Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Moises Vela MS

Cameron County · Region 01: Edinburg · 747 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+5 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.3 ptsvs 79.7 average · 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
189 of 1,997tied with 79 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.7 average for 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 4 points

84 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 10.7 points above the 77.3 average among 1,888 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
60%vs 47.5% avg · +12.5 pts
Masters
30%vs 19.3% avg · +10.7 pts

Among 1,888 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 41.9% avg · +13.1 pts
Masters
24%vs 15.9% avg · +8.1 pts

Among 1,877 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Moises Vela MS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.7 average for 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 5 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 189th of 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 79 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMoises Vela MS 8686859091 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9179.7 1,997 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9079.4 1,975 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8577.5 1,960 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8678.1 1,929 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8682.1 1,908 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+10.7 vs similar economic context · 1,888 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+10.4 vs similar economic context · 1,881 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps91 A+14.1 vs similar economic context · 1,864 reporting
  • Academic Growth87 B+13.2 vs similar economic context · 1,822 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+12.0 vs similar economic context · 1,881 reporting
  • Moises Vela MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,997 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps91A—
Academic Growth87B3
Relative Performance91A—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (91), so Student Achievement (88) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 91.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level83%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
  • Meets grade level66%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
  • Masters grade level36%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level81%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
  • Masters grade level24%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level79%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Meets grade level52%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,997 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
747
Economically disadvantaged
65.9%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.8%−6.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
17.7%−1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.0%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.9%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Moises Vela MS

African American: 0.3%Hispanic: 93%White: 6.3%Asian: 0.1%Two or More Races: 0.3%
  • African American 0.3%
  • Hispanic 93%
  • White 6.3%
  • Asian 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 0.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 reporting for every category shown · 1,997 in full cohort

African American: 11.6%Hispanic: 52.8%White: 29.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.6%
  • Hispanic 52.8%
  • White 29.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
747
Economically disadvantaged students
492
Emergent bilingual students
88
Special education students
132

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
103
Students in TEA mobility denominator
820
TEA-published mobility rate
12.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 747 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 14 (1.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
747

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−14

Decrease · −1.8%

Change since 2021–22
−16

Decrease · −2.1%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
747
Selected comparison
627.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Moises Vela MS
School yearStudents enrolledMoises Vela MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 763 First available year 643.2
2022–23 742 Decrease of 21 (2.8%) 648.8
2023–24 744 Increase of 2 (0.3%) 647.3
2024–25 761 Increase of 17 (2.3%) 643.4
2025–26 747 Decrease of 14 (1.8%) 627.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
94

11.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
257

32.29 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
796

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
11.8%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 rated schools reporting

−1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
32.29
Selected comparison
30.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,649 rated schools reporting

+2.0 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Moises Vela MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 877 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 817 99 12.1% 213 26.07 12.9% 30.3
2022–23 794 113 14.2% 337 42.44 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 780 77 9.9% 244 31.28 13.2% 31.8
2024–25 796 94 11.8% 257 32.29 12.8% 30.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Moises Vela MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 94 11.8% 257 32.29 12.8% 30.3
In-school suspensions 68 8.5% 153 19.22 11.5% 23
Out-of-school suspensions 44 5.5% 70 8.79 7.2% 10.7
DAEP placements 27 3.4% 34 4.27 5.0% 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Moises Vela MS
  • Parent district: Harlingen CISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,294
Selected comparison
$12,736

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,973 rated schools reporting

−$1,442 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,294 per student for this campus, $15,557 per student for its parent district, Harlingen CISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMoises Vela MSParent district: Harlingen CISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,143$12,239$13,054$7,962 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,838 rated schools reporting
2019$8,316$11,687$13,108$8,115 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 rated schools reporting
2020$8,550$12,803$14,058$8,692 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 rated schools reporting
2021$8,329$13,641$14,797$9,162 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 rated schools reporting
2022$10,071$14,669$15,708$10,466 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,907 rated schools reporting
2023$10,705$15,587$16,792$11,189 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,930 rated schools reporting
2024$11,548$16,629$18,125$12,077 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,957 rated schools reporting
2025$11,294$15,557$18,972$12,736 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,973 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,319−$3,156 vs similar economic context
Teachers
57+14.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.1−0.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Moises Vela MS

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 31.5%6 to 10 years: 15.1%11 to 20 years: 33%21 to 30 years: 12.3%Over 30 years: 0.4%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 33%
  • 21 to 30 years 12.3%
  • Over 30 years 0.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 reporting for every category shown · 1,997 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.4%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.9%21 to 30 years: 15.8%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Moises Vela MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMoises Vela MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 619.917.8
Secondary English15.415.1
Secondary languages other than English20.717.6
Secondary math14.816
Secondary science15.717.4
Secondary social studies15.717.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 031903045.