Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus · Alternative Education Accountability

Hill Country HS

Kerr County · Region 20: San Antonio · 29 students

Current score
91/1002025-26
Change
+6 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
+11.2 ptsvs 79.8 average · 2,001 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
191 of 2,001tied with 82 others
A91

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving up; under the rules in force back then it scored 91 in 2021-22. The current score is above the 79.8 average for 2,001 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
83%vs 47.7% avg · +35.3 pts
Masters
33%vs 19.4% avg · +13.6 pts

Among 1,894 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Overall score above the similar-context average

91 +11.2 pts vs 79.8

  • 91 is 11.2 points above the 79.8 average among 2,001 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Current strength

Student Achievement above the similar-context average

91 +13.5 pts vs 77.5

  • 91 is 13.5 points above the 77.5 average among 1,894 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Hill Country HS is rated A by TEA, scoring 91 out of 100 for 2025-26 — above the 79.8 average for 2,001 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is up 6 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 191st of 2,001 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 82 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. After high school: the following fall
  6. Who this school serves
  7. Student counts behind the percentages
  8. Enrollment over time
  9. Discipline and removal from class
  10. Spending per student
  11. Teachers and actual class size
  12. Where this school ranks best
  13. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
908070 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHill Country HS 8589909091 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated A with 91 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26A9179.8 2,001 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25A9079.5 1,977 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24A9077.6 1,963 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8978.2 1,931 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22B8582.1 1,910 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement91 A+13.5 vs similar economic context · 1,894 reporting
  • School Progress—Not reported · similar economic context 80.7 · 1,887 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps—Not reported · similar economic context 77 · 1,869 reporting
  • Academic Growth—Not reported · similar economic context 73.9 · 1,827 reporting
  • Relative Performance—Not reported · similar economic context 79.1 · 1,887 reporting
  • Hill Country HS
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,001 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement91A—
School Progress—Not rated—
Closing the Gaps—Not rated—
Academic Growth—Not rated—
Relative Performance—Not rated—

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level100%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Meets grade level83%+35 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
  • Masters grade level33%+14 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,894 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 75.6% · 1,891 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 52.5% · 1,891 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 21% · 1,891 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 71% · 1,882 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 42.1% · 1,882 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 16% · 1,882 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 73.8% · 1,729 reporting
  • Meets grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 45.4% · 1,729 reporting
  • Masters grade level—Not reported · Similar economic-disadvantage rate 20.2% · 1,729 reporting
Social Studies3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level100%+27 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 926 reporting
  • Meets grade level86%+40 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 926 reporting
  • Masters grade level57%+37 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 926 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,001 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Completion

Four-Year
62.0%−11.8 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 43 rated schools reporting
Five-Year
83.1%+4.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 43 rated schools reporting
Six-Year
87.9%+7.2 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 43 rated schools reporting
Dropout Rate
0.0%−4.5 pts vs similar economic context average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 43 rated schools reporting

These measures use TEA's alternative-education accountability population. Each comparison average includes only schools in that population that report that specific measure; its reporting count is shown beside the average. It is an unweighted average of those reported school rates, not a pooled rate across every student in the group.

College, career and military readiness

Total credit for CCMR criteria
38.0%−49.9 pts vs similar economic context
CCMR criteria
CriterionThis school% of graduatesAveragesimilar economic contextDifferencepercentage pointsReportingselected comparison
Total credit for CCMR criteria38.0%87.9%−49.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 484 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA, or earned credit for a college prep course15.1%59.7%−44.6 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Scored at or above the college ready standard on SAT, ACT, TSIA1.9%27.7%−25.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Met criterion score on AP/IB exam(s)0.0%10.9%−10.9 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Earned college credit for a dual credit course1.9%33.7%−31.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Earned an industry-based certification7.5%37.9%−30.4 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Earned a level I or level II certificate0.0%1.8%−1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Earned an associate degree0.0%7.1%−7.1 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit1.9%3.7%−1.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness15.1%3.3%+11.8 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Graduated under an advanced diploma plan and identified as a current special education student0.0%8.0%−8.0 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting
Enlisted in the U.S. Armed Forces1.9%3.2%−1.3 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 488 rated schools reporting

