Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Leggett Elem

Polk County · Region 06: Huntsville · 118 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
61/1002025-26
Change
−8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−17.9 ptsvs 78.9 average · 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,916 of 2,036tied with 10 others
D61

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 59 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 78.9 average for 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

7.7% −10.5 pts vs 18.2%

  • 7.7% is 10.5 percentage points lower than the 18.2% average among 1,967 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Attendance above the similar-context average

96.4% +2.6 pts vs 93.8%

  • 96.4% is 2.6 percentage points above the 93.8% average among 1,969 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Leggett Elem is rated D by TEA, scoring 61 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 78.9 average for 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,916th of 2,036 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 10 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLeggett Elem 6959856461 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 59 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26D6178.9 2,036 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6478.5 2,019 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8576.4 2,005 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5976.9 1,979 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6981.9 1,959 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement57 F−18.4 vs similar economic context · 1,902 reporting
  • School Progress60 D−20.0 vs similar economic context · 1,895 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps62 D−14.1 vs similar economic context · 1,883 reporting
  • Academic Growth60 D−13.1 vs similar economic context · 1,839 reporting
  • Relative Performance57 F−21.4 vs similar economic context · 1,895 reporting
  • Leggett Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,036 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement57F3
School Progress60D10
Closing the Gaps62D8
Academic Growth60D10
Relative Performance57F3

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 8 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (60), so Student Achievement (57) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 60.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,902 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,900 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Meets grade level20%−20 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
  • Masters grade level2%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,891 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level85%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,745 reporting
  • Meets grade level23%−19 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,745 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,745 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,036 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
118
Economically disadvantaged
71.9%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
1.8%−20.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.3%−6.5 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
96.4%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
7.7%−10.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Leggett Elem

African American: 9.6%Hispanic: 16.7%White: 71.1%Two or More Races: 2.6%
  • African American 9.6%
  • Hispanic 16.7%
  • White 71.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting for every category shown · 2,036 in full cohort

African American: 12.6%Hispanic: 58.8%White: 22.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.3%
  • African American 12.6%
  • Hispanic 58.8%
  • White 22.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
114
Economically disadvantaged students
82
Emergent bilingual students
2
Special education students
14

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
30
Students in TEA mobility denominator
109
TEA-published mobility rate
27.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 118 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 13 (9.9%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
118

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−13

Decrease · −9.9%

Change since 2021–22
−20

Decrease · −14.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
118
Selected comparison
636

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Leggett Elem
School yearStudents enrolledLeggett ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 138 First available year 651.8
2022–23 143 Increase of 5 (3.6%) 656.5
2023–24 116 Decrease of 27 (18.9%) 654.7
2024–25 131 Increase of 15 (12.9%) 652.6
2025–26 118 Decrease of 13 (9.9%) 636

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
10

6.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
14

9.66 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
145

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.9%
Selected comparison
13.1%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,547 rated schools reporting

−6.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
9.66
Selected comparison
31.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,659 rated schools reporting

−21.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Leggett Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 143 Suppressed — 10 6.99 — 18.7
2021–22 159 11 6.9% 25 15.72 12.9% 30.7
2022–23 125 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 131 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 145 10 6.9% 14 9.66 13.1% 31.2
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Leggett Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 10 6.9% 14 9.66 13.1% 31.2
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions 10 6.9% 13 8.97 7.5% 11.3
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$16k$26k20182020202220242025
  • Leggett Elem
  • Parent district: Leggett ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,128
Selected comparison
$13,126

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,018 rated schools reporting

−$4,998 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,128 per student for this campus, $17,046 per student for its parent district, Leggett ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLeggett ElemParent district: Leggett ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,208$12,009$13,054$8,042 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 rated schools reporting
2019$5,905$25,138$13,108$8,183 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,904 rated schools reporting
2020$5,644$17,093$14,058$8,735 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,924 rated schools reporting
2021$6,108$14,294$14,797$9,258 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,937 rated schools reporting
2022$6,013$15,126$15,708$10,538 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,960 rated schools reporting
2023$5,977$15,759$16,792$11,240 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,981 rated schools reporting
2024$8,656$18,547$18,125$12,371 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,004 rated schools reporting
2025$8,128$17,046$18,972$13,126 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,018 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$73,136+$6,639 vs similar economic context
Teachers
9−33.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
12.3−1.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Leggett Elem

1 to 5 years: 23.9%6 to 10 years: 29.3%21 to 30 years: 29.3%Over 30 years: 17.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 29.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 29.3%
  • Over 30 years 17.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,036 reporting for every category shown · 2,036 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.3%21 to 30 years: 15.3%Over 30 years: 3.9%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.3%
  • Over 30 years 3.9%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Leggett Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLeggett Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2117.9
Grade 11518.2
Grade 215.518.2
Grade 32418.6
Grade 416.218.8
Grade 51419.8
Grade 622.217.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 7 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 105 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 18

    Attendance

    Polk County · of the 18 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 4of 17

    Chronically absent (lowest is best)

    Polk County · of the 17 that report this measure

  • 7of 16

    Science — Approaches

    Polk County · of the 16 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 187906101.