Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Klein Road Elem

Comal County · Region 20: San Antonio · 475 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
±0 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−6.7 ptsvs 81.7 average · 1,741 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,319 of 1,741tied with 52 others
C75

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is flat; under the rules in force back then it scored 75 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.7 average for 1,741 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

78 +2.6 pts vs 75.4

  • 78 is 2.6 points above the 75.4 average among 1,634 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

12.9% −1.8 pts vs 14.7%

  • 12.9% is 1.8 percentage points lower than the 14.7% average among 1,689 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Klein Road Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.7 average for 1,741 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is unchanged since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,319th of 1,741 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 52 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageKlein Road Elem 7573738175 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 75 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7581.7 1,741 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8181.9 1,717 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7379.8 1,693 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7380.5 1,669 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7583.2 1,648 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement72 C−9.2 vs similar economic context · 1,677 reporting
  • School Progress78 C−3.4 vs similar economic context · 1,671 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps68 D−11.0 vs similar economic context · 1,656 reporting
  • Academic Growth78 C+2.6 vs similar economic context · 1,634 reporting
  • Relative Performance63 D−16.3 vs similar economic context · 1,671 reporting
  • Klein Road Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,741 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement72C8
School Progress78C2
Closing the Gaps68D2
Academic Growth78C2
Relative Performance63D7

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (78), so Student Achievement (72) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 78.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level66%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,677 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,677 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,677 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level75%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
  • Meets grade level55%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,675 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,669 reporting
  • Meets grade level37%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,669 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,669 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level51%−27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−23 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,549 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,741 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
475
Economically disadvantaged
51.7%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
4.4%−9.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
22.5%+3.7 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.8%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.9%−1.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Klein Road Elem

African American: 1.5%Hispanic: 54.7%White: 37.9%Asian: 0.8%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 1.5%
  • Hispanic 54.7%
  • White 37.9%
  • Asian 0.8%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,741 reporting for every category shown · 1,741 in full cohort

African American: 9.6%Hispanic: 41.9%White: 40.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.6%
  • Hispanic 41.9%
  • White 40.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
472
Economically disadvantaged students
244
Emergent bilingual students
21
Special education students
106

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
69
Students in TEA mobility denominator
707
TEA-published mobility rate
9.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 475 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 298 (38.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
475

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−298

Decrease · −38.6%

Change since 2021–22
−239

Decrease · −33.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
475
Selected comparison
645.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,698 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Klein Road Elem
School yearStudents enrolledKlein Road ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 714 First available year 647.8
2022–23 697 Decrease of 17 (2.4%) 653
2023–24 757 Increase of 60 (8.6%) 653
2024–25 773 Increase of 16 (2.1%) 649.2
2025–26 475 Decrease of 298 (38.6%) 645.4

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
16

1.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
19

2.30 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
826

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
1.9%
Selected comparison
12.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,350 rated schools reporting

−10.3 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
2.3
Selected comparison
27.4

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,453 rated schools reporting

−25.1 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Klein Road Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 681 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 754 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 743 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 811 23 2.8% 27 3.33 12.6% 29.1
2024–25 826 16 1.9% 19 2.30 12.2% 27.4
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Klein Road Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 16 1.9% 19 2.30 12.2% 27.4
In-school suspensions 12 1.4% 13 1.57 11.0% 21.1
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$20k$34k20182020202220242025
  • Klein Road Elem
  • Parent district: New Braunfels ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$7,881
Selected comparison
$12,172

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,715 rated schools reporting

−$4,291 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $7,881 per student for this campus, $32,014 per student for its parent district, New Braunfels ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearKlein Road ElemParent district: New Braunfels ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,090$11,153$13,054$7,851 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,594 rated schools reporting
2019$6,523$11,511$13,108$8,042 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,610 rated schools reporting
2020$6,149$13,717$14,058$8,572 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,624 rated schools reporting
2021$6,744$14,048$14,797$8,977 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,640 rated schools reporting
2022$6,707$13,042$15,708$10,271 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,650 rated schools reporting
2023$6,810$14,839$16,792$10,740 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,668 rated schools reporting
2024$7,370$28,201$18,125$11,660 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,691 rated schools reporting
2025$7,881$32,014$18,972$12,172 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,715 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$65,736−$1,024 vs similar economic context
Teachers
34−8.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.1−5.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Klein Road Elem

Beginning: 5.7%1 to 5 years: 23.8%6 to 10 years: 26.8%11 to 20 years: 35.7%21 to 30 years: 8%
  • Beginning 5.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 26.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 35.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,741 reporting for every category shown · 1,741 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.7%1 to 5 years: 24.7%6 to 10 years: 19.2%11 to 20 years: 29.2%21 to 30 years: 16.6%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.6%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Klein Road Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classKlein Road Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2318
Grade 121.718.3
Grade 220.318.5
Grade 323.418.9
Grade 423.819
Grade 52519.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 046901109.