Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Josefa L Sambrano Elem

El Paso County · Region 19: El Paso · 484 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
71/1002025-26
Change
−7 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−6.6 ptsvs 77.6 average · 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,713 of 2,339tied with 28 others
C71

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.6 average for 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Josefa L Sambrano Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 71 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.6 average for 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 7 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,713th of 2,339 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 28 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Who this school serves
  5. Student counts behind the percentages
  6. Enrollment over time
  7. Discipline and removal from class
  8. Spending per student
  9. Teachers and actual class size
  10. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJosefa L Sambrano Elem 7869666971 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7177.6 2,339 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6977.2 2,320 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24D6674.0 2,301 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6973.6 2,291 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7881.8 2,264 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement—Not reported · similar economic context 70.5 · 2,164 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 78.8 · 2,159 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 75 · 2,143 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73 · 2,123 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 76.9 · 2,158 reporting
  • Josefa L Sambrano Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,339 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement—Not rated—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
484
Economically disadvantaged
90.3%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
62.0%+22.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
20.2%+2.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%+0.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
24.2%+1.3 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Josefa L Sambrano Elem

Hispanic: 99%White: 0.6%American Indian: 0.2%Two or More Races: 0.2%
  • Hispanic 99%
  • White 0.6%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 0.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,339 reporting for every category shown · 2,339 in full cohort

African American: 14.7%Hispanic: 75.7%White: 6.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.3%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.7%
  • African American 14.7%
  • Hispanic 75.7%
  • White 6.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.3%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
484
Economically disadvantaged students
437
Emergent bilingual students
300
Special education students
98

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
58
Students in TEA mobility denominator
425
TEA-published mobility rate
13.6%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 484 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 70 (12.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
484

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−70

Decrease · −12.6%

Change since 2021–22
−105

Decrease · −17.8%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
484
Selected comparison
578.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,316 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Josefa L Sambrano Elem
School yearStudents enrolledJosefa L Sambrano ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 589 First available year 623
2022–23 633 Increase of 44 (7.5%) 619.4
2023–24 603 Decrease of 30 (4.7%) 609.6
2024–25 554 Decrease of 49 (8.1%) 603
2025–26 484 Decrease of 70 (12.6%) 578.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
607

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Josefa L Sambrano Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 646 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 650 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 690 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 661 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2024–25 607 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Josefa L Sambrano Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Josefa L Sambrano Elem
  • Parent district: San Elizario ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,723
Selected comparison
$13,166

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting

−$3,443 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,723 per student for this campus, $15,903 per student for its parent district, San Elizario ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJosefa L Sambrano ElemParent district: San Elizario ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$8,179$13,420$13,054$8,301 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,205 rated schools reporting
2019$9,366$12,669$13,108$8,319 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,235 rated schools reporting
2020$9,934$12,834$14,058$8,828 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting
2021$8,519$13,163$14,797$9,637 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,246 rated schools reporting
2022$9,508$14,690$15,708$11,159 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,264 rated schools reporting
2023$10,028$16,209$16,792$11,689 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,290 rated schools reporting
2024$10,071$17,584$18,125$12,562 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,304 rated schools reporting
2025$9,723$15,903$18,972$13,166 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$84,641+$16,509 vs similar economic context
Teachers
23−17.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
20.9+6.3 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Josefa L Sambrano Elem

1 to 5 years: 17.7%6 to 10 years: 21.6%11 to 20 years: 42.7%21 to 30 years: 14.2%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • 1 to 5 years 17.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 42.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.2%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,339 reporting for every category shown · 2,339 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.5%1 to 5 years: 27.1%6 to 10 years: 18.8%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.4%
  • Beginning 7.5%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.1%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Josefa L Sambrano Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJosefa L Sambrano Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten19.718.1
Grade 123.318.3
Grade 222.718.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 3 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 071904103.