Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Milano Elem

Milam County · Region 06: Huntsville · 197 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
−8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+3.6 ptsvs 82.4 average · 1,616 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
588 of 1,616tied with 68 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 96 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.4 average for 1,616 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 47.8% avg · +13.2 pts
Masters
26%vs 19.5% avg · +6.5 pts

Among 1,558 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

86 +3.6 pts vs 82.4

  • 86 is 3.6 points above the 82.4 average among 1,616 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

87 +7.3 pts vs 79.7

  • 87 is 7.3 points above the 79.7 average among 1,551 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Milano Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.4 average for 1,616 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 588th of 1,616 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 68 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMilano Elem 9488908986 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 96 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8682.4 1,616 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8982.8 1,589 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9080.7 1,562 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8881.3 1,544 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9483.7 1,523 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement86 B+3.7 vs similar economic context · 1,565 reporting
  • School Progress85 B+3.3 vs similar economic context · 1,560 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps87 B+7.3 vs similar economic context · 1,551 reporting
  • Academic Growth85 B+9.0 vs similar economic context · 1,534 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+3.8 vs similar economic context · 1,560 reporting
  • Milano Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,616 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement86B4
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps87B3
Academic Growth85B5
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 3 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (86), so School Progress (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 86.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,565 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,565 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,565 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level88%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,564 reporting
  • Meets grade level70%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,564 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,564 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,558 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,558 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,558 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,449 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,616 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
197
Economically disadvantaged
47.7%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.0%−10.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.8%−1.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.2%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
5.2%−8.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Milano Elem

African American: 2%Hispanic: 22.8%White: 71.1%American Indian: 1%Asian: 0.5%Pacific Islander: 0.5%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 2%
  • Hispanic 22.8%
  • White 71.1%
  • American Indian 1%
  • Asian 0.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting for every category shown · 1,616 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 39.5%White: 43.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 39.5%
  • White 43.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
197
Economically disadvantaged students
94
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
33

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
13
Students in TEA mobility denominator
135
TEA-published mobility rate
9.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 197 students in 2025–26, an increase of 10 (5.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
197

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+10

Increase · +5.3%

Change since 2021–22
+21

Increase · +11.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
197
Selected comparison
661

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,579 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Milano Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMilano ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 176 First available year 658.9
2022–23 181 Increase of 5 (2.8%) 664.3
2023–24 186 Increase of 5 (2.8%) 663.8
2024–25 187 Increase of 1 (0.5%) 660.5
2025–26 197 Increase of 10 (5.3%) 661

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
11

5.7% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
13

6.74 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
193

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
5.7%
Selected comparison
11.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,262 rated schools reporting

−6.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
6.74
Selected comparison
26.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,354 rated schools reporting

−19.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Milano Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 156 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 194 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 187 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 197 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 193 11 5.7% 13 6.74 11.9% 26.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Milano Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 11 5.7% 13 6.74 11.9% 26.3
In-school suspensions 11 5.7% 12 6.22 10.7% 20.2
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Milano Elem
  • Parent district: Milano ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$6,533
Selected comparison
$12,043

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,587 rated schools reporting

−$5,510 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $6,533 per student for this campus, $18,150 per student for its parent district, Milano ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMilano ElemParent district: Milano ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,633$13,104$13,054$7,819 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,464 rated schools reporting
2019$5,941$12,530$13,108$8,006 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,483 rated schools reporting
2020$7,435$14,657$14,058$8,494 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,495 rated schools reporting
2021$7,934$16,579$14,797$8,907 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,514 rated schools reporting
2022$6,720$17,860$15,708$10,207 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 rated schools reporting
2023$6,893$18,555$16,792$10,642 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,543 rated schools reporting
2024$7,258$18,614$18,125$11,615 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,561 rated schools reporting
2025$6,533$18,150$18,972$12,043 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,587 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,822−$5,185 vs similar economic context
Teachers
12−31.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.7−3.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Milano Elem

1 to 5 years: 32.2%6 to 10 years: 16.9%11 to 20 years: 42.4%Over 30 years: 8.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 32.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 16.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 42.4%
  • Over 30 years 8.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,616 reporting for every category shown · 1,616 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.5%1 to 5 years: 24.1%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 16.8%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 5.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Milano Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMilano Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten16.418
Grade 121.318.4
Grade 21718.6
Grade 314.519.1
Grade 417.819.1
Grade 522.320

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 14

    Academic Growth

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

11 measures

  • 2of 14

    Closing the Gaps

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 2of 14

    Reading — Approaches

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 14

    Reading — Meets

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 2of 14

    Math — Meets

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 2of 14

    Math — Masters

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 16

    Overall score

    Milam County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 16

    Attendance

    Milam County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 3of 16

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Milam County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    School Progress

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 3of 14

    All Subjects — Meets

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 14

    All Subjects — Masters

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

8 measures

  • 4of 14

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 4of 14

    Math — Approaches

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 5of 14

    Relative Performance

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure · tied with 2

  • 5of 14

    Reading — Masters

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 5of 14

    Science — Masters

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Student Achievement

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 6of 14

    Science — Approaches

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

  • 7of 14

    Science — Meets

    Milam County · of the 14 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 166903102.