Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 367 students

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
+8 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.8 ptsvs 77.8 average · 1,770 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,024 of 1,770tied with 54 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 69 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.8 average for 1,770 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 11 points

68 to 79 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 79 is 3.9 points above the 75.1 average among 1,632 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

76 +2.6 pts vs 73.4

  • 76 is 2.6 points above the 73.4 average among 1,619 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.8 average for 1,770 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 8 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,024th of 1,770 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 54 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJohn F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy 6952596977 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 69 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7777.8 1,770 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6977.5 1,753 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5974.0 1,737 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23F5273.3 1,733 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22D6982.0 1,712 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement58 F−12.3 vs similar economic context · 1,644 reporting
  • School Progress76 C−2.9 vs similar economic context · 1,641 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps79 C+3.9 vs similar economic context · 1,632 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+2.6 vs similar economic context · 1,619 reporting
  • Relative Performance63 D−13.9 vs similar economic context · 1,640 reporting
  • John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,770 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement58F2
School Progress76C4
Closing the Gaps79C1
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance63D7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 1 point below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (76), so Student Achievement (58) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 76.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level59%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level59%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,644 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,641 reporting
  • Meets grade level31%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,641 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,641 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level50%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,552 reporting
  • Meets grade level18%−16 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,552 reporting
  • Masters grade level8%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,552 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,770 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
367
Economically disadvantaged
95.4%+3.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
21.8%−20.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.5%+4.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.8%+0.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
22.4%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy

Hispanic: 98.9%White: 1.1%
  • Hispanic 98.9%
  • White 1.1%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 reporting for every category shown · 1,770 in full cohort

African American: 14.9%Hispanic: 77.3%White: 4.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.2%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.4%
  • African American 14.9%
  • Hispanic 77.3%
  • White 4.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
367
Economically disadvantaged students
350
Emergent bilingual students
80
Special education students
79

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
48
Students in TEA mobility denominator
345
TEA-published mobility rate
13.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 367 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 16 (4.2%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
367

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−16

Decrease · −4.2%

Change since 2021–22
+18

Increase · +5.2%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
367
Selected comparison
560.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,752 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy
School yearStudents enrolledJohn F Kennedy Fine Arts AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 349 First available year 608
2022–23 381 Increase of 32 (9.2%) 604.1
2023–24 363 Decrease of 18 (4.7%) 594.2
2024–25 383 Increase of 20 (5.5%) 587.2
2025–26 367 Decrease of 16 (4.2%) 560.1

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
407

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 439 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 402 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 412 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 383 Suppressed — 16 4.18 — 33.1
2024–25 407 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$14k$21k20182020202220242025
  • John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy
  • Parent district: Edcouch-Elsa ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$12,012
Selected comparison
$13,299

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,752 rated schools reporting

−$1,287 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $12,012 per student for this campus, $17,418 per student for its parent district, Edcouch-Elsa ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJohn F Kennedy Fine Arts AcademyParent district: Edcouch-Elsa ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,678$13,122$13,054$8,369 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,669 rated schools reporting
2019$7,677$13,835$13,108$8,376 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,692 rated schools reporting
2020$7,284$13,012$14,058$8,871 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,695 rated schools reporting
2021$8,734$14,766$14,797$9,722 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,697 rated schools reporting
2022$9,805$14,353$15,708$11,203 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,713 rated schools reporting
2023$11,784$20,090$16,792$11,875 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,733 rated schools reporting
2024$10,353$16,090$18,125$12,750 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,741 rated schools reporting
2025$12,012$17,418$18,972$13,299 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,752 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,826−$3,714 vs similar economic context
Teachers
26−13.3 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14−0.7 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy

1 to 5 years: 31.8%6 to 10 years: 15.3%11 to 20 years: 30.3%21 to 30 years: 18.8%Over 30 years: 3.8%
  • 1 to 5 years 31.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.3%
  • 11 to 20 years 30.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 18.8%
  • Over 30 years 3.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,770 reporting for every category shown · 1,770 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.7%1 to 5 years: 27%6 to 10 years: 18.6%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 14.9%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27%
  • 6 to 10 years 18.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.9%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for John F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJohn F Kennedy Fine Arts Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten23.118.1
Grade 12218.3
Grade 216.718.3
Grade 321.418.4
Grade 422.218.3
Grade 524.619

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108903103.