Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Miami School

Roberts County · Region 16: Amarillo · 180 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
93/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.3 ptsvs 88.7 average · 875 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
146 of 875tied with 75 others
A93

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 93 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 88.7 average for 875 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 5 points

88 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 3.5 points above the 89.5 average among 859 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

93 +4.3 pts vs 88.7

  • 93 is 4.3 points above the 88.7 average among 875 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Closing the Gaps above the similar-context average

94 +7.8 pts vs 86.2

  • 94 is 7.8 points above the 86.2 average among 853 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Miami School is rated A by TEA, scoring 93 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 88.7 average for 875 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 146th of 875 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 75 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMiami School 9192789393 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 93 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9388.7 875 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9388.7 867 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7887.4 855 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23A9287.7 839 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9188.8 822 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement93 A+3.5 vs similar economic context · 859 reporting
  • School Progress84 B−1.2 vs similar economic context · 857 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps94 A+7.8 vs similar economic context · 853 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C−7.1 vs similar economic context · 846 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.0 vs similar economic context · 857 reporting
  • Miami School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (875 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement93A—
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps94A—
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance84B6

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (93), so School Progress (84) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 93.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level88%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
  • Meets grade level72%±0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 859 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 857 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 857 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 857 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level89%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Meets grade level58%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
  • Masters grade level28%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 789 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level92%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 409 reporting
  • Meets grade level60%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 409 reporting
  • Masters grade level20%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 409 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (875 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+9.9 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 229 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
100.0%+10.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 228 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+10.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 229 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 230 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
94.0%+4.7 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria94.0%89.3%+4.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 225 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course16.7%66.6%−49.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA16.7%47.5%−30.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%24.8%−24.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course94.4%38.4%+56.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification33.3%32.1%+1.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.5%−0.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%4.4%−4.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%7.5%−7.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%2.4%−2.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student5.6%6.4%−0.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces0.0%2.7%−2.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 227 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
180
Economically disadvantaged
24.6%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.2%−7.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.3%−4.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.6%+0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
9.2%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Miami School

Hispanic: 16.2%White: 79.3%American Indian: 1.7%Two or More Races: 2.8%
  • Hispanic 16.2%
  • White 79.3%
  • American Indian 1.7%
  • Two or More Races 2.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 875 reporting for every category shown · 875 in full cohort

African American: 8.4%Hispanic: 27.2%White: 48.6%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 10.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.1%
  • African American 8.4%
  • Hispanic 27.2%
  • White 48.6%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 10.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.1%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
179
Economically disadvantaged students
44
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
22

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
22
Students in TEA mobility denominator
174
TEA-published mobility rate
12.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 180 students in 2025–26, an increase of 3 (1.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
180

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+3

Increase · +1.7%

Change since 2021–22
−16

Decrease · −8.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
180
Selected comparison
844.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 871 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Miami School
School yearStudents enrolledMiami SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 196 First available year 859.9
2022–23 206 Increase of 10 (5.1%) 862.7
2023–24 198 Decrease of 8 (3.9%) 857.5
2024–25 177 Decrease of 21 (10.6%) 854
2025–26 180 Increase of 3 (1.7%) 844.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
16

8.16 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
196

2024–25

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
8.16
Selected comparison
15.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 723 rated schools reporting

−7.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Miami School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 212 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 216 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 212 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 212 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 196 Suppressed — 16 8.16 — 15.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Miami School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — 16 8.16 — 15.3
In-school suspensions Suppressed — 13 6.63 — 12.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$20k$34k20182020202220242025
  • Miami School
  • Parent district: Miami ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$18,035
Selected comparison
$11,035

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 866 rated schools reporting

+$7,000 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $18,035 per student for this campus, $28,413 per student for its parent district, Miami ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMiami SchoolParent district: Miami ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$11,850$32,046$13,054$7,496 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 774 rated schools reporting
2019$11,241$26,826$13,108$7,563 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 787 rated schools reporting
2020$16,069$30,037$14,058$7,894 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 798 rated schools reporting
2021$12,875$25,118$14,797$8,356 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 805 rated schools reporting
2022$15,634$24,707$15,708$9,361 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 821 rated schools reporting
2023$16,807$25,836$16,792$9,966 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 840 rated schools reporting
2024$16,665$26,094$18,125$10,989 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 854 rated schools reporting
2025$18,035$28,413$18,972$11,035 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 866 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,020−$4,547 vs similar economic context
Teachers
21−33.0 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
8.4−6.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Miami School

1 to 5 years: 13.6%6 to 10 years: 32.4%11 to 20 years: 41.3%21 to 30 years: 9.9%Over 30 years: 2.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 13.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 32.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 41.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 9.9%
  • Over 30 years 2.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 875 reporting for every category shown · 875 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.7%1 to 5 years: 22.5%6 to 10 years: 19.7%11 to 20 years: 32.4%21 to 30 years: 17.3%Over 30 years: 3.1%
  • Beginning 4.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Miami School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMiami School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1318.7
Grade 1919.1
Grade 21819.7
Grade 31520.7
Grade 41320.1
Grade 51721.8
Grade 68.819.3
Secondary English4.317.3
Secondary languages other than English6.219.6
Secondary math7.918
Secondary science9.219.7
Secondary social studies719.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 160 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 65

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Region 16: Amarillo · of the 65 that report this measure

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

1 measure

  • 339of 7,185

    Closing the Gaps

    Texas average · of the 7,185 that report this measure · tied with 136 · full ranking

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 197902001.