Independent Texas school research. TEA data, clearly explained. Not affiliated with the state agencyTEA.

txschools.netSchool data with context

Traditional public school campus

Henry B Gonzalez Elem

Hidalgo County · Region 01: Edinburg · 346 students

Official school websiteSchool information and family resources

Current score
74/1002025-26
Change
−17 ptssince 2021-22
Score vs similar economic context
−3.4 ptsvs 77.4 average · 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context
Similar economic-disadvantage rate placement
1,562 of 2,391tied with 75 others
C74

At a glance

Under TEA’s current rules, the available rating history is moving down; under the rules in force back then it scored 87 in 2021-22. The current score is below the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context.

Evidence worth noticing

Strengths and momentum

STAAR result

All Subjects above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
44%vs 40.7% avg · +3.3 pts
Masters
18%vs 15.9% avg · +2.1 pts

Among 2,229 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

STAAR result

Math above similar-context averages at Meets and Masters

Meets
45%vs 38.1% avg · +6.9 pts
Masters
16%vs 14.4% avg · +1.6 pts

Among 2,219 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.

See the full measure

Current strength

Chronically absent lower than the similar-context average

19.6% −2.8 pts vs 22.4%

  • 19.6% is 2.8 percentage points lower than the 22.4% average among 2,277 schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate reporting this measure.
See the full measure

Selected positive signals, not a summary of performance. The same rules choose them on every page: only the latest one-year gain, results meaningfully better than the currently selected comparison with broad reporting, and distinctive top-three placements. Demographics, staffing and spending cannot become academic “wins.” The overall rating and the full results below remain the complete picture for this school.

Read the full rating context and placement

Henry B Gonzalez Elem is rated C by TEA, scoring 74 out of 100 for 2025-26 — below the 77.4 average for 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context. It is down 17 points since 2021-22.

Ranks 1,562nd of 2,391 rated schools serving a similar economic context (tied with 75 others).

Put the numbers in context

Compare with

Jump to a section
  1. Overview
  2. 5 years of ratings
  3. Where the score comes from
  4. Student outcomes
  5. Who this school serves
  6. Student counts behind the percentages
  7. Enrollment over time
  8. Discipline and removal from class
  9. Spending per student
  10. Teachers and actual class size
  11. Where this comes from

5 years of ratings

Follow the solid line to see how this school has changed. Turn comparison lines on or off to add context.

Compare against
90807060 Similar economic-disadvantage rateTexas averageHenry B Gonzalez Elem 9188898774 2021-222022-232023-242024-252025-26

2021-22 is shown under the refreshed methodology TEA adopted in 2023, so it is comparable with later years. Under the original scoring it was rated B with 87 that year.

Comparison lines follow the current rated cohort backward through time. The table gives the number in that fixed cohort that reported a score each year; it can be smaller than cohort membership.

View the yearly scores and comparisons
Rating history with comparisons
YearRatingScoreSelected comparisonSimilar economic-disadvantage rateStateTexas average
2025-26C7477.4 2,391 reporting81.3 7,646 reporting
2024-25B8777.1 2,378 reporting81.2 7,554 reporting
2023-24B8973.9 2,360 reporting78.9 7,466 reporting
2022-23B8874.1 2,348 reporting79.1 7,377 reporting
2021-22A9181.6 2,318 reporting83.7 7,283 reporting

Where the score comes from

Texas builds the overall rating from the better of Student Achievement and School Progress, weighted 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. School Progress is itself the better of Academic Growth and Relative Performance. The 60, 70, 80 and 90 rules mark the letter-grade thresholds.

  • Student Achievement71 C+0.2 vs similar economic context · 2,229 reporting
  • School Progress78 C−0.5 vs similar economic context · 2,223 reporting
  • Closing the Gaps64 D−10.5 vs similar economic context · 2,209 reporting
  • Academic Growth65 D−7.4 vs similar economic context · 2,180 reporting
  • Relative Performance78 C+1.3 vs similar economic context · 2,223 reporting
  • Henry B Gonzalez Elem
  • Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)
Domain scores
DomainScoreGradePoints to next grade
Student Achievement71C9
School Progress78C2
Closing the Gaps64D6
Academic Growth65D5
Relative Performance78C2

Closest to moving up: School Progress, 2 points below B in that domain — the nearest of the measures that count toward the overall rating.

TEA does not add the domains up. The overall score is the better of Student Achievement and School Progress at 70%, plus Closing the Gaps at 30%. For this school that better measure is School Progress (78), so Student Achievement (71) is published above but does not enter the overall score at all — gaining points there changes nothing until it passes 78.

Student outcomes

STAAR performance

All Subjects

  • Approaches grade level65%−2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
  • Masters grade level18%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,229 reporting
Reading3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level63%−6 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
  • Meets grade level44%−1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
  • Masters grade level21%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,228 reporting
Math3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+1 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
  • Meets grade level45%+7 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
  • Masters grade level16%+2 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,219 reporting
Science3 performance levels
  • Approaches grade level67%+3 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
  • Meets grade level39%+4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
  • Masters grade level10%−4 vs Similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,076 reporting
  • Approaches grade level
  • Meets grade level
  • Masters grade level
  • Tick: Similar economic-disadvantage rate (2,391 in cohort)

Percentage of tests at or above each level. Masters is a subset of Meets, which is a subset of Approaches. The selected-comparison tick on each bar marks the average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate — a comparison TEA does not publish.

