Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

James & Marinella Haygood Elem

Fort Bend County · Region 04: Houston · 796 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
87/1002025-26
Score vs similar economic context
+2.5 ptsvs 84.5 average · 1,323 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
530 of 1,323tied with 85 others
B87

At a glance

The current score is above the 84.5 average for 1,323 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
63%vs 58.5% avg · +4.5 pts
Masters
32%vs 27.1% avg · +4.9 pts

Among 1,284 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 52.1% avg · +8.9 pts
Masters
26%vs 22.5% avg · +3.5 pts

Among 1,278 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
69%vs 63.3% avg · +5.7 pts
Masters
42%vs 28.6% avg · +13.4 pts

Among 1,283 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

James & Marinella Haygood Elem is rated B by TEA, scoring 87 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 84.5 average for 1,323 rated schools serving a similar economic context. TEA has published 1 year of scores for this school, so there is no trend to read yet.

Ranks 530th of 1,323 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 85 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 1 year of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Teachers
  8. Where this comes from

1 year of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 87 2025-26

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8784.5 1,323 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement90 A+5.0 vs similar economic context · 1,284 reporting
  • School Progress83 B+0.4 vs similar economic context · 1,280 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps81 B−0.8 vs similar economic context · 1,270 reporting
  • Academic Growth80 B+2.1 vs similar economic context · 1,259 reporting
  • Relative Performance83 B+3.5 vs similar economic context · 1,280 reporting
  • James & Marinella Haygood Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,323 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement90A—
School Progress83B7
Closing the Gaps81B9
Academic Growth80B10
Relative Performance83B7

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 9 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is Student Achievement (90), so School Progress (83) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 90.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level84%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,284 reporting
  • Meets grade level63%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,284 reporting
  • Masters grade level32%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,284 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,283 reporting
  • Meets grade level69%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,283 reporting
  • Masters grade level42%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,283 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level82%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,278 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,278 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,278 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,186 reporting
  • Meets grade level50%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,186 reporting
  • Masters grade level23%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,186 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,323 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
796
Economically disadvantaged
39.4%−1.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
42.1%+30.9 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.6%−3.4 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
—
Chronically absent
—

Student demographics

James & Marinella Haygood Elem

African American: 27.6%Hispanic: 33.1%White: 17.4%American Indian: 0.4%Asian: 17.8%Two or More Races: 3.8%
  • African American 27.6%
  • Hispanic 33.1%
  • White 17.4%
  • American Indian 0.4%
  • Asian 17.8%
  • Two or More Races 3.8%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,323 reporting for every category shown · 1,323 in full cohort

African American: 9.2%Hispanic: 35.1%White: 46.1%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 4.7%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 4.4%
  • African American 9.2%
  • Hispanic 35.1%
  • White 46.1%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 4.7%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 4.4%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
794
Economically disadvantaged students
313
Emergent bilingual students
334
Special education students
116

TEA context labels

  • New campus compared with last year’s fall enrollment

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
Not reported
Students in TEA mobility denominator
Not reported
TEA-published mobility rate
Not reported

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Teachers

Average salary
$72,686+$5,254 vs similar economic context
Teachers
48+1.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.6+2.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

James & Marinella Haygood Elem

Beginning: 6.1%1 to 5 years: 42%6 to 10 years: 14.6%11 to 20 years: 23%21 to 30 years: 14.6%
  • Beginning 6.1%
  • 1 to 5 years 42%
  • 6 to 10 years 14.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 23%
  • 21 to 30 years 14.6%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,323 reporting for every category shown · 1,323 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.3%1 to 5 years: 23.2%6 to 10 years: 19.6%11 to 20 years: 31.1%21 to 30 years: 17%Over 30 years: 3.7%
  • Beginning 5.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 23.2%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.6%
  • 11 to 20 years 31.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 17%
  • Over 30 years 3.7%

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 079901154.