Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

New Waverly JH

Walker County · Region 06: Huntsville · 179 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
89/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+5.6 ptsvs 83.4 average · 1,490 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
401 of 1,490tied with 56 others
B89

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 82 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 83.4 average for 1,490 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 5 points

84 to 89 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 89 is 5.4 points above the 83.6 average among 1,446 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 56.3% avg · +4.7 pts
Masters
33%vs 25.4% avg · +7.6 pts

Among 1,446 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
73%vs 61.2% avg · +11.8 pts
Masters
48%vs 27% avg · +21 pts

Among 1,445 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

New Waverly JH is rated B by TEA, scoring 89 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 83.4 average for 1,490 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 401st of 1,490 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 56 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageNew Waverly JH 8477798889 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 82 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8983.4 1,490 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8883.8 1,460 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7981.8 1,436 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7782.4 1,421 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8484.5 1,401 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement89 B+5.4 vs similar economic context · 1,446 reporting
  • School Progress87 B+4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,443 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps90 A+9.3 vs similar economic context · 1,433 reporting
  • Academic Growth87 B+10.1 vs similar economic context · 1,417 reporting
  • Relative Performance87 B+7.6 vs similar economic context · 1,443 reporting
  • New Waverly JH
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,490 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement89B1
School Progress87B3
Closing the Gaps90A—
Academic Growth87B3
Relative Performance87B3

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 1 point below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (89), so School Progress (87) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 89.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level82%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,446 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,446 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,446 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,445 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,445 reporting
  • Masters grade level48%+21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,445 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,441 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,441 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,441 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,339 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%+17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,339 reporting
  • Masters grade level46%+19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,339 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 744 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 744 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 744 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,490 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
179
Economically disadvantaged
43.6%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
3.9%−7.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.5%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.4%+0.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
9.4%−3.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

New Waverly JH

African American: 9.5%Hispanic: 17.3%White: 63.1%American Indian: 0.6%Asian: 1.1%Two or More Races: 8.4%
  • African American 9.5%
  • Hispanic 17.3%
  • White 63.1%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Asian 1.1%
  • Two or More Races 8.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,490 reporting for every category shown · 1,490 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 37.6%White: 44.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 37.6%
  • White 44.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
179
Economically disadvantaged students
78
Emergent bilingual students
7
Special education students
26

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
21
Students in TEA mobility denominator
267
TEA-published mobility rate
7.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 179 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 74 (29.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
179

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−74

Decrease · −29.2%

Change since 2021–22
−60

Decrease · −25.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
179
Selected comparison
683.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,455 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for New Waverly JH
School yearStudents enrolledNew Waverly JHChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 239 First available year 682.4
2022–23 263 Increase of 24 (10.0%) 686.9
2023–24 258 Decrease of 5 (1.9%) 687.4
2024–25 253 Decrease of 5 (1.9%) 684.3
2025–26 179 Decrease of 74 (29.2%) 683.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
57

21.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
197

73.78 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
267

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
21.4%
Selected comparison
11.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,150 rated schools reporting

+10.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
73.78
Selected comparison
24.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,234 rated schools reporting

+49.7 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for New Waverly JH
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 274 47 17.1% 106 38.69 9.2% 17.5
2021–22 260 47 18.1% 170 65.38 11.3% 24
2022–23 274 51 18.6% 184 67.15 11.6% 25.2
2023–24 272 67 24.6% 345 126.84 11.5% 25.8
2024–25 267 57 21.4% 197 73.78 11.1% 24.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for New Waverly JH in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 57 21.4% 197 73.78 11.1% 24.1
In-school suspensions 51 19.1% 150 56.18 10.0% 18.5
Out-of-school suspensions 22 8.2% 35 13.11 5.4% 7.5
DAEP placements Suppressed — 12 4.49 — 4.9
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$20k$33k20182020202220242025
  • New Waverly JH
  • Parent district: New Waverly ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,981
Selected comparison
$12,013

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,461 rated schools reporting

−$3,032 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,981 per student for this campus, $21,539 per student for its parent district, New Waverly ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearNew Waverly JHParent district: New Waverly ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,193$11,810$13,054$7,798 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,340 rated schools reporting
2019$7,962$12,065$13,108$8,006 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,361 rated schools reporting
2020$7,789$12,234$14,058$8,429 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,369 rated schools reporting
2021$7,137$13,831$14,797$8,834 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,389 rated schools reporting
2022$9,451$16,512$15,708$10,200 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,402 rated schools reporting
2023$8,639$19,184$16,792$10,637 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,421 rated schools reporting
2024$8,305$31,644$18,125$11,680 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,437 rated schools reporting
2025$8,981$21,539$18,972$12,013 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,461 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,936−$1,279 vs similar economic context
Teachers
15−29.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.2−8.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

New Waverly JH

1 to 5 years: 39%6 to 10 years: 8.9%11 to 20 years: 39.7%21 to 30 years: 6.2%Over 30 years: 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 39%
  • 6 to 10 years 8.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 39.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.2%
  • Over 30 years 6.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,490 reporting for every category shown · 1,490 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.4%1 to 5 years: 23.7%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 30.4%21 to 30 years: 16.9%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • Beginning 5.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for New Waverly JH in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classNew Waverly JH · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 61818
Secondary English16.215.4
Secondary math14.916.5
Secondary science1917.9
Secondary social studies18.817.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 117 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

3 measures

  • 1of 12

    All Subjects — Masters

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 12

    Reading — Masters

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 1of 11

    Academic Growth

    Walker County · of the 11 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

13 measures

  • 2of 12

    Overall score

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Student Achievement

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    School Progress

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Closing the Gaps

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Relative Performance

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    All Subjects — Meets

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Reading — Approaches

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Reading — Meets

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 12

    Math — Approaches

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 2of 11

    Science — Meets

    Walker County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 2of 11

    Science — Masters

    Walker County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 3of 12

    Math — Meets

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

5 measures

  • 4of 12

    Attendance

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 4of 11

    Science — Approaches

    Walker County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 5of 12

    Math — Masters

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 5of 12

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

  • 6of 12

    Per-student spending

    Walker County · of the 12 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 236901042.