+8.1 ptsvs 77.9 average · 2,111 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
430 of 2,111tied with 83 others
Score vs region
+0.3 ptsvs 85.7 average · 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg
Region 01: Edinburg placement
276 of 505tied with 34 others
Score vs county
−2.3 ptsvs 88.3 average · 76 rated schools in Webb County
Webb County placement
49 of 76tied with 4 others
Score vs similar-size group
+5.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 4,621 similarly sized rated schools
Similar size placement
1,537 of 4,621tied with 165 others
Score vs state
+4.7 ptsvs 81.3 average · 7,646 rated Texas schools
Texas placement
2,764 of 7,646tied with 299 others
B86
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 97 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 77.9 average for 2,111 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is level with the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg.The current score is below the 88.3 average for 76 rated schools in Webb County.The current score is above the 80.4 average for 4,621 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
60%vs 42.8% avg · +17.2 pts
Masters
32%vs 16.9% avg · +15.1 pts
Among 1,952 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Nye Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 77.9 average for 2,111 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 430th of 2,111 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 83 others).
Nye Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 85.7 average for 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 276th of 505 rated schools in Region 01: Edinburg (tied with 34 others).
Nye Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 88.3 average for 76 rated schools in Webb County. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 49th of 76 rated schools in Webb County (tied with 4 others).
Nye Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 4,621 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1,537th of 4,621 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 165 others).
Nye Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 10 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 97 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement86 B+13.0 vs similar economic context · 1,952 reporting
School Progress90 A+10.9 vs similar economic context · 1,947 reporting
Closing the Gaps78 C+2.8 vs similar economic context · 1,933 reporting
Academic Growth76 C+3.6 vs similar economic context · 1,900 reporting
Relative Performance90 A+12.5 vs similar economic context · 1,947 reporting
Nye Elem
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,111 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
86
B
4
School Progress
90
A
—
Closing the Gaps
78
C
2
Academic Growth
76
C
4
Relative Performance
90
A
—
Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (90), so
Student Achievement (86) is published above but does not enter the overall
score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level80%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 reporting
Meets grade level60%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 reporting
Masters grade level32%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,952 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level86%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,950 reporting
Meets grade level68%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,950 reporting
Masters grade level40%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,950 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level80%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 reporting
Meets grade level62%+23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 reporting
Masters grade level31%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,942 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level66%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,804 reporting
Meets grade level31%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,804 reporting
Masters grade level11%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,804 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,111 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
621
Economically disadvantaged
78.3%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
44.4%+17.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.1%+3.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.8%−7.3 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Nye Elem
Hispanic 97.7%
White 1.1%
American Indian 0.2%
Asian 0.6%
Two or More Races 0.3%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,111 reporting for every category shown · 2,111 in full cohort
African American 13.9%
Hispanic 65.8%
White 15.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 1.8%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 2.8%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
African American 0.2%
Hispanic 97.5%
White 1.9%
Asian 0.3%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor Webb County · 76 reporting for every category shown · 76 in full cohort
African American 0.1%
Hispanic 98.3%
White 1.3%
Asian 0.2%
Two or More Races 0.1%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,621 reporting for every category shown · 4,621 in full cohort
African American 12.3%
Hispanic 54.5%
White 24.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.9%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.6%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
African American 11.5%
Hispanic 52.6%
White 27.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 4.2%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
621
Economically disadvantaged students
486
Emergent bilingual students
276
Special education students
137
