Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Mart Elem

McLennan County · Region 12: Waco · 338 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
78/1002025-26
Change
−4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−1.9 ptsvs 79.9 average · 1,999 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,181 of 1,999tied with 79 others
C78

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.9 average for 1,999 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

School Progress rose 2 points

82 to 84 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 84 is 3.2 points above the 80.8 average among 1,886 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
54%vs 48.1% avg · +5.9 pts
Masters
21%vs 19.6% avg · +1.4 pts

Among 1,894 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
55%vs 42.4% avg · +12.6 pts
Masters
23%vs 16.2% avg · +6.8 pts

Among 1,881 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Mart Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 78 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.9 average for 1,999 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,181st of 1,999 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 79 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMart Elem 8282768178 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7879.9 1,999 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8179.7 1,975 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7677.8 1,955 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8278.3 1,922 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8282.2 1,898 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement79 C+1.1 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • School Progress84 B+3.2 vs similar economic context · 1,886 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps65 D−12.2 vs similar economic context · 1,867 reporting
  • Academic Growth68 D−5.9 vs similar economic context · 1,829 reporting
  • Relative Performance84 B+4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,886 reporting
  • Mart Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,999 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement79C1
School Progress84B6
Closing the Gaps65D5
Academic Growth68D2
Relative Performance84B6

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 5 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (84), so Student Achievement (79) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 84.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level82%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Meets grade level54%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
  • Masters grade level22%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,890 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,881 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level76%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,734 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,734 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,734 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,999 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
338
Economically disadvantaged
64.2%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.1%−13.5 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.2%+3.3 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.7%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
8.0%−8.6 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Mart Elem

African American: 13.6%Hispanic: 20.7%White: 54.1%Two or More Races: 11.5%
  • African American 13.6%
  • Hispanic 20.7%
  • White 54.1%
  • Two or More Races 11.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 reporting for every category shown · 1,999 in full cohort

African American: 11.1%Hispanic: 51.3%White: 31.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.1%
  • Hispanic 51.3%
  • White 31.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
338
Economically disadvantaged students
217
Emergent bilingual students
14
Special education students
75

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
45
Students in TEA mobility denominator
289
TEA-published mobility rate
15.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 338 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 14 (4.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
338

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−14

Decrease · −4.0%

Change since 2021–22
+28

Increase · +9.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
338
Selected comparison
621.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,962 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Mart Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMart ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 310 First available year 636.6
2022–23 346 Increase of 36 (11.6%) 643.3
2023–24 362 Increase of 16 (4.6%) 639.9
2024–25 352 Decrease of 10 (2.8%) 635.1
2025–26 338 Decrease of 14 (4.0%) 621.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
38

9.8% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
78

20.16 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
387

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
9.8%
Selected comparison
12.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,535 rated schools reporting

−3.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
20.16
Selected comparison
30.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,653 rated schools reporting

−10.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Mart Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 340 21 6.2% 59 17.35 9.7% 19.4
2021–22 344 45 13.1% 76 22.09 12.8% 29.9
2022–23 388 38 9.8% 64 16.49 13.4% 32.1
2023–24 399 49 12.3% 105 26.32 13.1% 31.8
2024–25 387 38 9.8% 78 20.16 12.9% 30.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Mart Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 38 9.8% 78 20.16 12.9% 30.3
In-school suspensions 38 9.8% 76 19.64 11.6% 23.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$21k$36k20182020202220242025
  • Mart Elem
  • Parent district: Mart ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,403
Selected comparison
$12,661

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 rated schools reporting

−$3,258 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,403 per student for this campus, $29,856 per student for its parent district, Mart ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMart ElemParent district: Mart ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,936$12,694$13,054$7,917 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,828 rated schools reporting
2019$8,131$25,053$13,108$8,075 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,844 rated schools reporting
2020$8,435$29,853$14,058$8,660 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,866 rated schools reporting
2021$8,166$16,342$14,797$9,093 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,878 rated schools reporting
2022$9,866$34,701$15,708$10,413 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,899 rated schools reporting
2023$9,968$28,466$16,792$11,142 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting
2024$10,143$25,323$18,125$12,061 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,951 rated schools reporting
2025$9,403$29,856$18,972$12,661 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,971 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,506−$1,864 vs similar economic context
Teachers
27−15.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.8−1.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Mart Elem

1 to 5 years: 51.3%6 to 10 years: 15.1%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 3.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 51.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 3.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,999 reporting for every category shown · 1,999 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.2%1 to 5 years: 26.3%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28%21 to 30 years: 15.8%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 6.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Mart Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMart Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten13.718
Grade 114.718.2
Grade 215.318.4
Grade 311.718.6
Grade 413.319
Grade 51419.8
Grade 616.317.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 161908102.