Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Nancy Smith Elem

Shackelford County · Region 14: Abilene · 246 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
83/1002025-26
Change
+3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−1.0 ptsvs 84 average · 1,394 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
797 of 1,394tied with 51 others
B83

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 84 average for 1,394 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 51.3% avg · +3.7 pts
Masters
26%vs 21.9% avg · +4.1 pts

Among 1,349 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Nancy Smith Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 83 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 84 average for 1,394 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 797th of 1,394 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 51 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
13.5%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,394 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,394 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageNancy Smith Elem 8080797683 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8384.0 1,394 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7684.3 1,363 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7982.6 1,342 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8083.1 1,328 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8085.1 1,308 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement85 B+0.6 vs similar economic context · 1,355 reporting
  • School Progress82 B−0.3 vs similar economic context · 1,351 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C−2.4 vs similar economic context · 1,341 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+4.5 vs similar economic context · 1,327 reporting
  • Relative Performance79 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,351 reporting
  • Nancy Smith Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,394 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement85B5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance79C1

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (85), so School Progress (82) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 85.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level81%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,355 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,355 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,355 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,354 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,354 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,354 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level78%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,349 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,349 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,349 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,252 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,252 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,252 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,394 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
246
Economically disadvantaged
40.7%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.3%−6.1 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.5%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.4%+0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.2%−5.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Nancy Smith Elem

African American: 0.4%Hispanic: 21.5%White: 74.4%Asian: 1.2%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 0.4%
  • Hispanic 21.5%
  • White 74.4%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,394 reporting for every category shown · 1,394 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 35.8%White: 45.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 4.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.4%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 35.8%
  • White 45.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 4.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
246
Economically disadvantaged students
100
Emergent bilingual students
13
Special education students
48

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
17
Students in TEA mobility denominator
209
TEA-published mobility rate
8.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 246 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 12 (4.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
246

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−12

Decrease · −4.7%

Change since 2021–22
−22

Decrease · −8.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
246
Selected comparison
701.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,362 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Nancy Smith Elem
School yearStudents enrolledNancy Smith ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 268 First available year 700
2022–23 263 Decrease of 5 (1.9%) 707
2023–24 260 Decrease of 3 (1.1%) 708.1
2024–25 258 Decrease of 2 (0.8%) 704.9
2025–26 246 Decrease of 12 (4.7%) 701.3

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
275

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Nancy Smith Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 308 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 286 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 280 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 272 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 275 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Nancy Smith Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Nancy Smith Elem
  • Parent district: Albany ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,677
Selected comparison
$11,973

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,364 rated schools reporting

−$2,296 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,677 per student for this campus, $17,361 per student for its parent district, Albany ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearNancy Smith ElemParent district: Albany ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,302$11,984$13,054$7,811 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,247 rated schools reporting
2019$7,429$11,755$13,108$8,014 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,266 rated schools reporting
2020$8,303$11,349$14,058$8,386 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,274 rated schools reporting
2021$7,953$12,064$14,797$8,785 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,292 rated schools reporting
2022$9,026$13,368$15,708$10,117 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,309 rated schools reporting
2023$9,718$14,734$16,792$10,588 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,328 rated schools reporting
2024$10,441$16,712$18,125$11,680 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,343 rated schools reporting
2025$9,677$17,361$18,972$11,973 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,364 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$57,124−$10,282 vs similar economic context
Teachers
21−24.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.7−2.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Nancy Smith Elem

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 19%6 to 10 years: 23.8%11 to 20 years: 35.7%21 to 30 years: 14.3%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 19%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 35.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,394 reporting for every category shown · 1,394 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.3%1 to 5 years: 23.4%6 to 10 years: 19.5%11 to 20 years: 30.8%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • Beginning 5.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Nancy Smith Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classNancy Smith Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 121.518.6
Grade 219.518.8
Grade 310.419.5
Grade 411.719.3
Grade 514.720.7
Grade 615.818.1
Secondary math1316.6

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 209901101.