−8.0 ptsvs 81 average · 135 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
104 of 135tied with 3 others
Score vs similar-size group
−7.6 ptsvs 80.6 average · 446 similarly sized rated charter campuses
Similar size placement
345 of 446tied with 6 others
Score vs state
−8.7 ptsvs 81.7 average · 829 rated Texas charter campuses
Texas charter placement
656 of 829tied with 14 others
C73
At a glance
Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 95 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81 average for 135 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.The current score is below the 80.6 average for 446 similarly sized rated charter campuses.The current score is below the 81.7 average for 829 rated Texas charter campuses.
Evidence worth noticing
Strengths and momentum
STAAR result
Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters
Meets
51%vs 37.9% avg · +13.1 pts
Masters
25%vs 15.7% avg · +9.3 pts
Among 133 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average
11.1%−13 pts vs 24.1%
11.1% is 13 percentage points lower than
the 24.1% average among 129 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
A precomputed strengths set is not available for this pinned entity. The page’s direct numeric comparisons still update to that pin.
Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.
Read the full rating context and placement
Houston Gateway Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81 average for 135 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 104th of 135 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 3 others).
Houston Gateway Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 80.6 average for 446 similarly sized rated charter campuses. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Ranks 345th of 446 similarly sized rated charter campuses (tied with 6 others).
Houston Gateway Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 73 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.7 average for 829 rated Texas charter campuses. It is down 21 points since 2021-22.
Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.
Compare against
2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 95 that year.
Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.
Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.
Student Achievement74 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 135 reporting
School Progress74 C−6.6 vs similar economic context · 135 reporting
Closing the Gaps72 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 131 reporting
Academic Growth68 D−5.2 vs similar economic context · 126 reporting
Relative Performance74 C−5.3 vs similar economic context · 134 reporting
Houston Gateway Academy
Similar economic-disadvantage rate (135 in cohort)
Domain scores
Domain
Score
Grade
Points to next grade
Student Achievement
74
C
6
School Progress
74
C
6
Closing the Gaps
72
C
8
Academic Growth
68
D
2
Relative Performance
74
C
6
Closest to moving up: Student Achievement, 6 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.
TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student
Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.
Student outcomes
STAAR performance
All Subjects
Approaches grade level72%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Meets grade level45%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Masters grade level22%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
Approaches grade level73%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Meets grade level50%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Masters grade level26%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting
Math3 performance levels
Approaches grade level80%+12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 133 reporting
Meets grade level51%+13 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 133 reporting
Masters grade level25%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 133 reporting
Science3 performance levels
Approaches grade level58%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 130 reporting
Meets grade level26%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 130 reporting
Masters grade level12%−7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 130 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
Approaches grade level44%−28 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 91 reporting
Meets grade level19%−21 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 91 reporting
Masters grade level2%−17 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 91 reporting
Approaches grade level
Meets grade level
Masters grade level
Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (135 in cohort)
Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.
Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.
Who this school serves
Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.
Students
568
Economically disadvantaged
59.5%−1.4 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
66.4%+44.8 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
12.5%−0.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
11.1%−13.0 pts vs similar economic context
Student demographics
Houston Gateway Academy
African American 2.3%
Hispanic 92.6%
White 4%
American Indian 0.9%
Asian 0.2%
Selected comparison averageFor charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting for every category shown · 135 in full cohort
African American 23%
Hispanic 49.8%
White 16.3%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 7%
Pacific Islander 0.2%
Two or More Races 3.4%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized charter campuses · 446 reporting for every category shown · 446 in full cohort
African American 16.2%
Hispanic 65.7%
White 9.8%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.7%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.1%
Texas charter average829 reporting for every category shown · 829 Texas charter campuses in full cohort
African American 17.5%
Hispanic 61.8%
White 12.2%
American Indian 0.3%
Asian 5.5%
Pacific Islander 0.1%
Two or More Races 2.5%
Student counts behind the percentages
Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.
Students in this TEA accountability summary
568
Economically disadvantaged students
338
Emergent bilingual students
377
Special education students
71
Campus mobility · 2024–25
Mobile students
35
Students in TEA mobility denominator
501
TEA-published mobility rate
7%
The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.
The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.
Enrollment over time
TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.
TEA reported 568 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 45 (7.3%) from 2024–25.
