Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Itasca MS

Hill County · Region 12: Waco · 138 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
75/1002025-26
Change
+16 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−4.7 ptsvs 79.7 average · 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,355 of 1,997tied with 61 others
C75

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 59 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 79.7 average for 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

Current strength

Academic Growth above the similar-context average

76 +2.2 pts vs 73.8

  • 76 is 2.2 points above the 73.8 average among 1,822 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Itasca MS is rated C by TEA, scoring 75 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 79.7 average for 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 16 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,355th of 1,997 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 61 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. Official improvement and transfer notices
  3. 5 years of ratings
  4. Where the score comes from
  5. Student outcomes
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

Official improvement and transfer notices

Official state and federal designations can carry support, reporting requirements or a family transfer option that a single A–F rating does not explain.

2026 federal improvement status

Comprehensive Support and Improvement

Official support label: Comprehensive Progress

Identification reason: CSI Low Performance

TEA track year 2 · Title I campus

Open the official TEA list and methodology

2026-27 school year

Public Education Grant transfer eligibility

Students assigned to this campus may request a transfer under the state's PEG program.

A request is not guaranteed. A receiving district may apply its enrollment rules, and transportation is not automatically provided.

Read the official PEG rules and list

Schools identified for improvement

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
28.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 rated schools reporting

Schools on the PEG list

This school
Listed
Selected comparison
3.2%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 rated schools reporting

Selected comparison percentages are the share of reporting schools in that group found on each dated list. They are neutral prevalence context; changing the comparison never changes this school's official status.

These are dated TEA statuses, fetched 24 August 2026; they are not added to or subtracted from this site's rating.

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
9080706050 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageItasca MS 5967585675 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated Not Rated with 59 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7579.7 1,997 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25F5679.4 1,975 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24F5877.5 1,960 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23D6778.1 1,929 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22F5982.1 1,908 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement64 D−13.3 vs similar economic context · 1,888 reporting
  • School Progress76 C−4.6 vs similar economic context · 1,881 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−4.9 vs similar economic context · 1,864 reporting
  • Academic Growth76 C+2.2 vs similar economic context · 1,822 reporting
  • Relative Performance60 D−19.0 vs similar economic context · 1,881 reporting
  • Itasca MS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,997 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement64D6
School Progress76C4
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth76C4
Relative Performance60D10

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 4 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (76), so Student Achievement (64) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 76.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Meets grade level27%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
  • Masters grade level9%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,888 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level74%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−18 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,885 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level65%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
  • Meets grade level25%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−10 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,877 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
  • Meets grade level34%−11 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,727 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level42%−31 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Meets grade level11%−35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−15 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 914 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (1,997 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
138
Economically disadvantaged
65.9%−0.2 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
22.5%+4.0 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
18.8%−0.1 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.3%+1.2 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
12.0%−4.9 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Itasca MS

African American: 4.3%Hispanic: 59.4%White: 32.6%American Indian: 0.7%Two or More Races: 2.9%
  • African American 4.3%
  • Hispanic 59.4%
  • White 32.6%
  • American Indian 0.7%
  • Two or More Races 2.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 reporting for every category shown · 1,997 in full cohort

African American: 11.6%Hispanic: 52.8%White: 29.3%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.6%
  • Hispanic 52.8%
  • White 29.3%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
138
Economically disadvantaged students
91
Emergent bilingual students
31
Special education students
26

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
39
Students in TEA mobility denominator
177
TEA-published mobility rate
22%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 138 students in 2025–26. The previous available count is not from the immediately preceding school year, so no year-over-year change is calculated.

Latest enrollment
138

2025–26

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
138
Selected comparison
627.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,963 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Itasca MS
School yearStudents enrolledItasca MSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 144 First available year 643.2
2022–23 164 Increase of 20 (13.9%) 648.8
2023–24 Not reported Not available —
2024–25 Not reported Not available —
2025–26 138 No adjacent prior year 627.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
50

28.3% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
117

66.10 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
177

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
28.3%
Selected comparison
12.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,542 rated schools reporting

+15.4 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
66.1
Selected comparison
30.3

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,649 rated schools reporting

+35.8 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Itasca MS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 168 27 16.1% 58 34.52 9.7% 19.3
2021–22 168 53 31.6% 121 72.02 12.9% 30.3
2022–23 181 40 22.1% 98 54.14 13.4% 32.2
2023–24 193 66 34.2% 156 80.83 13.2% 31.8
2024–25 177 50 28.3% 117 66.10 12.8% 30.3
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Itasca MS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 50 28.3% 117 66.10 12.8% 30.3
In-school suspensions 48 27.1% 97 54.80 11.5% 23
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Suppressed — 12 6.78 — 6.1
Mandatory DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$16k$25k20182020202220242025
  • Itasca MS
  • Parent district: Itasca ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$10,213
Selected comparison
$12,736

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,973 rated schools reporting

−$2,523 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $10,213 per student for this campus, $18,402 per student for its parent district, Itasca ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearItasca MSParent district: Itasca ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,291$13,739$13,054$7,962 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,838 rated schools reporting
2019$7,222$16,563$13,108$8,115 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,853 rated schools reporting
2020$8,487$24,168$14,058$8,692 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,872 rated schools reporting
2021$8,458$15,158$14,797$9,162 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,886 rated schools reporting
2022$9,581$15,639$15,708$10,466 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,907 rated schools reporting
2023$7,742$15,642$16,792$11,189 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,930 rated schools reporting
2024$6,735$19,056$18,125$12,077 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,957 rated schools reporting
2025$10,213$18,402$18,972$12,736 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,973 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,161−$3,314 vs similar economic context
Teachers
17−25.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
8.1−5.8 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Itasca MS

Beginning: 4.7%1 to 5 years: 38.2%11 to 20 years: 26.5%21 to 30 years: 24.7%Over 30 years: 5.9%
  • Beginning 4.7%
  • 1 to 5 years 38.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 26.5%
  • 21 to 30 years 24.7%
  • Over 30 years 5.9%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,997 reporting for every category shown · 1,997 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.4%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.9%21 to 30 years: 15.8%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.9%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Itasca MS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classItasca MS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Grade 622.817.8
Secondary English16.315.1
Secondary math16.416
Secondary science1717.4
Secondary social studies22.217.3

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 120 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

1 measure

  • 7of 19

    Academic Growth

    Hill County · of the 19 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 109907041.