Recent domain gain
Academic Growth rose 3 points
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureIndependent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.
Traditional public school campus
Brown County · Region 15: San Angelo · 119 students
Official school websiteSchool information and family resources
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 89 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 85.3 average for 1,258 rated schools serving a similar economic context.The current score is below the 80.2 average for 124 rated schools in Region 15: San Angelo.The current score is below the 80.2 average for 18 rated schools in Brown County.The current score is below the 82.1 average for 516 similarly sized rated schools.The current score is below the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools.
Evidence worth noticing
Recent domain gain
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureTop placement
13.3% 3rd of 357 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26
See the full measureRecent domain gain
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 111 schools in Region 15: San Angelo reporting this measure.
See the full measureCurrent strength
15% −1.9 pts vs 16.9%
Recent domain gain
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureTop placement
32% 3rd of 10 schools in Brown County reporting this measure · 2025-26
See the full measureRecent domain gain
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 441 similarly sized schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureCurrent strength
15% −4.6 pts vs 19.6%
Recent domain gain
56 to 59 2024-25 to 2025-26
See the full measureSTAAR result
Among 6,717 Texas schools reporting this measure.
See the full measureCurrent strength
15% −1.7 pts vs 16.7%
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
May HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 85.3 average for 1,258 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 1,210th of 1,258 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 11 others).
May HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.2 average for 124 rated schools in Region 15: San Angelo. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 103rd of 124 rated schools in Region 15: San Angelo.
May HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.2 average for 18 rated schools in Brown County. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 17th of 18 rated schools in Brown County.
May HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 82.1 average for 516 similarly sized rated schools. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 445th of 516 similarly sized rated schools (tied with 4 others).
May HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 70 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.3 average for 7,646 rated Texas schools. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 6,471st of 7,646 rated Texas schools (tied with 76 others).
Put the numbers in context
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 89 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
| Year | Rating | Score | Selected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rate | StateTexas average |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025-26 | C | 70 | 85.3 1,258 reporting | 81.3 7,646 reporting |
| 2024-25 | C | 76 | 85.4 1,232 reporting | 81.2 7,554 reporting |
| 2023-24 | B | 86 | 83.8 1,215 reporting | 78.9 7,466 reporting |
| 2022-23 | B | 83 | 84.2 1,200 reporting | 79.1 7,377 reporting |
| 2021-22 | A | 91 | 86.0 1,183 reporting | 83.7 7,283 reporting |
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
| Domain | Score | Grade | Points to next grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| Student Achievement | 74 | C | 6 |
| School Progress | 64 | D | 6 |
| Closing the Gaps | 59 | F | 1 |
| Academic Growth | 59 | F | 1 |
| Relative Performance | 64 | D | 6 |
Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below D in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (74), so School Progress (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 74.
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.
| Criterion | This school% of graduates | Averagesimilar economic context | Differencepercentage points | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Total credit for CCMR criteria | 53.0% | 88.8% | −35.8 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course | 40.0% | 62.5% | −22.5 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA | 20.0% | 37.6% | −17.6 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s) | 0.0% | 15.9% | −15.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Earned college credit for a dual credit course | 13.3% | 36.9% | −23.6 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Earned an industry-based certification | 13.3% | 36.0% | −22.7 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Earned a level I or level II certificate | 0.0% | 1.0% | −1.0 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Earned an associate degree | 0.0% | 4.3% | −4.3 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit | 0.0% | 5.9% | −5.9 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness | 0.0% | 2.7% | −2.7 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student | 0.0% | 7.1% | −7.1 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
| Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces | 13.3% | 3.2% | +10.1 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 357 rated schools reporting |
Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
May HS
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,258 reporting for every category shown · 1,258 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 15: San Angelo · 124 reporting for every category shown · 124 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Brown County · 18 reporting for every category shown · 18 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 516 reporting for every category shown · 516 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 119 students in 2025–26, an increase of 5 (4.4%) from 2024–25.
