Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

J W Holloway Sixth Grade School

Smith County · Region 07: Kilgore · 371 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
85/1002025-26
Change
−3 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+2.5 ptsvs 82.5 average · 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
659 of 1,581tied with 59 others
B85

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 82.5 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
64%vs 54.6% avg · +9.4 pts
Masters
38%vs 24.1% avg · +13.9 pts

Among 1,533 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
57%vs 48.2% avg · +8.8 pts
Masters
31%vs 19.9% avg · +11.1 pts

Among 1,526 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
71%vs 59.6% avg · +11.4 pts
Masters
44%vs 25.9% avg · +18.1 pts

Among 1,531 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

J W Holloway Sixth Grade School is rated B by TEA, scoring 85 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 82.5 average for 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 3 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 659th of 1,581 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 59 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this school ranks best
  12. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageJ W Holloway Sixth Grade School 8884898785 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26B8582.5 1,581 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8782.9 1,552 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8980.8 1,525 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8481.4 1,509 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8883.9 1,489 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement91 A+8.5 vs similar economic context · 1,533 reporting
  • School Progress91 A+9.2 vs similar economic context · 1,529 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps70 C−9.8 vs similar economic context · 1,518 reporting
  • Academic Growth75 C−1.3 vs similar economic context · 1,501 reporting
  • Relative Performance91 A+11.8 vs similar economic context · 1,529 reporting
  • J W Holloway Sixth Grade School
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement91A—
School Progress91A—
Closing the Gaps70C10
Academic Growth75C5
Relative Performance91A—

Closest to moving up: Closing the Gaps, 10 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level84%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
  • Meets grade level64%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
  • Masters grade level38%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,533 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level86%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
  • Meets grade level71%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
  • Masters grade level44%+18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,531 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level83%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
  • Meets grade level57%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
  • Masters grade level31%+11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,526 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,581 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
371
Economically disadvantaged
46.9%−0.7 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
6.7%−5.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
21.0%+2.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
94.2%−0.5 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
18.0%+4.2 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

J W Holloway Sixth Grade School

African American: 13.2%Hispanic: 19.4%White: 59.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.4%Pacific Islander: 0.5%Two or More Races: 4.9%
  • African American 13.2%
  • Hispanic 19.4%
  • White 59.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.5%
  • Two or More Races 4.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

African American: 9.3%Hispanic: 39.1%White: 43.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 3.4%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 4.3%
  • African American 9.3%
  • Hispanic 39.1%
  • White 43.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 3.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 4.3%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
371
Economically disadvantaged students
174
Emergent bilingual students
25
Special education students
78

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
51
Students in TEA mobility denominator
389
TEA-published mobility rate
13.1%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 371 students in 2025–26, an increase of 16 (4.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
371

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
+16

Increase · +4.5%

Change since 2021–22
−10

Decrease · −2.6%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
371
Selected comparison
666.2

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,541 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for J W Holloway Sixth Grade School
School yearStudents enrolledJ W Holloway Sixth Grade SchoolChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 381 First available year 663.4
2022–23 369 Decrease of 12 (3.1%) 668.8
2023–24 349 Decrease of 20 (5.4%) 668.6
2024–25 355 Increase of 6 (1.7%) 665.9
2025–26 371 Increase of 16 (4.5%) 666.2

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
83

21.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
173

44.47 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
389

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
21.3%
Selected comparison
11.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,235 rated schools reporting

+9.5 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
44.47
Selected comparison
26.1

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,324 rated schools reporting

+18.4 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for J W Holloway Sixth Grade School
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 393 53 13.5% 113 28.75 9.5% 18.1
2021–22 396 71 17.9% 218 55.05 11.8% 25.6
2022–23 393 52 13.2% 119 30.28 12.1% 27.1
2023–24 372 64 17.2% 150 40.32 12.1% 27.8
2024–25 389 83 21.3% 173 44.47 11.8% 26.1
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for J W Holloway Sixth Grade School in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 83 21.3% 173 44.47 11.8% 26.1
In-school suspensions 68 17.5% 118 30.33 10.7% 20.1
Out-of-school suspensions 32 8.2% 40 10.28 5.9% 8.3
DAEP placements 14 3.6% 15 3.86 4.3% 5.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$5k$15k$25k20182020202220242025
  • J W Holloway Sixth Grade School
  • Parent district: Whitehouse ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$8,115
Selected comparison
$11,952

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

−$3,837 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $8,115 per student for this campus, $14,221 per student for its parent district, Whitehouse ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearJ W Holloway Sixth Grade SchoolParent district: Whitehouse ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$5,752$24,241$13,054$7,811 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,428 rated schools reporting
2019$6,525$12,453$13,108$7,996 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,447 rated schools reporting
2020$6,909$10,251$14,058$8,478 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,459 rated schools reporting
2021$7,032$11,525$14,797$8,883 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,479 rated schools reporting
2022$7,870$12,702$15,708$10,139 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,492 rated schools reporting
2023$8,831$12,785$16,792$10,605 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,509 rated schools reporting
2024$8,488$13,988$18,125$11,566 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,525 rated schools reporting
2025$8,115$14,221$18,972$11,952 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,551 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$64,249−$2,810 vs similar economic context
Teachers
23−20.1 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16−4.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

J W Holloway Sixth Grade School

Beginning: 11.6%1 to 5 years: 22.4%6 to 10 years: 10.8%11 to 20 years: 26.7%21 to 30 years: 24.1%Over 30 years: 4.3%
  • Beginning 11.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 22.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 10.8%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.7%
  • 21 to 30 years 24.1%
  • Over 30 years 4.3%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,581 reporting for every category shown · 1,581 in full cohort

Beginning: 5.6%1 to 5 years: 24%6 to 10 years: 19.4%11 to 20 years: 29.8%21 to 30 years: 16.7%Over 30 years: 4.1%
  • Beginning 5.6%
  • 1 to 5 years 24%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.4%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 16.7%
  • Over 30 years 4.1%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for J W Holloway Sixth Grade School in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classJ W Holloway Sixth Grade School · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 621.717.8

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 1 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 90 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 5of 55

    Reading — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 9of 55

    All Subjects — Masters

    Smith County · of the 55 that report this measure · tied with 1

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 212906042.