Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Maplewood Elem

Travis County · Region 13: Austin · 426 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
94/1002025-26
Change
+7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.2 ptsvs 89.8 average · 757 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
86 of 757tied with 69 others
A94

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 88 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 89.8 average for 757 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent movement

Overall score rose 3 points

91 to 94 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 94 is 4.2 points above the 89.8 average among 757 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 7 points

86 to 93 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 93 is 5.7 points above the 87.3 average among 742 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
78%vs 71% avg · +7 pts
Masters
58%vs 40.3% avg · +17.7 pts

Among 747 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Maplewood Elem is rated A by TEA, scoring 94 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 89.8 average for 757 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 86th of 757 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 69 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageMaplewood Elem 8784859194 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 88 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9489.8 757 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9190.1 753 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8589.0 736 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8489.3 719 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8790.2 704 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement94 A+3.2 vs similar economic context · 747 reporting
  • School Progress92 A+5.9 vs similar economic context · 745 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps93 A+5.7 vs similar economic context · 742 reporting
  • Academic Growth92 A+8.1 vs similar economic context · 736 reporting
  • Relative Performance88 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 745 reporting
  • Maplewood Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (757 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement94A—
School Progress92A—
Closing the Gaps93A—
Academic Growth92A—
Relative Performance88B2

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (94), so School Progress (92) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 94.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level91%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
  • Meets grade level78%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
  • Masters grade level58%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level93%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
  • Meets grade level81%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
  • Masters grade level64%+22 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 745 reporting
  • Meets grade level77%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 745 reporting
  • Masters grade level53%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 745 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Masters grade level56%+15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 693 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (757 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
426
Economically disadvantaged
18.8%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.3%−4.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
15.7%−0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.3%−0.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.3%+4.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Maplewood Elem

African American: 4.9%Hispanic: 28.9%White: 52.8%American Indian: 0.5%Asian: 3.8%Two or More Races: 9.2%
  • African American 4.9%
  • Hispanic 28.9%
  • White 52.8%
  • American Indian 0.5%
  • Asian 3.8%
  • Two or More Races 9.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 757 reporting for every category shown · 757 in full cohort

African American: 7.4%Hispanic: 23.6%White: 48.1%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 14.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.4%
  • African American 7.4%
  • Hispanic 23.6%
  • White 48.1%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 14.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
426
Economically disadvantaged students
80
Emergent bilingual students
27
Special education students
67

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
29
Students in TEA mobility denominator
327
TEA-published mobility rate
8.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 426 students in 2025–26, an increase of 23 (5.7%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
426

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+23

Increase · +5.7%

Change since 2021–22
+31

Increase · +7.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
426
Selected comparison
875.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Maplewood Elem
School yearStudents enrolledMaplewood ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 395 First available year 893.5
2022–23 402 Increase of 7 (1.8%) 906.1
2023–24 408 Increase of 6 (1.5%) 896.5
2024–25 403 Decrease of 5 (1.2%) 885.9
2025–26 426 Increase of 23 (5.7%) 875.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
422

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Maplewood Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 412 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 431 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 424 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 424 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 422 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Maplewood Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$17k$28k20182020202220242025
  • Maplewood Elem
  • Parent district: Austin ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$11,050
Selected comparison
$10,994

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 rated schools reporting

+$56 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $11,050 per student for this campus, $26,839 per student for its parent district, Austin ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearMaplewood ElemParent district: Austin ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,544$13,757$13,054$7,378 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 658 rated schools reporting
2019$8,469$14,067$13,108$7,462 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 674 rated schools reporting
2020$8,667$16,747$14,058$7,755 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 686 rated schools reporting
2021$10,346$18,042$14,797$8,296 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 692 rated schools reporting
2022$11,974$18,220$15,708$9,489 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 704 rated schools reporting
2023$10,015$16,721$16,792$9,954 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 720 rated schools reporting
2024$10,795$19,064$18,125$10,808 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 736 rated schools reporting
2025$11,050$26,839$18,972$10,994 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,991−$1,071 vs similar economic context
Teachers
30−25.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.2−0.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Maplewood Elem

Beginning: 3.3%1 to 5 years: 30%6 to 10 years: 20%11 to 20 years: 23.3%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 6.7%
  • Beginning 3.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 30%
  • 6 to 10 years 20%
  • 11 to 20 years 23.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 6.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 757 reporting for every category shown · 757 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.4%1 to 5 years: 22.9%6 to 10 years: 19.9%11 to 20 years: 32.6%21 to 30 years: 17.2%Over 30 years: 2.8%
  • Beginning 4.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.2%
  • Over 30 years 2.8%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Maplewood Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classMaplewood Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 116.519.1
Grade 219.519.7
Grade 31921.4
Grade 42020.5
Grade 52022

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

4 measures

  • 6of 192

    All Subjects — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 6of 192

    Math — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 7of 192

    Relative Performance

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 3

  • 9of 192

    Reading — Masters

    Travis County · of the 192 that report this measure · tied with 2

Other top-5% rankings

High placements in larger reporting groups

6 measures

  • 21of 503

    Math — Meets

    Region 13: Austin · of the 503 that report this measure · tied with 8

  • 26of 491

    Academic Growth

    Region 13: Austin · of the 491 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 93of 3,629

    Science — Masters

    Similar size · of the 3,629 that report this measure · tied with 9

  • 177of 4,011

    Student Achievement

    Similar size · of the 4,011 that report this measure · tied with 80

  • 183of 4,256

    Overall score

    Similar size · of the 4,256 that report this measure · tied with 71

  • 184of 4,011

    All Subjects — Meets

    Similar size · of the 4,011 that report this measure · tied with 27

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 227901122.