2025–26
Increase · +4.4%
Decrease · −5.6%
| School year | Students enrolledMay HS | Change from previous school year | Average enrollmentselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2021–22 | 126 | First available year | 747.7 |
| 2022–23 | 134 | Increase of 8 (6.3%) | 748.3 |
| 2023–24 | 129 | Decrease of 5 (3.7%) | 749.1 |
| 2024–25 | 114 | Decrease of 15 (11.6%) | 744.7 |
| 2025–26 | 119 | Increase of 5 (4.4%) | 736.9 |
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Rate not available
8.33 per 100 students
2024–25
| School year | Cumulative enrollment | Studentsall discipline | Students% of enrollment | Actionsall discipline | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2020–21 | 146 | 15 | 10.3% | 24 | 16.44 | 8.5% | 15.9 |
| 2021–22 | 141 | 24 | 17.0% | 39 | 27.66 | 10.5% | 22.2 |
| 2022–23 | 142 | 19 | 13.4% | 36 | 25.35 | 10.9% | 23.4 |
| 2023–24 | 143 | 20 | 14.0% | 33 | 23.08 | 10.6% | 23.6 |
| 2024–25 | 120 | Suppressed | — | 10 | 8.33 | — | 22.1 |
| Category | Students | Students% of enrollment | Actions | Actionsper 100 students | Studentsselected comparison average % | Actionsselected comparison average per 100 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All discipline | Suppressed | — | 10 | 8.33 | — | 22.1 |
| In-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Out-of-school suspensions | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Mandatory DAEP placements | Suppressed | — | Suppressed | — | — | — |
| Discretionary DAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary JJAEP placements | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Mandatory expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
| Discretionary expulsions | Not reported | — | Not reported | — | — | — |
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
For 2025, TEA reported $13,671 per student for this campus, $19,362 per student for its parent district, May ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
| Year | May HS | Parent district: May ISD | Texas average | Selected comparison average | Reportingselected comparison |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2018 | $6,042 | $11,645 | $13,054 | $7,699 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,124 rated schools reporting |
| 2019 | $7,381 | $13,517 | $13,108 | $7,828 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,141 rated schools reporting |
| 2020 | $10,045 | $14,583 | $14,058 | $8,161 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,147 rated schools reporting |
| 2021 | $8,225 | $15,612 | $14,797 | $8,637 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,165 rated schools reporting |
| 2022 | $12,902 | $19,914 | $15,708 | $9,811 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,182 rated schools reporting |
| 2023 | $13,362 | $19,182 | $16,792 | $10,364 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,201 rated schools reporting |
| 2024 | $12,661 | $16,661 | $18,125 | $11,594 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,215 rated schools reporting |
| 2025 | $13,671 | $19,362 | $18,972 | $11,884 | average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,232 rated schools reporting |
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
May HS
Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,258 reporting for every category shown · 1,258 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Region 15: San Angelo · 124 reporting for every category shown · 124 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For Brown County · 18 reporting for every category shown · 18 in full cohort
Selected comparison average For similarly sized schools · 516 reporting for every category shown · 516 in full cohort
Statewide average 7,646 reporting for every category shown · 7,646 Texas schools in full cohort
| Grade or subject | Average students per classMay HS · 2024–25 | Average students per classselected comparison |
|---|---|---|
| Secondary English | 11.9 | 16.1 |
| Secondary languages other than English | 13.5 | 18.4 |
| Secondary math | 11.3 | 17.1 |
| Secondary science | 12.3 | 18.5 |
| Secondary social studies | 14.3 | 18.5 |
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
Out of 184 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
Second- and third-place results
3 measures
Per-student spending
Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 357 that report this measure
Social Studies — Masters
Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure
Fourth- through tenth-place results
9 measures
Social Studies — Approaches
Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure
Social Studies — Meets
Brown County · of the 10 that report this measure
Science — Approaches
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1
Science — Meets
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure
Science — Masters
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure
All Subjects — Approaches
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 2
All Subjects — Masters
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure · tied with 1
Attendance
Brown County · of the 18 that report this measure · tied with 1
Reading — Approaches
Brown County · of the 17 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Download the full dataset · this campus's district
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 025905001.