Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Moody Elem

McLennan County · Region 12: Waco · 298 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
81/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+0.6 ptsvs 80.4 average · 1,974 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
968 of 1,974tied with 76 others
B81

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 80 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 80.4 average for 1,974 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 49% avg · +6 pts
Masters
27%vs 20.1% avg · +6.9 pts

Among 1,883 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
52%vs 43.1% avg · +8.9 pts
Masters
21%vs 16.6% avg · +4.4 pts

Among 1,872 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Moody Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 81 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 80.4 average for 1,974 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 968th of 1,974 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 76 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Targeted Support and Improvement

Official support label: TSI

Identification reason: Special Education

TEA track year 0 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
25.5%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
2.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMoody Elem 8181788281 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 80 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8180.4 1,974 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8280.2 1,949 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7878.2 1,929 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8178.7 1,897 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8182.4 1,872 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement80 B+1.4 vs similar economic context · 1,883 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,876 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps73 C−4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,858 reporting
  • Academic Growth69 D−5.2 vs similar economic context · 1,820 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,876 reporting
  • Moody Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,974 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement80B10
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps73C7
Academic Growth69D1
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 6 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (80) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level76%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,883 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,880 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level69%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,974 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
298
Economically disadvantaged
62.1%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
8.4%−8.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.8%+1.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.0%+0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.3%−3.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Moody Elem

African American: 3.7%Hispanic: 35.2%White: 57%Asian: 0.3%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 3.7%
  • Hispanic 35.2%
  • White 57%
  • Asian 0.3%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting for every category shown · 1,974 in full cohort

African American: 10.7%Hispanic: 49.7%White: 33.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.7%
  • Hispanic 49.7%
  • White 33.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
298
Economically disadvantaged students
185
Emergent bilingual students
25
Special education students
62

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
26
Students in TEA mobility denominator
232
TEA-published mobility rate
11.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 298 students in 2025–26, an increase of 14 (4.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
298

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+14

Increase · +4.9%

Change since 2021–22
+60

Increase · +25.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
298
Selected comparison
623.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,937 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Moody Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMoody ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 238 First available year 635.6
2022–23 256 Increase of 18 (7.6%) 640.3
2023–24 266 Increase of 10 (3.9%) 637.2
2024–25 284 Increase of 18 (6.8%) 634.1
2025–26 298 Increase of 14 (4.9%) 623.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
305

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Moody Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 222 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 267 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 282 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 287 Suppressed — 15 5.23 — 31.1
2024–25 305 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Moody Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$19k$33k20182020202220242025
  • Moody Elem
  • Parent district: Moody ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,262
Selected comparison
$12,503

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,945 rated schools reporting

−$4,241 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,262 per student for this campus, $31,210 per student for its parent district, Moody ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMoody ElemParent district: Moody ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,913$12,961$13,054$7,919 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,801 rated schools reporting
2019$6,070$14,138$13,108$8,070 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,817 rated schools reporting
2020$7,227$13,396$14,058$8,675 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,839 rated schools reporting
2021$8,213$15,046$14,797$9,106 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 rated schools reporting
2022$8,143$15,804$15,708$10,455 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,873 rated schools reporting
2023$7,643$16,541$16,792$11,132 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,897 rated schools reporting
2024$7,695$19,416$18,125$11,963 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,925 rated schools reporting
2025$8,262$31,210$18,972$12,503 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,945 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,396−$2,969 vs similar economic context
Teachers
22−20.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.8−5.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Moody Elem

1 to 5 years: 27.8%6 to 10 years: 23.1%11 to 20 years: 39.8%21 to 30 years: 4.6%Over 30 years: 4.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 23.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 39.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.6%
  • Over 30 years 4.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,974 reporting for every category shown · 1,974 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 25.8%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.2%21 to 30 years: 16%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 16%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Moody Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMoody Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten17.418
Grade 118.318.2
Grade 218.618.4
Grade 317.718.6
Grade 415.719

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 161910101.