Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Open-enrollment charter campus

Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy

Horizon Montessori Public Schools · McAllen · 309 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
79/1002025-26
Change
−11 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−2.4 ptsvs 81.4 average · 297 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
188 of 297tied with 8 others
C79

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 83 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 81.4 average for 297 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
48%vs 42.1% avg · +5.9 pts
Masters
18%vs 15.8% avg · +2.2 pts

Among 297 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Reading above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
61%vs 46.9% avg · +14.1 pts
Masters
26%vs 17.1% avg · +8.9 pts

Among 297 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Science above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
42%vs 40% avg · +2 pts
Masters
18%vs 15.4% avg · +2.6 pts

Among 289 charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy is rated C by TEA, scoring 79 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 81.4 average for 297 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context. It is down 11 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 188th of 297 rated charter campuses serving a similar economic context (tied with 8 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas charter averageHorizon Montessori - STEM Academy 9091848479 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 83 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas charter average
2025-26C7981.4 297 reporting81.7 829 reporting
2024-25B8480.9 291 reporting81.3 797 reporting
2023-24B8479.3 285 reporting79.5 776 reporting
2022-23A9179.4 278 reporting79.6 749 reporting
2021-22A9084.4 266 reporting84.5 700 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement75 C−1.9 vs similar economic context · 297 reporting
  • School Progress82 B−0.2 vs similar economic context · 296 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps72 C−6.1 vs similar economic context · 291 reporting
  • Academic Growth66 D−7.4 vs similar economic context · 280 reporting
  • Relative Performance82 B+1.4 vs similar economic context · 294 reporting
  • Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (297 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement75C5
School Progress82B8
Closing the Gaps72C8
Academic Growth66D4
Relative Performance82B8

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 8 points below A in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (82), so Student Achievement (75) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 82.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level75%+5 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
  • Meets grade level48%+6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level80%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
  • Meets grade level61%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
  • Masters grade level26%+9 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level70%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 296 reporting
  • Meets grade level38%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 296 reporting
  • Masters grade level11%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 296 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level73%−0 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 289 reporting
  • Meets grade level42%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 289 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 289 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level72%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 reporting
  • Meets grade level33%−8 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 reporting
  • Masters grade level6%−12 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 203 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (297 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only charter campuses for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
309
Economically disadvantaged
77.7%−2.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
44.3%+9.3 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
14.9%+1.8 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.2%+2.9 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
13.7%−11.7 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy

African American: 0.3%Hispanic: 93.9%White: 4.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1%Two or More Races: 0.3%
  • African American 0.3%
  • Hispanic 93.9%
  • White 4.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1%
  • Two or More Races 0.3%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting for every category shown · 297 in full cohort

African American: 18.9%Hispanic: 70.4%White: 6.4%American Indian: 0.2%Asian: 1.9%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 2%
  • African American 18.9%
  • Hispanic 70.4%
  • White 6.4%
  • American Indian 0.2%
  • Asian 1.9%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 2%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
309
Economically disadvantaged students
240
Emergent bilingual students
137
Special education students
46

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
40
Students in TEA mobility denominator
251
TEA-published mobility rate
15.9%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 309 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 22 (6.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
309

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−22

Decrease · −6.6%

Change since 2021–22
−82

Decrease · −21.0%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
309
Selected comparison
508.7

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 rated charter campuses reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy
School yearStudents enrolledHorizon Montessori - STEM AcademyChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 391 First available year 491.4
2022–23 381 Decrease of 10 (2.6%) 506.8
2023–24 342 Decrease of 39 (10.2%) 506.3
2024–25 331 Decrease of 11 (3.2%) 511.9
2025–26 309 Decrease of 22 (6.6%) 508.7

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting charter campuses in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
39

10.9% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
78

21.79 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
358

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
10.9%
Selected comparison
10.3%

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 201 rated charter campuses reporting

+0.6 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
21.79
Selected comparison
16.9

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 211 rated charter campuses reporting

+4.9 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 436 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 438 Suppressed — 13 2.97 — 17.2
2022–23 415 20 4.8% 33 7.95 11.3% 19.2
2023–24 370 35 9.5% 77 20.81 11.0% 18.9
2024–25 358 39 10.9% 78 21.79 10.3% 16.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 39 10.9% 78 21.79 10.3% 16.9
In-school suspensions 33 9.2% 56 15.64 6.1% 8.4
Out-of-school suspensions 11 3.1% 22 6.15 8.6% 12.2
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized charter campuses can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy
  • Parent district: Horizon Montessori Public Schools
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,934
Selected comparison
$11,620

average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 291 rated charter campuses reporting

−$1,686 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,934 per student for this campus, $14,420 per student for its parent district, Horizon Montessori Public Schools, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHorizon Montessori - STEM AcademyParent district: Horizon Montessori Public SchoolsTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,117$9,078$13,054$8,220 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 201 rated charter campuses reporting
2019$7,164$9,858$13,108$8,763 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 219 rated charter campuses reporting
2020$8,210$11,158$14,058$9,506 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 237 rated charter campuses reporting
2021$7,980$10,917$14,797$9,404 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 256 rated charter campuses reporting
2022$9,107$11,681$15,708$10,944 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 268 rated charter campuses reporting
2023$9,997$12,296$16,792$11,284 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 275 rated charter campuses reporting
2024$10,546$13,317$18,125$11,722 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 282 rated charter campuses reporting
2025$9,934$14,420$18,972$11,620 average for charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 291 rated charter campuses reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$54,210−$8,654 vs similar economic context
Teachers
19−11.5 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
16.6−1.4 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy

Beginning: 31.2%1 to 5 years: 41.4%6 to 10 years: 21.5%11 to 20 years: 5.4%
  • Beginning 31.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 41.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 21.5%
  • 11 to 20 years 5.4%

Selected comparison average For charter campuses with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 297 reporting for every category shown · 297 in full cohort

Beginning: 13%1 to 5 years: 46.6%6 to 10 years: 20.2%11 to 20 years: 15%21 to 30 years: 4.6%Over 30 years: 0.7%
  • Beginning 13%
  • 1 to 5 years 46.6%
  • 6 to 10 years 20.2%
  • 11 to 20 years 15%
  • 21 to 30 years 4.6%
  • Over 30 years 0.7%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Horizon Montessori - STEM Academy in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHorizon Montessori - STEM Academy · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten1921.2
Grade 11822
Grade 216.923.7
Grade 32124.4
Grade 41924.5
Grade 517.524.2
Grade 614.922.7
Secondary English14.717.7
Secondary math13.817.7
Secondary science2218.7
Secondary social studies2219.1

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 11 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108802101.