Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Jean Massieu Academy

Jean Massieu Academy · Arlington · 172 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
69/1002025-26
Change
−11 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−11.5 ptsvs 80.5 average · 425 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
351 of 425tied with 16 others
D69

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 86 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 80.5 average for 425 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Top placement

Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

16.7% 1st of 150 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure · 2025-26

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Jean Massieu Academy is rated D by TEA, scoring 69 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.5 average for 425 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 11 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 351st of 425 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 16 others).

2 consecutive years rated unacceptable.

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Progress

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 3 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
29.2%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 rated charter campuses reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Not listed
Selected comparison
0.0%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 rated charter campuses reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageJean Massieu Academy 8064515469 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 86 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26D6980.5 425 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25F5479.1 417 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24F5176.9 408 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23D6476.5 397 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22B8083.9 374 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement65 D−9.7 vs similar economic context · 425 reporting
  • School Progress82 B+0.4 vs similar economic context · 425 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps65 D−12.1 vs similar economic context · 421 reporting
  • Academic Growth82 B+8.8 vs similar economic context · 406 reporting
  • Relative Performance61 D−18.9 vs similar economic context · 422 reporting
  • Jean Massieu Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (425 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement65D5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps65D5
Academic Growth82B8
Relative Performance61D9

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 5 points below C in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (82), so Student Achievement (65) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 82.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level61%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
  • Masters grade level13%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
  • Masters grade level15%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level62%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 424 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 424 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 424 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 reporting
  • Meets grade level26%−14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 401 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level57%−13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 271 reporting
  • Meets grade level36%−3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 271 reporting
  • Masters grade level29%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 271 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (425 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Graduation

Four-Year
100.0%+38.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 129 rated charter campuses reporting
Five-Year
85.7%+28.4 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 129 rated charter campuses reporting
Six-Year
100.0%+50.3 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 128 rated charter campuses reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−1.1 pts vs similar economic context average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 129 rated charter campuses reporting

These measures use TEA's standard-accountability population. Each comparison average includes only charter campuses in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported charter campus rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
67.0%−16.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria67.0%83.9%−16.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 148 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course16.7%68.2%−51.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA16.7%35.6%−18.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%29.5%−29.5 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course33.3%11.4%+21.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an industry-based certification0.0%14.6%−14.6 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%0.4%−0.4 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%1.9%−1.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit0.0%3.9%−3.9 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness0.0%1.3%−1.3 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student16.7%8.0%+8.7 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces16.7%1.9%+14.8 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 150 rated charter campuses reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported charter campus percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
172
Economically disadvantaged
88.4%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
66.3%+23.2 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
7.6%−5.0 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
93.3%+0.7 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
25.1%+1.0 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Jean Massieu Academy

African American: 1.7%Hispanic: 90.7%White: 6.4%Asian: 1.2%
  • African American 1.7%
  • Hispanic 90.7%
  • White 6.4%
  • Asian 1.2%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting for every category shown · 425 in full cohort

African American: 18.1%Hispanic: 74.9%White: 3.7%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.6%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.3%
  • African American 18.1%
  • Hispanic 74.9%
  • White 3.7%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.6%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
172
Economically disadvantaged students
152
Emergent bilingual students
114
Special education students
13

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
24
Students in TEA mobility denominator
167
TEA-published mobility rate
14.4%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 172 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 13 (7.0%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
172

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−13

Decrease · −7.0%

Change since 2021–22
−30

Decrease · −14.9%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
172
Selected comparison
515.6

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Jean Massieu Academy
School yearStudents enrolledJean Massieu AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 202 First available year 499.3
2022–23 181 Decrease of 21 (10.4%) 513.1
2023–24 194 Increase of 13 (7.2%) 517.9
2024–25 185 Decrease of 9 (4.6%) 519.7
2025–26 172 Decrease of 13 (7.0%) 515.6

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Not reported

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Not reported

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
201

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Jean Massieu Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 213 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 207 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2022–23 196 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2023–24 202 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 201 Not reported — Not reported — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Jean Massieu Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Not reported — Not reported — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$14k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Jean Massieu Academy
  • Parent district: Jean Massieu Academy
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,078
Selected comparison
$11,824

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 419 rated charter campuses reporting

+$2,254 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,078 per student for this campus, $14,917 per student for its parent district, Jean Massieu Academy, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJean Massieu AcademyParent district: Jean Massieu AcademyTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$9,370$10,981$13,054$8,471 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 253 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$9,674$11,172$13,108$8,670 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 314 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$8,425$9,662$14,058$9,254 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 335 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$9,116$10,128$14,797$9,540 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 363 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$9,879$10,488$15,708$11,368 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 383 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$12,000$12,788$16,792$11,411 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 395 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$12,728$13,416$18,125$11,552 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 405 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$14,078$14,917$18,972$11,824 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 419 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$69,251+$5,345 vs similar economic context
Teachers
15−14.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
11.5−6.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Jean Massieu Academy

Beginning: 6.7%1 to 5 years: 26.7%6 to 10 years: 26.7%11 to 20 years: 33.3%21 to 30 years: 6.7%
  • Beginning 6.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.7%
  • 6 to 10 years 26.7%
  • 11 to 20 years 33.3%
  • 21 to 30 years 6.7%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 425 reporting for every category shown · 425 in full cohort

Beginning: 13.2%1 to 5 years: 47.8%6 to 10 years: 19.8%11 to 20 years: 14.6%21 to 30 years: 4%Over 30 years: 0.7%
  • Beginning 13.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 47.8%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 14.6%
  • 21 to 30 years 4%
  • Over 30 years 0.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Jean Massieu Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJean Massieu Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2121.5
Grade 11522.2
Grade 22023.3
Grade 32224.3
Grade 41324.5
Grade 52124.1
Grade 618.323.5
Secondary English10.318.8
Secondary languages other than English1418
Secondary math12.319.3
Secondary science14.320.1
Secondary social studies10.220.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 12 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

1 measure

  • 1of 331

    Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces

    Texas charter average · of the 331 that report this measure

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 6of 88

    Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student

    Similar size · of the 88 that report this measure

  • 9of 88

    Earned college credit for a dual credit course

    Similar size · of the 88 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 057819001.