Every row is a share of this school's graduates, and every row is a way of meeting CCMR — so on every row, a bigger share is better. Difference is this school minus the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate, counted in percentage points: +5.0 would mean five more graduates in every hundred met that criterion here. The selected comparison is an unweighted average of the reported school percentages, not a pooled rate across all graduates in the group. Graduates may meet several criteria, so the rows do not add up to the total.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

After high school: the following fall

Where school graduates appeared in Texas public higher-education records the fall after graduation. This is a limited next-step measure, not an eventual college-going or completion rate.

Graduates in the report
57

Class of 2023–24

Enrolled in Texas public higher education
3

5.3% of graduates

Not found in Texas public higher-ed records
53

93.0% of graduates

Not trackable
1

Fall 2024

Graduates in the report

This school
57
Selected comparison
238.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting

Enrolled in Texas public higher education

This school
3
Selected comparison
104.7

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting

Texas-public enrollment rate

This school
5.3%
Selected comparison
43.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting

−38.5 pts vs similar economic context

Not-found rate

This school
93.0%
Selected comparison
50.8%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting

+42.2 pts vs similar economic context

Not-trackable rate

This school
1.8%
Selected comparison
5.4%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 391 rated schools reporting

−3.6 pts vs similar economic context

Selected comparison counts are neutral cohort scale context. The percentages put differently sized graduating classes on the same basis, but still cover only the limited Texas-public system observed by this report.

Source: Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board, high-school graduates enrolled in higher education, fetched 24 August 2026. The report covers graduates who enrolled in a Texas public college or university the following fall and includes only districts or campuses with more than 25 graduates.

“Not found” does not mean a graduate did not continue their education. It can include private or out-of-state college, work, military service, enrollment after the fall term, or another path the Texas public system does not observe.

“Not trackable” is not an outcome. THECB uses it for graduates with a non-standard identifier that could not be matched to higher-education records.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
29
Economically disadvantaged
65.5%±0.0 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
13.8%−4.4 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
24.1%+5.2 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
76.8%−17.3 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
73.4%+56.5 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Hill Country HS

African American: 6.9%Hispanic: 41.4%White: 51.7%
  • African American 6.9%
  • Hispanic 41.4%
  • White 51.7%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,001 reporting for every category shown · 2,001 in full cohort

African American: 11.4%Hispanic: 52.3%White: 29.9%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 2.2%Pacific Islander: 0.2%Two or More Races: 3.7%
  • African American 11.4%
  • Hispanic 52.3%
  • White 29.9%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 2.2%
  • Pacific Islander 0.2%
  • Two or More Races 3.7%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
29
Economically disadvantaged students
19
Emergent bilingual students
4
Special education students
7

TEA context labels

  • Alternative education campus under AEA procedures
  • Alternative education type: dropout recovery school
  • Rated under AEA procedures

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
98
Students in TEA mobility denominator
108
TEA-published mobility rate
90.7%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 29 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 14 (32.6%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
29

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−14

Decrease · −32.6%

Change since 2021–22
−2

Decrease · −6.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
29
Selected comparison
624.5

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,966 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Hill Country HS
School yearStudents enrolledHill Country HSChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 31 First available year 641.9
2022–23 42 Increase of 11 (35.5%) 647.8
2023–24 38 Decrease of 4 (9.5%) 644.1
2024–25 43 Increase of 5 (13.2%) 639.7
2025–26 29 Decrease of 14 (32.6%) 624.5

