.9%−3.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.3%−3.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student8.7%7.7%+1.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces4.3%3.5%+0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 497 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
235
Economically disadvantaged
54.5%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.4%−10.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.7%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.2%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
5.6%−9.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

O'Donnell School

Hispanic: 63.8%White: 35.7%Two or More Races: 0.4%
  • Hispanic 63.8%
  • White 35.7%
  • Two or More Races 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,814 reporting for every category shown · 1,814 in full cohort

African American: 9.9%Hispanic: 43.9%White: 39%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.7%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.1%
  • African American 9.9%
  • Hispanic 43.9%
  • White 39%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
235
Economically disadvantaged students
128
Emergent bilingual students
8
Special education students
44

Early college pathways

Pathways in Technology Early College High School (P-TECH)
75

TEA-published share: 31.9%

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
25
Students in TEA mobility denominator
235
TEA-published mobility rate
10.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 235 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 18 (7.1%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
235

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−18

Decrease · −7.1%

Change since 2021–22
−61

Decrease · −20.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
235
Selected comparison
636.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,775 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for O'Donnell School
School yearStudents enrolledO'Donnell SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 296 First available year 639.3
2022–23 288 Decrease of 8 (2.7%) 645.4
2023–24 271 Decrease of 17 (5.9%) 645.4
2024–25 253 Decrease of 18 (6.6%) 642
2025–26 235 Decrease of 18 (7.1%) 636.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
271

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for O'Donnell School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 309 15 4.8% 31 10.03 9.8% 19
2021–22 318 19 6.0% 29 9.12 12.4% 28
2022–23 313 10 3.2% 14 4.47 12.9% 29.6
2023–24 288 12 4.2% 19 6.60 12.8% 29.7
2024–25 271 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for O'Donnell School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$17k$28k20182020202220242025
  • O'Donnell School
  • Parent district: O'Donnell ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$15,316
Selected comparison
$12,174

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,786 rated schools reporting

+$3,142 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $15,316 per student for this campus, $25,763 per student for its parent district, O'Donnell ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearO'Donnell SchoolParent district: O'Donnell ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,078$19,942$13,054$7,899 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,647 rated schools reporting
2019$10,242$19,545$13,108$8,066 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,663 rated schools reporting
2020$11,238$19,554$14,058$8,632 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 rated schools reporting
2021$11,426$21,263$14,797$9,010 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,695 rated schools reporting
2022$13,479$23,065$15,708$10,376 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,710 rated schools reporting
2023$14,243$23,747$16,792$10,883 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,734 rated schools reporting
2024$16,123$26,305$18,125$11,729 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,760 rated schools reporting
2025$15,316$25,763$18,972$12,174 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,786 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$60,379−$6,200 vs similar economic context
Teachers
29−13.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
8.2−11.2 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

O'Donnell School

Beginning: 3.1%1 to 5 years: 16.4%6 to 10 years: 16.4%11 to 20 years: 30.1%21 to 30 years: 19.2%Over 30 years: 14.3%
  • Beginning 3.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 16.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 19.2%
  • Over 30 years 14.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,814 reporting for every category shown · 1,814 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.8%1 to 5 years: 24.9%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 28.9%21 to 30 years: 16.4%Over 30 years: 4.4%
  • Beginning 5.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.4%
  • Over 30 years 4.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for O'Donnell School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classO'Donnell School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1518
Grade 19.518.3
Grade 21218.5
Grade 310.518.8
Grade 41419
Grade 56.819.8
Grade 613.517.6
Secondary English9.114.9
Secondary languages other than English8.917.4
Secondary math7.915.8
Secondary science9.617.3
Secondary social studies7.217.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 6of 103

    Social Studies — Meets

    Region 17: Lubbock · of the 103 that report this measure

  • 10of 178

    Attendance

    Region 17: Lubbock · of the 178 that report this measure · tied with 2

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 153903001.