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
53
Students in TEA mobility denominator
519
TEA-published mobility rate
10.2%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 621 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 64 (9.3%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
621
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−64
Decrease · −9.3%
Change since 2021–22
−4
Decrease · −0.6%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
621
Selected comparison
635.7
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,083 rated schools reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Nye Elem
School year
Students enrolledNye Elem
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
625
First available year
657.5
2022–23
649
Increase of 24 (3.8%)
661.4
2023–24
692
Increase of 43 (6.6%)
656.5
2024–25
685
Decrease of 7 (1.0%)
653.8
2025–26
621
Decrease of 64 (9.3%)
635.7
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
11
1.51 per 100 students
Cumulative year-end enrollment
727
2024–25
Actions per 100 students · 2024–25
This school
1.51
Selected comparison
32.5
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 rated schools reporting
−31.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Nye Elem
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
732
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2021–22
685
Suppressed
—
10
1.46
—
31.2
2022–23
684
Suppressed
—
10
1.46
—
34.2
2023–24
733
14
1.9%
20
2.73
13.7%
34
2024–25
727
Suppressed
—
11
1.51
—
32.5
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Nye Elem in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
11
1.51
—
32.5
In-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Nye Elem
Parent district: United ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$9,376
Selected comparison
$13,075
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,099 rated schools reporting
−$3,699 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $9,376 per student for this campus, $14,348 per student for its parent district, United ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Nye Elem
Parent district: United ISD
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$7,089
$13,187
$13,054
$8,090
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,984 rated schools reporting
2019
$7,283
$12,568
$13,108
$8,240
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting
2020
$7,382
$12,004
$14,058
$8,742
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,021 rated schools reporting
2021
$8,068
$13,076
$14,797
$9,371
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,034 rated schools reporting
2022
$8,430
$15,006
$15,708
$10,748
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,051 rated schools reporting
2023
$8,131
$14,779
$16,792
$11,310
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,068 rated schools reporting
2024
$8,460
$15,029
$18,125
$12,343
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,085 rated schools reporting
2025
$9,376
$14,348
$18,972
$13,075
average forschools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,099 rated schools reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$67,202+$306 vs similar economic context
Teachers
41−2.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.2+1.2 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Nye Elem
Beginning 1.2%
1 to 5 years 7.4%
6 to 10 years 9.8%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 41.7%
Over 30 years 4.9%
Selected comparison averageFor schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,111 reporting for every category shown · 2,111 in full cohort
Beginning 6.9%
1 to 5 years 27.6%
6 to 10 years 19%
11 to 20 years 27.1%
21 to 30 years 15.1%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Selected comparison averageFor Region 01: Edinburg · 505 reporting for every category shown · 505 in full cohort
Beginning 2.7%
1 to 5 years 19.3%
6 to 10 years 16.2%
11 to 20 years 35%
21 to 30 years 22.6%
Over 30 years 4.2%
Selected comparison averageFor Webb County · 76 reporting for every category shown · 76 in full cohort
Beginning 2.5%
1 to 5 years 18.4%
6 to 10 years 16%
11 to 20 years 32.7%
21 to 30 years 25.1%
Over 30 years 5.2%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized schools · 4,621 reporting for every category shown · 4,621 in full cohort
Beginning 6.1%
1 to 5 years 26.5%
6 to 10 years 19.8%
11 to 20 years 29%
21 to 30 years 15.4%
Over 30 years 3%
Statewide average7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Beginning 6.2%
1 to 5 years 25.6%
6 to 10 years 19.2%
11 to 20 years 28.7%
21 to 30 years 15.9%
Over 30 years 3.7%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Nye Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classNye Elem · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
15.8
18
Grade 1
16.2
18.3
Grade 2
17
18.4
Grade 3
16
18.8
Grade 4
16.6
19.1
Grade 5
17.5
20.1
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Other top-5% rankings
High placements in larger reporting groups
6 measures
30of 1,950
Reading — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,950 that report this measure · tied with 6
73of 1,952
All Subjects — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,952 that report this measure · tied with 8
81of 1,942
Math — Masters
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,942 that report this measure · tied with 5
83of 1,950
Reading — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,950 that report this measure · tied with 9
95of 1,942
Math — Meets
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,942 that report this measure · tied with 11
106of 1,950
Reading — Approaches
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,950 that report this measure · tied with 18
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 240903103.