Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Jefferson Elem

Bell County · Region 12: Waco · 499 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
77/1002025-26
Change
−2 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−0.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,251 of 2,273tied with 70 others
C77

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 78 in 2021-22. The current score is level with the 77.4 average for 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Recent domain gain

Closing the Gaps rose 22 points

56 to 78 2024-25 to 2025-26

  • 78 is 3.4 points above the 74.6 average among 2,084 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
43%vs 37.9% avg · +5.1 pts
Masters
17%vs 14.2% avg · +2.8 pts

Among 2,095 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Jefferson Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 77 out of 100 for 2025-26 — level with the 77.4 average for 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 2 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,251st of 2,273 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 70 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Progress

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 2 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
35.9%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
7.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJefferson Elem 7976736077 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated C with 78 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7777.4 2,273 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25D6077.1 2,259 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24C7374.3 2,243 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23C7674.7 2,229 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22C7981.7 2,208 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C−0.4 vs similar economic context · 2,106 reporting
  • School Progress77 C−1.6 vs similar economic context · 2,099 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps78 C+3.4 vs similar economic context · 2,084 reporting
  • Academic Growth71 C−1.2 vs similar economic context · 2,052 reporting
  • Relative Performance77 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 2,099 reporting
  • Jefferson Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,273 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress77C3
Closing the Gaps78C2
Academic Growth71C9
Relative Performance77C3

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (77), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 77.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level66%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,106 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
  • Meets grade level49%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
  • Masters grade level19%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,105 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
  • Meets grade level43%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
  • Masters grade level17%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,095 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level48%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
  • Meets grade level28%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
  • Masters grade level5%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,944 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,273 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
499
Economically disadvantaged
83.3%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
5.2%−27.6 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
24.1%+5.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.0%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
21.4%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Jefferson Elem

African American: 20.7%Hispanic: 48.7%White: 23.3%American Indian: 0.6%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 6.4%
  • African American 20.7%
  • Hispanic 48.7%
  • White 23.3%
  • American Indian 0.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 6.4%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 reporting for every category shown · 2,273 in full cohort

African American: 14.4%Hispanic: 71%White: 10.4%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.5%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2.3%
  • African American 14.4%
  • Hispanic 71%
  • White 10.4%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.5%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
497
Economically disadvantaged students
414
Emergent bilingual students
26
Special education students
120

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
110
Students in TEA mobility denominator
489
TEA-published mobility rate
22.5%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 499 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 5 (1.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
499

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−5

Decrease · −1.0%

Change since 2021–22
−14

Decrease · −2.7%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
499
Selected comparison
616.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Jefferson Elem
School yearStudents enrolledJefferson ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 513 First available year 647.8
2022–23 491 Decrease of 22 (4.3%) 647.6
2023–24 492 Increase of 1 (0.2%) 640.5
2024–25 504 Increase of 12 (2.4%) 637.2
2025–26 499 Decrease of 5 (1.0%) 616.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
71

12.5% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
191

33.63 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
568

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
12.5%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,590 rated schools reporting

−0.8 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
33.63
Selected comparison
32.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,707 rated schools reporting

+1.5 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Jefferson Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 578 33 5.7% 101 17.47 8.0% 15.6
2021–22 592 26 4.4% 40 6.76 12.8% 30.7
2022–23 544 24 4.4% 41 7.54 13.7% 33.9
2023–24 529 13 2.5% 23 4.35 13.7% 33.9
2024–25 568 71 12.5% 191 33.63 13.3% 32.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Jefferson Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 71 12.5% 191 33.63 13.3% 32.1
In-school suspensions 63 11.1% 149 26.23 11.7% 23.3
Out-of-school suspensions 28 4.9% 36 6.34 8.5% 13.4
DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$15k$24k20182020202220242025
  • Jefferson Elem
  • Parent district: Temple ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,512
Selected comparison
$13,184

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,257 rated schools reporting

−$4,672 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,512 per student for this campus, $22,411 per student for its parent district, Temple ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJefferson ElemParent district: Temple ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$6,987$16,242$13,054$8,251 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,143 rated schools reporting
2019$6,887$15,314$13,108$8,343 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,171 rated schools reporting
2020$7,002$15,736$14,058$8,858 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,183 rated schools reporting
2021$8,268$15,164$14,797$9,544 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,190 rated schools reporting
2022$8,937$14,536$15,708$11,036 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,208 rated schools reporting
2023$9,589$17,713$16,792$11,496 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 rated schools reporting
2024$9,567$20,910$18,125$12,412 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,242 rated schools reporting
2025$8,512$22,411$18,972$13,184 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,257 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$61,640−$5,802 vs similar economic context
Teachers
38−4.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
13.2−1.1 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Jefferson Elem

Beginning: 2.7%1 to 5 years: 39.8%6 to 10 years: 15.9%11 to 20 years: 21.2%21 to 30 years: 12.5%Over 30 years: 8%
  • Beginning 2.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 39.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 15.9%
  • 11 to 20 years 21.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 12.5%
  • Over 30 years 8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,273 reporting for every category shown · 2,273 in full cohort

Beginning: 7%1 to 5 years: 27.5%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.2%21 to 30 years: 15%Over 30 years: 3.6%
  • Beginning 7%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 15%
  • Over 30 years 3.6%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Jefferson Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJefferson Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2218
Grade 11918.4
Grade 217.818.4
Grade 322.718.8
Grade 419.918.8
Grade 520.619.9

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 014909107.