Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

New Caney Elem

Montgomery County · Region 06: Huntsville · 907 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
−17 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,405 of 2,285tied with 67 others
C75

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.4 average for 2,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
41%vs 35.7% avg · +5.3 pts
Masters
18%vs 14.5% avg · +3.5 pts

Among 1,963 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

New Caney Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.4 average for 2,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 17 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,405th of 2,285 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 67 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageNew Caney Elem 9268698075 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7577.4 2,285 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8077.1 2,272 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6974.2 2,256 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6874.6 2,242 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9281.8 2,221 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 2,118 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−1.6 vs similar economic context · 2,111 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−4.6 vs similar economic context · 2,096 reporting
  • Academic Growth74 C+1.8 vs similar economic context · 2,066 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 2,111 reporting
  • New Caney Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,285 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth74C6
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 3 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level68%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,118 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,118 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,118 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level71%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,117 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,117 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,117 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level64%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 reporting
  • Meets grade level40%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 reporting
  • Masters grade level14%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,107 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
  • Meets grade level41%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,285 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
907
Economically disadvantaged
83.8%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
41.8%+8.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.7%+4.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.1%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
23.7%+2.1 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

New Caney Elem

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 66.8%White: 19.4%American Indian: 0.6%Asian: 0.6%Two or More Races: 3.5%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 66.8%
  • White 19.4%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Asian 0.6%
  • Two or More Races 3.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,285 reporting for every category shown · 2,285 in full cohort

African American: 14.5%Hispanic: 71.4%White: 10%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.2%
  • African American 14.5%
  • Hispanic 71.4%
  • White 10%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
906
Economically disadvantaged students
759
Emergent bilingual students
379
Special education students
206

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
167
Students in TEA mobility denominator
677
TEA-published mobility rate
24.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 907 students in 2025–26, an increase of 120 (15.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
907

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+120

Increase · +15.2%

Change since 2021–22
+294

Increase · +48.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
907
Selected comparison
616.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,255 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for New Caney Elem
School yearStudents enrolledNew Caney ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 613 First available year 647.8
2022–23 642 Increase of 29 (4.7%) 646.9
2023–24 655 Increase of 13 (2.0%) 640
2024–25 787 Increase of 132 (20.2%) 636.8
2025–26 907 Increase of 120 (15.2%) 616.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
20

2.2% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
36

3.96 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
909

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
2.2%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,587 rated schools reporting

−11.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
3.96
Selected comparison
32

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,704 rated schools reporting

−28.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for New Caney Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 681 23 3.4% 56 8.22 7.9% 15.4
2021–22 666 25 3.8% 56 8.41 12.7% 30.4
2022–23 709 30 4.2% 46 6.49 13.7% 33.7
2023–24 754 30 4.0% 55 7.29 13.7% 33.8
2024–25 909 20 2.2% 36 3.96 13.3% 32
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for New Caney Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 20 2.2% 36 3.96 13.3% 32
In-school suspensions 17 1.9% 26 2.86 11.8% 23.2
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$21k$36k20182020202220242025
  • New Caney Elem
  • Parent district: New Caney ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$34,574
Selected comparison
$13,241

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting

+$21,333 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $34,574 per student for this campus, $22,200 per student for its parent district, New Caney ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearNew Caney ElemParent district: New Caney ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,067$16,038$13,054$8,255 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,159 rated schools reporting
2019$8,240$13,905$13,108$8,339 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,186 rated schools reporting
2020$8,460$14,714$14,058$8,850 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,197 rated schools reporting
2021$9,660$17,510$14,797$9,554 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,204 rated schools reporting
2022$10,474$17,148$15,708$11,023 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,221 rated schools reporting
2023$10,587$15,650$16,792$11,495 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,241 rated schools reporting
2024$13,721$19,075$18,125$12,438 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,255 rated schools reporting
2025$34,574$22,200$18,972$13,241 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,270 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$74,401+$6,875 vs similar economic context
Teachers
53+10.2 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
17.2+2.9 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

New Caney Elem

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 29.1%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 40.1%21 to 30 years: 1.9%Over 30 years: 1.9%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 29.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 40.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 1.9%
  • Over 30 years 1.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,285 reporting for every category shown · 2,285 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.1%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for New Caney Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classNew Caney Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.518
Grade 12118.4
Grade 22018.4
Grade 322.718.8
Grade 421.318.8
Grade 52319.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 126

    Per-student spending

    Montgomery County · of the 126 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 170908102.