Counts in the comparison controls describe full cohort membership, not the denominator of every average. Each average uses only schools for which TEA reported that measure; metric-specific reporting counts are shown on the STAAR, graduation and CCMR rows and may vary.

Who this school serves

Placed after the results deliberately: this is context for reading them, not an explanation of them.

Students
346
Economically disadvantaged
86.7%−0.6 pts vs similar economic context
English learners
49.1%+12.7 pts vs similar economic context
Special education
19.9%+1.6 pts vs similar economic context
Attendance
95.5%+2.4 pts vs similar economic context
Chronically absent
19.6%−2.8 pts vs similar economic context

Student demographics

Henry B Gonzalez Elem

Hispanic: 100%
  • Hispanic 100%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

African American: 14.2%Hispanic: 73.9%White: 8.2%American Indian: 0.3%Asian: 1.4%Pacific Islander: 0.1%Two or More Races: 1.9%
  • African American 14.2%
  • Hispanic 73.9%
  • White 8.2%
  • American Indian 0.3%
  • Asian 1.4%
  • Pacific Islander 0.1%
  • Two or More Races 1.9%

Student counts behind the percentages

Context only. These counts are not rankings, comparisons, or judgments about school quality.

Students in this TEA accountability summary
346
Economically disadvantaged students
300
Emergent bilingual students
170
Special education students
69

Campus mobility · 2024–25

Mobile students
116
Students in TEA mobility denominator
339
TEA-published mobility rate
34.2%

The mobility count and rate use TEA’s separate 2024–25 campus denominator shown above, not current enrollment. This site does not recalculate a missing rate.

The first figure is TEA’s student count for this accountability summary. It is a separate publication from the fall PEIMS enrollment shown above and can differ; this site does not substitute one for the other. Counts come from TEA’s 2025-26 accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026. A reported zero is shown as 0. Small-number and complementary masks, unavailable values, and blank not-reported fields stay separate and are never estimated. TEA masking definitions.

Enrollment over time

TEA-reported student enrollment for each available school year. Enrollment growth or decline is not a measure of school quality.

TEA reported 346 students in 2025–26, a decrease of 45 (11.5%) from 2024–25.

Latest enrollment
346

2025–26

Change from 2024–25
−45

Decrease · −11.5%

Change since 2021–22
−89

Decrease · −20.5%

Enrollment in 2025–26

This school
346
Selected comparison
602.8

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,362 rated schools reporting

Student enrollment by school year for Henry B Gonzalez Elem
School yearStudents enrolledHenry B Gonzalez ElemChange from previous school yearAverage enrollmentselected comparison
2021–22 435 First available year 637.6
2022–23 490 Increase of 55 (12.6%) 635.3
2023–24 429 Decrease of 61 (12.4%) 627.3
2024–25 391 Decrease of 38 (8.9%) 623.7
2025–26 346 Decrease of 45 (11.5%) 602.8

The selected comparison column is the average enrollment among reporting schools in that group. It changes with the comparison control; this school's own counts do not.

Source: TEA PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. TEA reports these counts from its fall student snapshot; changes compare adjacent reported school years.

These counts show how enrollment changed, not why. Attendance-zone changes, school openings or closures, grade reconfigurations, transfers and population shifts can affect the total.

Discipline and removal from class

TEA’s annual student and action counts, kept separate and divided only by the matching full-year enrollment. These figures describe removals from instruction, not a simple safe-or-unsafe score.

Students in TEA’s all-discipline count
15

3.4% of cumulative year-end enrollment

Disciplinary actions
20

4.56 per 100 students

Cumulative year-end enrollment
439

2024–25

Share of students · 2024–25

This school
3.4%
Selected comparison
13.3%

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,599 rated schools reporting

−9.9 pts vs similar economic context

Actions per 100 students · 2024–25

This school
4.56
Selected comparison
31.9

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 1,718 rated schools reporting

−27.3 vs similar economic context
TEA all-discipline student and action counts by school year for Henry B Gonzalez Elem
School yearCumulative enrollmentStudentsall disciplineStudents% of enrollmentActionsall disciplineActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
2020–21 497 Not reported — Not reported — — —
2021–22 501 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2022–23 533 Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
2023–24 477 13 2.7% 13 2.73 13.8% 33.9
2024–25 439 15 3.4% 20 4.56 13.3% 31.9
See 2024–25 discipline categories
TEA discipline categories for Henry B Gonzalez Elem in 2024–25
CategoryStudentsStudents% of enrollmentActionsActionsper 100 studentsStudentsselected comparison average %Actionsselected comparison average per 100
All discipline 15 3.4% 20 4.56 13.3% 31.9
In-school suspensions 12 2.7% 15 3.42 11.7% 23
Out-of-school suspensions Suppressed — Suppressed — — —
DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary DAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary JJAEP placements Not reported — Not reported — — —
Expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Mandatory expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —
Discretionary expulsions Not reported — Not reported — — —

Selected comparisons use rates, not raw counts, so differently sized schools can be read on the same basis. Each average uses only group members for which TEA reported that rate; this school's own counts and rates remain fixed.

