Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Legacy HS

Wichita County · Region 09: Wichita Falls · 1,827 students

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
+17 ptssince 2024-25
Score vs similar economic context
−5.6 ptsvs 80.6 average · 1,949 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,397 of 1,949tied with 65 others
C75

At a glance

The available rating history is moving up. The current score is below the 80.6 average for 1,949 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
53%vs 47.6% avg · +5.4 pts
Masters
23%vs 21.6% avg · +1.4 pts

Among 1,707 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Legacy HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.6 average for 1,949 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 17 points since 2024-25.

Ranks 1,397th of 1,949 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 65 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 2 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026-27 school year

Public Education Grant transfer eligibility

Students assigned to this campus may request a transfer under the state's PEG program.

A request is not guaranteed. A receiving district may apply its enrollment rules, and transportation is not automatically provided.

Read the official PEG rules and list

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
25.0%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,949 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
2.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,949 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

2 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLegacy HS 5875 2024-252025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7580.6 1,949 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25F5880.4 1,926 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−6.9 vs similar economic context · 1,863 reporting
  • School Progress76 C−5.3 vs similar economic context · 1,856 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps71 C−6.8 vs similar economic context · 1,838 reporting
  • Academic Growth67 D−7.3 vs similar economic context · 1,800 reporting
  • Relative Performance76 C−3.6 vs similar economic context · 1,856 reporting
  • Legacy HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,949 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress76C4
Closing the Gaps71C9
Academic Growth67D3
Relative Performance76C4

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (76), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 76.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%+0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 reporting
  • Masters grade level12%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,863 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level66%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,860 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,860 reporting
  • Masters grade level7%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,860 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,852 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level90%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 reporting
  • Meets grade level53%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level84%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 940 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 940 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 940 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,949 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
0.0%−93.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 482 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
0.0%−93.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 478 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
0.0%−92.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 479 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.8%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 485 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
71.0%−17.0 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria71.0%88.0%−17.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 518 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course40.5%60.1%−19.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA19.1%28.2%−9.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)10.6%10.5%+0.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course14.6%33.6%−19.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification33.3%37.8%−4.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.6%−1.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%6.4%−6.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit1.7%3.5%−1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness3.7%3.2%+0.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student6.7%7.9%−1.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces2.3%3.4%−1.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 522 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
1,827
Economically disadvantaged
61.1%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
11.1%−5.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
16.2%−2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
91.2%−3.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
31.6%+15.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Legacy HS

African American: 18.1%Hispanic: 40.5%White: 34.1%American Indian: 0.7%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.1%
  • African American 18.1%
  • Hispanic 40.5%
  • White 34.1%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,949 reporting for every category shown · 1,949 in full cohort

African American: 10.5%Hispanic: 49.1%White: 33.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.3%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 10.5%
  • Hispanic 49.1%
  • White 33.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
1,826
Economically disadvantaged students
1,116
Emergent bilingual students
203
Special education students
296

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
385
Students in TEA mobility denominator
2,042
TEA-published mobility rate
18.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 1,827 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 30 (1.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
1,827

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−30

Decrease · −1.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
1,827
Selected comparison
621.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,914 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Legacy HS
School yearStudents enrolledLegacy HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2024–25 1,857 First available year 631.8
2025–26 1,827 Decrease of 30 (1.6%) 621.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
509

25.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
2,383

118.85 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
2,005

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
25.4%
Selected comparison
12.7%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,480 rated schools reporting

+12.7 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
118.85
Selected comparison
29

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,603 rated schools reporting

+89.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Legacy HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2024–25 2,005 509 25.4% 2,383 118.85 12.7% 29
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Legacy HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 509 25.4% 2,383 118.85 12.7% 29
In-school suspensions 381 19.0% 1,315 65.59 11.5% 22.4
Out-of-school suspensions 352 17.6% 818 40.80 6.8% 9.8
DAEP placements 199 9.9% 250 12.47 4.9% 5.8
Mandatory DAEP placements 182 9.1% 224 11.17 3.5% 4
Discretionary DAEP placements 24 1.2% 26 1.30 2.8% 3.2
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$8k$14k$20k2025
  • Legacy HS
  • Parent district: Wichita Falls ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,820
Selected comparison
$12,529

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting

−$3,709 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,820 per student for this campus, $16,256 per student for its parent district, Wichita Falls ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLegacy HSParent district: Wichita Falls ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2025$8,820$16,256$18,972$12,529 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,922 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$66,305−$70 vs similar economic context
Teachers
115+73.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.8−3.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Legacy HS

Beginning: 2.6%1 to 5 years: 23.9%6 to 10 years: 24.6%11 to 20 years: 21.4%21 to 30 years: 22.1%Over 30 years: 5.5%
  • Beginning 2.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.9%
  • 6 to 10 years 24.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 22.1%
  • Over 30 years 5.5%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,949 reporting for every category shown · 1,949 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.1%1 to 5 years: 25.6%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 28.4%21 to 30 years: 16.1%Over 30 years: 4.2%
  • Beginning 6.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 25.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 28.4%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.1%
  • Over 30 years 4.2%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Legacy HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLegacy HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English24.414.9
Secondary languages other than English24.817.3
Secondary math20.315.7
Secondary science19.517.2
Secondary social studies24.117.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 184 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 3of 37

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Region 09: Wichita Falls · of the 37 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

5 measures

  • 4of 11

    Social Studies — Approaches

    Wichita County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 4of 11

    Social Studies — Meets

    Wichita County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 4of 11

    Social Studies — Masters

    Wichita County · of the 11 that report this measure

  • 5of 37

    Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)

    Region 09: Wichita Falls · of the 37 that report this measure

  • 5of 30

    Science — Approaches

    Wichita County · of the 30 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 243905011.