Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

North Zulch Elem/Secondary

Madison County · Region 06: Huntsville · 335 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
95/1002025-26
Change
+1 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+14.3 ptsvs 80.7 average · 1,934 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
60 of 1,934tied with 20 others
A95

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 91 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.7 average for 1,934 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Academic Growth rose 14 points

70 to 84 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 84 is 9.6 points above the 74.4 average among 1,785 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
62%vs 49.6% avg · +12.4 pts
Masters
28%vs 20.4% avg · +7.6 pts

Among 1,847 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
51%vs 43.5% avg · +7.5 pts
Masters
21%vs 16.9% avg · +4.1 pts

Among 1,836 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

North Zulch Elem/Secondary is rated A by TEA, scoring 95 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.7 average for 1,934 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 1 point since 2021-22.

Ranks 60th of 1,934 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 20 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageNorth Zulch Elem/Secondary 9492949595 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 91 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9580.7 1,934 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9580.5 1,910 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9478.5 1,889 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9279.0 1,858 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9482.5 1,832 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement96 A+16.9 vs similar economic context · 1,847 reporting
  • School Progress96 A+14.6 vs similar economic context · 1,840 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps94 A+16.1 vs similar economic context · 1,823 reporting
  • Academic Growth84 B+9.6 vs similar economic context · 1,785 reporting
  • Relative Performance96 A+16.4 vs similar economic context · 1,840 reporting
  • North Zulch Elem/Secondary
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,934 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement96A—
School Progress96A—
Closing the Gaps94A—
Academic Growth84B6
Relative Performance96A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level88%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
  • Meets grade level62%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,847 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,844 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,844 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,844 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
  • Meets grade level51%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,836 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level91%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level87%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
  • Masters grade level42%+20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 937 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,934 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
95.0%+1.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 491 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
92.0%−1.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 487 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+7.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 494 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
100.0%+12.1 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria100.0%87.9%+12.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 525 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course45.0%59.6%−14.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA45.0%28.1%+16.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%10.5%−10.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course25.0%33.5%−8.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification95.0%37.9%+57.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.6%−1.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.3%−6.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.7%−3.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%3.3%−3.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.0%7.9%−2.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces15.0%3.4%+11.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 529 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
335
Economically disadvantaged
60.6%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.3%−12.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%+1.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
10.7%−5.4 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

North Zulch Elem/Secondary

African American: 2.4%Hispanic: 20.3%White: 71.6%Asian: 0.6%Two or More Races: 5.1%
  • African American 2.4%
  • Hispanic 20.3%
  • White 71.6%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 5.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting for every category shown · 1,934 in full cohort

African American: 10.4%Hispanic: 48.6%White: 34.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.4%
  • Hispanic 48.6%
  • White 34.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
335
Economically disadvantaged students
203
Emergent bilingual students
11
Special education students
63

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
44
Students in TEA mobility denominator
319
TEA-published mobility rate
13.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 335 students in 2025–26, an increase of 2 (0.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
335

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+2

Increase · +0.6%

Change since 2021–22
+20

Increase · +6.3%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
335
Selected comparison
626.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,901 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for North Zulch Elem/Secondary
School yearStudents enrolledNorth Zulch Elem/SecondaryChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 315 First available year 638.9
2022–23 352 Increase of 37 (11.7%) 643.1
2023–24 358 Increase of 6 (1.7%) 640.8
2024–25 333 Decrease of 25 (7.0%) 637.1
2025–26 335 Increase of 2 (0.6%) 626.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
14

3.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
21

5.65 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
372

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.8%
Selected comparison
12.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,469 rated schools reporting

−8.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
5.65
Selected comparison
28.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,591 rated schools reporting

−23.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for North Zulch Elem/Secondary
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 333 31 9.3% 59 17.72 9.7% 18.9
2021–22 361 48 13.3% 125 34.63 12.5% 28.7
2022–23 376 49 13.0% 99 26.33 13.0% 30.6
2023–24 398 20 5.0% 34 8.54 12.9% 30.4
2024–25 372 14 3.8% 21 5.65 12.7% 28.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for North Zulch Elem/Secondary in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 14 3.8% 21 5.65 12.7% 28.9
In-school suspensions 13 3.5% 20 5.38 11.4% 22.4
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$18k$30k20182020202220242025
  • North Zulch Elem/Secondary
  • Parent district: North Zulch ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,552
Selected comparison
$12,495

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 rated schools reporting

+$57 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,552 per student for this campus, $23,442 per student for its parent district, North Zulch ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearNorth Zulch Elem/SecondaryParent district: North Zulch ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,038$13,238$13,054$7,919 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,767 rated schools reporting
2019$8,366$13,570$13,108$8,065 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,784 rated schools reporting
2020$9,787$17,729$14,058$8,671 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,802 rated schools reporting
2021$9,680$16,566$14,797$9,092 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,815 rated schools reporting
2022$10,930$28,662$15,708$10,431 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,833 rated schools reporting
2023$10,392$22,468$16,792$11,086 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,858 rated schools reporting
2024$11,225$19,967$18,125$11,950 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 rated schools reporting
2025$12,552$23,442$18,972$12,495 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,906 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$62,184−$4,195 vs similar economic context
Teachers
33−9.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
10.3−8.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

North Zulch Elem/Secondary

1 to 5 years: 40.4%6 to 10 years: 15%11 to 20 years: 32.7%21 to 30 years: 8.9%Over 30 years: 3.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 40.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 15%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 8.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,934 reporting for every category shown · 1,934 in full cohort

Beginning: 6%1 to 5 years: 25.5%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 28.4%21 to 30 years: 16.2%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.2%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for North Zulch Elem/Secondary in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classNorth Zulch Elem/Secondary · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten13.517.9
Grade 11718.2
Grade 21518.4
Grade 311.818.6
Grade 42118.9
Grade 516.519.6
Grade 614.417.6
Secondary English10.514.9
Secondary math10.815.7
Secondary science1217.2
Secondary social studies1417.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 11 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 73

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 73 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

3 measures

  • 2of 73

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 73 that report this measure

  • 3of 303

    School Progress

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 303 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 3of 303

    Relative Performance

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 303 that report this measure · tied with 3

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

3 measures

  • 4of 304

    Student Achievement

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 304 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 7of 314

    Overall score

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 314 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 9of 302

    Closing the Gaps

    Region 06: Huntsville · of the 302 that report this measure · tied with 6

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 95of 1,844

    Reading — Approaches

    Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 1,844 that report this measure · tied with 14

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 154903001.