Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Lago Vista HS

Travis County · Region 13: Austin · 648 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
74/1002025-26
Change
+2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−15.2 ptsvs 89.2 average · 831 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
817 of 831tied with 5 others
C74

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 85 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 89.2 average for 831 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

No academic result met this site’s published threshold for a selected positive signal against Similar economic-disadvantage rate.

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Lago Vista HS is rated C by TEA, scoring 74 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 89.2 average for 831 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 817th of 831 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 5 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageLago Vista HS 7275807974 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 85 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7489.2 831 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25C7989.1 825 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8087.9 810 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7588.4 794 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7289.3 780 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement78 C−12.0 vs similar economic context · 818 reporting
  • School Progress68 D−17.5 vs similar economic context · 816 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps65 D−21.7 vs similar economic context · 812 reporting
  • Academic Growth56 F−26.7 vs similar economic context · 805 reporting
  • Relative Performance68 D−11.7 vs similar economic context · 816 reporting
  • Lago Vista HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (831 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement78C2
School Progress68D2
Closing the Gaps65D5
Academic Growth56F4
Relative Performance68D2

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (78), so School Progress (68) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 78.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level80%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 818 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
  • Meets grade level29%−35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 816 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 reporting
  • Meets grade level67%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 reporting
  • Masters grade level30%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 752 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level94%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 381 reporting
  • Meets grade level73%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 381 reporting
  • Masters grade level43%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 381 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (831 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
94.3%+4.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 206 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
96.1%+6.7 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 205 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
96.2%+6.6 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 206 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.7%+0.4 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 207 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
73.0%−16.4 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria73.0%89.4%−16.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 201 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course44.7%67.5%−22.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA44.7%49.9%−5.2 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)21.1%27.0%−5.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course17.8%38.3%−20.5 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification27.6%31.5%−3.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.4%−0.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%3.7%−3.7 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit33.6%7.8%+25.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness2.6%2.3%+0.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student4.6%6.0%−1.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces3.3%2.7%+0.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
146

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
73

50.0% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
68

46.6% of graduates

Not trackable
5

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
146
Selected comparison
368.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
73
Selected comparison
179.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
50.0%
Selected comparison
50.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 rated schools reporting

−0.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
46.6%
Selected comparison
41.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 rated schools reporting

+5.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
3.4%
Selected comparison
8.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 171 rated schools reporting

−5.0 pts vs similar economic context

Most common named Texas public destinations

  1. AUSTIN COMMUNITY COLLEGE (012015)19
  2. BLINN COLLEGE DISTRICT (003549)6
  3. TEXAS A&M UNIVERSITY (003632)6

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
648
Economically disadvantaged
22.5%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.4%−3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
13.2%−3.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.5%−2.0 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.6%+9.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Lago Vista HS

African American: 0.5%Hispanic: 29%White: 62.8%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 5.4%
  • African American 0.5%
  • Hispanic 29%
  • White 62.8%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 5.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 831 reporting for every category shown · 831 in full cohort

African American: 8.1%Hispanic: 25.9%White: 48.5%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 11.8%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 5.2%
  • African American 8.1%
  • Hispanic 25.9%
  • White 48.5%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 11.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 5.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
645
Economically disadvantaged students
145
Emergent bilingual students
41
Special education students
85

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
76
Students in TEA mobility denominator
677
TEA-published mobility rate
11.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 648 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 2 (0.3%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
648

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−2

Decrease · −0.3%

Change since 2021–22
+23

Increase · +3.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
648
Selected comparison
863.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 826 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Lago Vista HS
School yearStudents enrolledLago Vista HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 625 First available year 880.6
2022–23 636 Increase of 11 (1.8%) 885.5
2023–24 676 Increase of 40 (6.3%) 879.8
2024–25 650 Decrease of 26 (3.8%) 873.2
2025–26 648 Decrease of 2 (0.3%) 863.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
43

6.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
88

13.00 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
677

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
6.3%
Selected comparison
7.5%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 592 rated schools reporting

−1.2 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
13
Selected comparison
14.6

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 673 rated schools reporting

−1.6 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Lago Vista HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 591 22 3.7% 34 5.75 5.6% 9.6
2021–22 670 59 8.8% 93 13.88 7.7% 15.2
2022–23 663 52 7.8% 88 13.27 8.0% 15.7
2023–24 704 51 7.2% 85 12.07 7.6% 15.2
2024–25 677 43 6.3% 88 13.00 7.5% 14.6
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Lago Vista HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 43 6.3% 88 13.00 7.5% 14.6
In-school suspensions 13 1.9% 18 2.66 6.8% 11.6
Out-of-school suspensions 32 4.7% 38 5.61 3.6% 4.8
DAEP placements 26 3.8% 32 4.73 2.6% 2.9
Mandatory DAEP placements 16 2.4% 17 2.51 2.2% 2.3
Discretionary DAEP placements 13 1.9% 15 2.22 1.3% 1.4
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$18k$30k20182020202220242025
  • Lago Vista HS
  • Parent district: Lago Vista ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,448
Selected comparison
$11,171

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 824 rated schools reporting

−$2,723 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,448 per student for this campus, $22,317 per student for its parent district, Lago Vista ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearLago Vista HSParent district: Lago Vista ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,823$13,075$13,054$7,487 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 732 rated schools reporting
2019$6,223$13,408$13,108$7,549 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 747 rated schools reporting
2020$6,583$13,024$14,058$7,869 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 757 rated schools reporting
2021$6,517$15,470$14,797$8,417 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 762 rated schools reporting
2022$20,635$28,815$15,708$9,466 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 779 rated schools reporting
2023$9,103$27,467$16,792$10,010 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 795 rated schools reporting
2024$7,693$26,424$18,125$11,069 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 810 rated schools reporting
2025$8,448$22,317$18,972$11,171 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 824 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,795−$2,975 vs similar economic context
Teachers
47−8.4 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.8−1.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Lago Vista HS

1 to 5 years: 18.1%6 to 10 years: 28.8%11 to 20 years: 29.6%21 to 30 years: 21.3%Over 30 years: 2.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 18.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 28.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 21.3%
  • Over 30 years 2.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 831 reporting for every category shown · 831 in full cohort

Beginning: 4.7%1 to 5 years: 22.6%6 to 10 years: 19.9%11 to 20 years: 32.5%21 to 30 years: 17.1%Over 30 years: 3%
  • Beginning 4.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 32.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 17.1%
  • Over 30 years 3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Lago Vista HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classLago Vista HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English19.517.7
Secondary languages other than English22.519.8
Secondary math17.318.3
Secondary science20.620.1
Secondary social studies24.120.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 200 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

1 measure

  • 2of 28

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Travis County · of the 28 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 6of 28

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Travis County · of the 28 that report this measure

  • 8of 28

    Earned an industry-based certification

    Travis County · of the 28 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 227912001.