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
Suppressed

Rate not available

Disciplinary actions
Suppressed

Rate not available

Cumulative year-end enrollment
115

2024–25

TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Hill Country HS
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 105 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2021–22 120 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 122 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 115 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2024–25 115 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Hill Country HS in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
In-school suspensions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$7k$17k$26k20182020202220242025
  • Hill Country HS
  • Parent district: Kerrville ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$14,297
Selected comparison
$12,728

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 rated schools reporting

+$1,569 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $14,297 per student for this campus, $13,346 per student for its parent district, Kerrville ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHill Country HSParent district: Kerrville ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$17,078$9,716$13,054$7,951 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,841 rated schools reporting
2019$16,178$11,168$13,108$8,116 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,856 rated schools reporting
2020$21,643$19,351$14,058$8,695 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,875 rated schools reporting
2021$15,359$18,361$14,797$9,164 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,889 rated schools reporting
2022$19,370$13,440$15,708$10,497 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,909 rated schools reporting
2023$14,802$13,128$16,792$11,200 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,932 rated schools reporting
2024$16,867$14,077$18,125$12,094 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,961 rated schools reporting
2025$14,297$13,346$18,972$12,728 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,976 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$63,576−$2,832 vs similar economic context
Teachers
4−38.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
7.3−6.6 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Hill Country HS

6 to 10 years: 25%11 to 20 years: 25%21 to 30 years: 25%Over 30 years: 25%
  • 6 to 10 years 25%
  • 11 to 20 years 25%
  • 21 to 30 years 25%
  • Over 30 years 25%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,001 reporting for every category shown · 2,001 in full cohort

Beginning: 6.3%1 to 5 years: 26.4%6 to 10 years: 19.1%11 to 20 years: 27.8%21 to 30 years: 15.8%Over 30 years: 4%
  • Beginning 6.3%
  • 1 to 5 years 26.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19.1%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.8%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.8%
  • Over 30 years 4%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Hill Country HS in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHill Country HS · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Secondary English1015
Secondary languages other than English317.6
Secondary math815.9
Secondary science6.517.3
Secondary social studies617.2

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 5 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this school ranks best

Out of 116 rankings computed across every published metric and every available comparison group, these are all the measures that meet this site’s distinctive-placement threshold. The list does not change when you change Compare against. Each measure appears once, using its strongest placement. Press Copy for a citable sentence.

#1 rankings

First-place results

6 measures

  • 1of 7,260

    All Subjects — Approaches

    Texas average · of the 7,260 that report this measure · tied with 24

  • 1of 123

    Graduated with completed individualized education program (IEP) and workforce readiness

    Region 20: San Antonio · of the 123 that report this measure

  • 1of 43

    All Subjects — Masters

    Similar size · of the 43 that report this measure

  • 1of 34

    Social Studies — Masters

    Similar size · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 1of 15

    All Subjects — Meets

    Kerr County · of the 15 that report this measure

  • 1of 14

    Dropout Rate (lowest is best)

    Region 20: San Antonio (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 14 that report this measure

#2–3 rankings

Second- and third-place results

4 measures

  • 2of 34

    Social Studies — Meets

    Similar size · of the 34 that report this measure

  • 3of 30

    Completed an OnRamps course and qualified for college credit

    Similar size · of the 30 that report this measure

  • 3of 16

    Overall score

    Kerr County · of the 16 that report this measure · tied with 1

  • 3of 15

    Student Achievement

    Kerr County · of the 15 that report this measure · tied with 1

#4–10 rankings

Fourth- through tenth-place results

2 measures

  • 4of 16

    Per-student spending

    Kerr County · of the 16 that report this measure

  • 9of 14

    Six-Year Completion Rate

    Region 20: San Antonio (alternative-education accountability only) · of the 14 that report this measure

These are selected high placements, not a summary. Every figure above this section is the full picture, including where this school ranks poorly. Each measure appears once here, using its strongest qualifying placement across all available comparison groups. Very large ties are left out because they do not distinguish this school; any tie that does appear is labeled. Every ranking this site publishes, including the ones no school would put in a press release.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 133903105.