Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Jones Elem

Nueces County · Region 02: Corpus Christi · 495 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
86/1002025-26
Change
+4 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+4.4 ptsvs 81.6 average · 1,747 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
573 of 1,747tied with 82 others
B86

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 84 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 81.6 average for 1,747 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Student Achievement rose 5 points

83 to 88 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 88 is 7 points above the 81 average among 1,686 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
59%vs 52.3% avg · +6.7 pts
Masters
31%vs 22.4% avg · +8.6 pts

Among 1,686 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
56%vs 45.9% avg · +10.1 pts
Masters
27%vs 18.5% avg · +8.5 pts

Among 1,678 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Jones Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 86 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 81.6 average for 1,747 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 4 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 573rd of 1,747 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJones Elem 8280818886 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 84 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8681.6 1,747 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8881.7 1,722 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8179.7 1,697 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8080.4 1,671 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8283.1 1,651 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement88 B+7.0 vs similar economic context · 1,686 reporting
  • School Progress85 B+3.6 vs similar economic context · 1,680 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps81 B+2.1 vs similar economic context · 1,666 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+0.7 vs similar economic context · 1,642 reporting
  • Relative Performance85 B+5.8 vs similar economic context · 1,680 reporting
  • Jones Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,747 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement88B2
School Progress85B5
Closing the Gaps81B9
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance85B5

Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 2 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (88), so School Progress (85) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 88.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level85%+8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,686 reporting
  • Meets grade level59%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,686 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,686 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,684 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Meets grade level56%+10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
  • Masters grade level27%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,678 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,747 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
495
Economically disadvantaged
52.4%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
2.8%−10.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.0%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.7%+0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.2%−2.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Jones Elem

African American: 2.8%Hispanic: 80.2%White: 12.8%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 2.4%
  • African American 2.8%
  • Hispanic 80.2%
  • White 12.8%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 2.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,747 reporting for every category shown · 1,747 in full cohort

African American: 9.8%Hispanic: 42.2%White: 40.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.9%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.2%
  • African American 9.8%
  • Hispanic 42.2%
  • White 40.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
494
Economically disadvantaged students
259
Emergent bilingual students
14
Special education students
94

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
44
Students in TEA mobility denominator
407
TEA-published mobility rate
10.8%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 495 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 25 (4.8%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
495

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−25

Decrease · −4.8%

Change since 2021–22
−1

Decrease · −0.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
495
Selected comparison
642.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Jones Elem
School yearStudents enrolledJones ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 496 First available year 644
2022–23 553 Increase of 57 (11.5%) 650.2
2023–24 543 Decrease of 10 (1.8%) 650.3
2024–25 520 Decrease of 23 (4.2%) 646.2
2025–26 495 Decrease of 25 (4.8%) 642.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
22

4.1% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
29

5.37 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
540

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
4.1%
Selected comparison
12.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,360 rated schools reporting

−8.1 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
5.37
Selected comparison
27.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,463 rated schools reporting

−21.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Jones Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 587 Suppressed — 10 1.70 — 19
2021–22 539 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 591 27 4.6% 42 7.11 12.7% 29.1
2023–24 575 16 2.8% 19 3.30 12.6% 29.3
2024–25 540 22 4.1% 29 5.37 12.2% 27.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Jones Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 22 4.1% 29 5.37 12.2% 27.3
In-school suspensions 13 2.4% 13 2.41 11.0% 21
Out-of-school suspensions 11 2.0% 14 2.59 6.2% 8.9
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Jones Elem
  • Parent district: Corpus Christi ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,146
Selected comparison
$12,090

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,719 rated schools reporting

−$3,944 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,146 per student for this campus, $17,521 per student for its parent district, Corpus Christi ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJones ElemParent district: Corpus Christi ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,319$12,440$13,054$7,866 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,596 rated schools reporting
2019$6,798$13,333$13,108$8,053 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,612 rated schools reporting
2020$7,410$12,530$14,058$8,591 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,626 rated schools reporting
2021$7,591$13,918$14,797$8,988 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,643 rated schools reporting
2022$7,276$13,018$15,708$10,271 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,653 rated schools reporting
2023$7,666$16,350$16,792$10,764 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,670 rated schools reporting
2024$8,492$17,648$18,125$11,668 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,694 rated schools reporting
2025$8,146$17,521$18,972$12,090 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,719 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,840−$4,818 vs similar economic context
Teachers
31−10.9 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
15.8−3.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Jones Elem

Beginning: 3.2%1 to 5 years: 30.3%6 to 10 years: 28.3%11 to 20 years: 25.5%21 to 30 years: 11.1%Over 30 years: 1.6%
  • Beginning 3.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 30.3%
  • 6 to 10 years 28.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 25.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 11.1%
  • Over 30 years 1.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,747 reporting for every category shown · 1,747 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.8%1 to 5 years: 24.8%6 to 10 years: 19.3%11 to 20 years: 29%21 to 30 years: 16.5%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 5.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 24.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 29%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.5%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Jones Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJones Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1818
Grade 120.318.3
Grade 218.118.5
Grade 317.518.9
Grade 422.319
Grade 522.820

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 178904151.