Students, actions and incidents are different units. One student can receive multiple actions. The categories overlap, so they must not be added together. Rates use TEA's matching cumulative year-end enrollment, not the October enrollment shown elsewhere on this page.

Source: TEA Discipline Reports, fetched 24 August 2026. Suppressed values stay unavailable rather than being estimated. Use 2020–21 cautiously because remote instruction during the pandemic changed students' exposure to in-person discipline. TEA consolidated its separate action-group reports into this product in 2024–25; this trend uses only the stable “All discipline” heading.

Spending per student

The campus and its parent district stay fixed while the selected same-sector txschools.net comparison changes with the page-wide control. TEA's own peer group and statewide reference remain visible as separately published, fixed TEA references.

$6k$13k$20k20182020202220242025
  • Henry B Gonzalez Elem
  • Parent district: La Joya ISD
  • Texas average
  • Selected comparison: Similar economic-disadvantage rate

Spending per student · 2025

This school
$9,961
Selected comparison
$13,294

average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

−$3,333 vs similar economic context

For 2025, TEA reported $9,961 per student for this campus, $15,199 per student for its parent district, La Joya ISD, $18,972 per student for the Texas average.

Not reported in this TEA campus finance record: TEA peer group.

View yearly spending figures
Spending per student by year
YearHenry B Gonzalez ElemParent district: La Joya ISDTexas averageSelected comparison averageReportingselected comparison
2018$7,007$12,706$13,054$8,270 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,246 rated schools reporting
2019$7,252$13,017$13,108$8,324 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,279 rated schools reporting
2020$7,952$13,922$14,058$8,846 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,290 rated schools reporting
2021$8,558$14,753$14,797$9,563 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,296 rated schools reporting
2022$10,191$17,471$15,708$11,071 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,318 rated schools reporting
2023$9,794$17,081$16,792$11,588 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,346 rated schools reporting
2024$9,633$16,417$18,125$12,579 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,361 rated schools reporting
2025$9,961$15,199$18,972$13,294 average for schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,376 rated schools reporting

The selected-comparison reporting count is year-specific and can vary across the table. Dollar amounts are shown as TEA published them and are not adjusted for inflation.

Teachers and actual class size

Average salary
$67,877+$113 vs similar economic context
Teachers
24−17.7 vs similar economic context
Students per staff member
14.4±0.0 vs similar economic context

Teaching experience

Henry B Gonzalez Elem

Beginning: 4.2%1 to 5 years: 12.5%6 to 10 years: 25%11 to 20 years: 29.2%21 to 30 years: 29.2%
  • Beginning 4.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 12.5%
  • 6 to 10 years 25%
  • 11 to 20 years 29.2%
  • 21 to 30 years 29.2%

Selected comparison average For schools with a similar economic-disadvantage rate · 2,391 reporting for every category shown · 2,391 in full cohort

Beginning: 7.2%1 to 5 years: 27.4%6 to 10 years: 19%11 to 20 years: 27.1%21 to 30 years: 15.1%Over 30 years: 3.5%
  • Beginning 7.2%
  • 1 to 5 years 27.4%
  • 6 to 10 years 19%
  • 11 to 20 years 27.1%
  • 21 to 30 years 15.1%
  • Over 30 years 3.5%

Average students in a class

TEA average class size by grade or subject for Henry B Gonzalez Elem in 2024–25
Grade or subjectAverage students per classHenry B Gonzalez Elem · 2024–25Average students per classselected comparison
Kindergarten2818.1
Grade 115.118.4
Grade 227.818.3
Grade 313.618.7
Grade 417.318.7
Grade 51719.7

These are TEA's actual class-size averages for the grade or subject shown, not the student-to-teacher ratio. TEA reported 6 of 12 categories for this campus; the categories are not combined into a made-up campus-wide average. Each selected comparison average uses only schools reporting that same grade or subject.

Source: TEA Texas Academic Performance Reports, fetched 24 August 2026.

Where this comes from

The Texas Education Agency publishes the underlying accountability reports and data downloads. Ratings, outcomes, demographics, staffing and finance on this page come from TEA data available through txschools.gov, fetched 15 August 2026. TEA’s Reports and Data Portal links the official bulk files. Enrollment history comes from TEA's PEIMS Student Program and Special Populations reports, fetched 24 August 2026. The student-count context comes from TEA’s bulk accountability summary, fetched 29 August 2026; TEA’s masking definitions explain withheld values. The dated notice, staffing, discipline, transfer, community and postsecondary sections cite their separate TEA, Census or THECB publication in place. Every archived source carries checksums so each number stays traceable to the bytes the public agency served.

Download the full dataset · this campus's district

Single-file records are pre-built for district-level records only, so there is no per-campus CSV to link here. Producing both formats for every entity would consume most of the 20,000-asset deployment limit before pages and shared data are counted. This campus is a row in the bulk files on the download page, keyed by its TEA id 108912115.