Latest enrollment
568
2025–26
Change from 2024–25
−45
Decrease · −7.3%
Change since 2021–22
−62
Decrease · −9.8%
Enrollment in 2025–26
This school
568
Selected comparison
488.7
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 rated charter campuses reporting
Student enrollment by school year for Houston Gateway Academy
School year
Students enrolledHouston Gateway Academy
Change from previous school year
Average enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22
630
First available year
444.9
2022–23
643
Increase of 13 (2.1%)
456.4
2023–24
645
Increase of 2 (0.3%)
476.2
2024–25
613
Decrease of 32 (5.0%)
480.6
2025–26
568
Decrease of 45 (7.3%)
488.7
The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.
These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.
Discipline and removal from class
TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.
Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed
Rate not available
Disciplinary actions
Suppressed
Rate not available
Cumulative year-end enrollment
637
2024–25
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Houston Gateway Academy
School year
Cumulative enrollment
Studentsall discipline
Students% of enrollment
Actionsall discipline
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21
676
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2021–22
671
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2022–23
676
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2023–24
694
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
2024–25
637
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Houston Gateway Academy in 2024–25
Category
Students
Students% of enrollment
Actions
Actionsper 100 students
Studentsselected comparison average %
Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
In-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Out-of-school suspensions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary DAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Mandatory JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary JJAEP placements
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Expulsions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Mandatory expulsions
Not reported
—
Not reported
—
—
—
Discretionary expulsions
Suppressed
—
Suppressed
—
—
—
Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.
Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.
Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.
Spending per student
The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.
Houston Gateway Academy
Parent district: Houston Gateway Academy Inc
Texas average
Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate
Spending per student · 2025
This school
$32,430
Selected comparison
$11,319
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 128 rated charter campuses reporting
+$21,111 vs similar economic context
For 2025, TEA reported $32,430 per student for this campus, $9,924 per student for its parent district, Houston Gateway Academy Inc, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.
Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.
View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
Year
Houston Gateway Academy
Parent district: Houston Gateway Academy Inc
Texas average
Selected comparison average
Reportingselected comparison
2018
$20,630
$7,548
$13,054
$7,758
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 87 rated charter campuses reporting
2019
$20,951
$7,243
$13,108
$8,626
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 94 rated charter campuses reporting
2020
$21,424
$7,281
$14,058
$8,802
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 101 rated charter campuses reporting
2021
$21,475
$7,060
$14,797
$9,287
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 107 rated charter campuses reporting
2022
$24,113
$8,421
$15,708
$10,726
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 110 rated charter campuses reporting
2023
$22,903
$8,477
$16,792
$11,093
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 117 rated charter campuses reporting
2024
$30,811
$9,954
$18,125
$11,235
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 120 rated charter campuses reporting
2025
$32,430
$9,924
$18,972
$11,319
average forcharter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 128 rated charter campuses reporting
The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.
Teachers and actual class size
Average salary
$60,146−$2,105 vs similar economic context
Teachers
31+1.8 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
18.4+0.6 vs similar economic context
Teaching experience
Houston Gateway Academy
Beginning 9.7%
1 to 5 years 41.9%
6 to 10 years 19.5%
11 to 20 years 29.2%
Selected comparison averageFor charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 135 reporting for every category shown · 135 in full cohort
Beginning 15.5%
1 to 5 years 41.2%
6 to 10 years 20.6%
11 to 20 years 16.7%
21 to 30 years 4.9%
Over 30 years 1.1%
Selected comparison averageFor similarly sized charter campuses · 446 reporting for every category shown · 446 in full cohort
Beginning 13.4%
1 to 5 years 47%
6 to 10 years 20.1%
11 to 20 years 13.4%
21 to 30 years 3.8%
Over 30 years 0.5%
Texas charter average829 reporting for every category shown · 829 Texas charter campuses in full cohort
Beginning 13%
1 to 5 years 44.3%
6 to 10 years 19.6%
11 to 20 years 15.4%
21 to 30 years 4.8%
Over 30 years 0.9%
Average students in a class
TEA average class size by grade or subject for Houston Gateway Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subject
Average students per classHouston Gateway Academy · 2024–25
Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten
27
20.5
Grade 1
27
21.7
Grade 2
23.7
23.3
Grade 3
24
22.8
Grade 4
25.7
22.8
Grade 5
23.3
22.7
Grade 6
32.5
21.5
Secondary English
33.3
15.9
Secondary math
25
16.2
Secondary science
33.8
17
Secondary social studies
33.8
17.6
These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 11 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.
Out of 72 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.
#1 rankings
First-place results
1 measure
1of 128
Per-student spending
Similar economic-disadvantage rate · of the 128 that report this measure
These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above
this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears
once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any
tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones
no school would put in a press release.
Where this comes from
The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings,
outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through
txschools.gov,
fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal
links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's
PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026.
The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.
Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to
link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before
pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row
in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 101828101.